Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I would like to have the option to buy the extended version

I saw it in the movie theater and I loved it. However, I'm tired that Warner Brother does not give us the option to buy the extended version. I get angry years later when I watch any HP movie on Disney channel (for example) and I see that there are lots of deleted scene...
I saw it in the movie theater and I loved it. However, I'm tired that Warner Brother does not give us the option to buy the extended version. I get angry years later when I watch any HP movie on Disney channel (for example) and I see that there are lots of deleted scenes which are not included on my DVD. I believe we should have the option to buy it as we see it in the movie theater or buy it with the deleted scenes.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too much wasted time

As in the third movie, the director decided to extend parts of the movie instead of adding more content. The battle with the dragon was far too lenthy. Wasted footage that could had been used to add substance to the movie. The screenwriter and director wanted to create ...
As in the third movie, the director decided to extend parts of the movie instead of adding more content. The battle with the dragon was far too lenthy. Wasted footage that could had been used to add substance to the movie. The screenwriter and director wanted to create their oun story and roughly base it off the book. Pity, theirs sucks.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great movie that has nothing to do with the book!

    At first I hated this movie because it really has virtually nothing to do with the book and my personal favorite scenes were all deleted. That said, I've come to appreciate this film on it's own merit and LOVE it! It has a great deal of humor, action, and the acting is excellent. If you are looking for the book, don't bother. If you want a good movie, then this is a good movie. I say that with the reservation that I only watch it up to when the TriWizard Cup is touched in the Maze and I don't watch it after that. I have never liked the dark story line that started at the end of Goblet of Fire and continued to the end of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A bit different than the book

    Well I totally understand that you can't make the movie 100% like the book. However, this was more like 80% like the book. There was several differences in this movie that swayed from the book. The book itself was excellent and probably one of my favorites, which is why I was so critical of the differences. For example. Where was winky Mr.Crouch's house elf? She had several parts in the book, and now that I think about it, where was ANY of the house elfs, or Hermione's SPEW parts? That was worth several pages in the book, yet it made absolutely no mention of it in the movie what so ever. Overall, the movie was decent and I would still recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have seen all of the Harry Potter movies so far,and they have been great,I have been waiting for the fifth one to come out in theaters,but I have been a little bit upset.The fourth one was not as good as the others.I was hoping that this one was going to top the other Harry Potter's,but it didn't.Don't get me wrong it was a good movie except I was wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where did everything go?

    This movie totally trashed the book. I know it was for time purposes and everything, but really! I mean, the whole movie is about the Triwizard Tournament, and all the important details that make the book so great completely disappear. Bagman and Winky apparently never existed, and Sirius, one of my favorite characters, was never even seen in this movie except for in the fire. The students also apparently never have to do any schoolwork. I say they should have put in more of the details and let it be several hours longer. The movie itself I give four stars, but compared to the book its one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter

    The Movie Harry Potter and the Gobelt of Fire was an okay movie the parts that I enjoyed the most was Harry Potter and his friend are playing inthe battle adn the both win together, but his friends up dieing and him Lord Voldamort end up fighting and his parents come out and start helping him as he trys to go back to safty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See Harry Potter Movie!!!

    The movie Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, based on the book by J.K. Rowling, was an awesome film! The directors and producers all portrayed the various scenes in the book really well. My favorite scene was the scene with the dragons and the golden eggs. Harry had to fly on his broomstick and grab the egg to move on to the next step in the Triwizard Tournament. Another great scene was when all the competetors had to rescue their friends at the bottom of the pond with the mermaids there. This is a thrilling movie that is also very suspenseful. Trust me, you will not be disappointed! All you Harry Potter readers out there, I hope you saw this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty Ok

    It was a HORRIBLE movie because it didn't stick to the book but I realized if it went by the book, we would be just sitting there watching the movie for 3 or 4 hours. Even though it didn't go by the book it was at least still funny but the thing that makes me really mad is the Quidditch World Cup. They hardly show it all! All it shows is Krum flying in the air and ever since I read it in 3rd grade I imagined the Quidditch World Cu and when the movie came out I really wanted to see the QWC (Quidditch World cup).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    First off, I know fans complain that it does not stick to the book at parts. But this is the part people don't know. It's for time puposes. If it was true to the book, this would be a five or six hour movie. And sometimes longer isn't always better. I wanna see action sequences that are ten to fifteen minute, not thirty or forty-five minutes. So the script writer has to chop out some of the parts. Who really cares? People just want to sit down and see a good movie and walk away to say that it was long enough but not too short or it was short enough not to be too long and overdone. This is a movie! In a book it can go on and on but for a movie it's different. I don't wanna waste my time hearing about every single detail from the book. You can save that when you read it. The director and the writer have to get to the point and not drag on. Harry is involved in the Triwizard Tournament. But who put his name in the Goble of Fire? That's it. We don't need to see Harry being asked a riddle by a sphinx and sit there with him confused. Let's just see him struggling to get to the action. I know movie adaptions won't be equal or as good of the book. Except maybe the Godfather. You can't just expect that. I hope I made that clear to you. Overall, it was a good film. The action sequences were staged out cool. Daniel's acting is getting better than compared to the first film. Prisoner of Azkaban was my favorite movie though. Sorcerors Stone was my least favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not too bad

    I took my 2 older children, aged 9 and 8 to this movie. Although it was a bit scary for them, they did not want to leave. It helped that they read the book before seeing the movie. Personally I thought this was the best installment in the movie series. I did not constantly have to explain what was happening, as I had to do in the first 3 movies. Especially to them who had not read the books.... I feel a movie has to be clear without reading the book, it has to stand on its own. The first 3 didn't, this one did. Was it the best movie ever? No, certainly not but it was entertaining enough to watch it a second time. We enjoyed the Narnia movie (lion, witch and the wardrobe) much more. Overall, not a bad movie, but read the book. It is so much better. I also did miss some of the interaction between the characters, there is not a lot of warmth. Plenty scary though, not for the same audience as the first 3 movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different, But Excellent

    For everyone who hasn't read the book. but has seen the movie, you probably thought it was great. It was, but very different. Although 'school' was completely thrown out the window, the movie was still a great fourth installment to the series. It did do a great job with catching all the action that makes the movie impossible to leave, just like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very different from the book but Harry Potter has definitely matured

    Some of the scenes were a bit choppy. the scene in the maze could have been more thrilling than that. I mean they could have incorporated more of the obstacles from the book.The characters and the cast have absolutely become teenagers. They all showed great maturity both emotionally and physically. There was a lot humor and excitemant and of course darkness. Ralph Fiennes a wonderful Voldemort. Overall great movie. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Visual Masterpiece

    The latest "Harry Potter" movie isn't as good as the previous ones but it's still good. Although not as emotionally charged as "Prisoner of Azkaban", "Goblet of Fire" is probably the most visually stunning of the series with one special effect closely following another. There are some laugh out loud moments, exciting tasks, and even a little romance. The parts I liked most were the first Portkey Scene, the Wizarding World Cup, the Yule Ball, and the Second Task. I'm not looking forward to seeing "Order of the Phoenix", but "Goblet of Fire" sure was nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Missing Important Sections

    This movie is AMAZING! Sure, I was in China at the time of release, but I got to see it in Chinese, and it till gripped me. The Golden Trio has "matured", their friendhip is even stronger. But I was a bit disappointed. What happened to the Quidditch World Cup? I was looking forward to seeing the action. And Fred and George's bet? Even though it missed several things, this is FAR better than the previous three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good movie!

    this movie is pretty good... but not as good as the first three... :( still recommend it though! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HP4

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is a riveting movie. Concurrently to that fact is the underlying anxiety of avid Harry Potter book readers. The readers will be as I was, a tad dissapointed in the over-all content of the movie. It was like an over zealous editor choped the book down to three hundred pages instead of seven hundred and thirty four pages. The movie cut key parts out of the book that are prudent to the books. Hollywood should have just made the movie four to five hours and have two showings in a two to four month period not only would it have been more economically effecient it would have lived up to the readers predetermined mindset of how the movie should be!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    7 minutes, what an improvement

    For those of you who saw the original release in the theaters, this is a new films. The additional 7 minutes of footage, helps move the story along. Where before it was choppy and disjointed, it now flows much better. Before I would not have recommended it, but with the additional 7 minutes It is a vast improvement. It is now a movie that I really like and highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    A good movie overall. The special effects were pretty good. The acting is as always great, except Daniel Radcliffe's wooden acting never seems to get better! And some bits of the diolaugue are a little wooden also. Like " I love magic ". I really laughed at the line. But the one thing that really bugged me was that they skipped the Quidditch World Cup. The movie did stick pretty well to the book. But as always, the book is better. Newell did an excellant job bringing the tone from the book and the previous three movies. Hopefully award winning director, David Yates who will direct the fifth film will do better job and make the Potter franchise work for two more pictures. The cast is all set and they started shooting on Monday, Feb. 6th. Bring on number five! Please Daniel try to a better acting job! I know you think your cool with your long hair, but please make me wrong of what I expect of you! Here's another little tip. When your done with this franchise get a nice, long, gloden tan. When I first saw you in the first film, it looked like you rose from your tombstone when you got this part. Oh yeah, and another thing. Emma Watson. One word. YAHOO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great, but not the greatest choice of a movie for kids under 10.

    This movie is exiting, funny, and very cool. People who have read the book would understand it better,though. This is a great movie, but it does have language problem. Besides that, this is a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    Even though they cut entire story lines from the book in order to make a 2.5-hour movie, this is still a great show. I'll be getting this DVD, but not at THIS price! Far cheaper elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite Good, Indeed

    Regardless of being a Harry Potter fan, this movie is fantastic and anyone could love it. It broke from the franchise and seemed like a real movie. The only reason this film did not recieve five stars was because of the lack of "book" that was put into it. Other than that, A+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3