Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The best yet...

This is probably the best film that they have made yet...it follows the book very well, yet is still enjoyable to those who haven't read the book....would highly recommend to anyone who loves fiction! ~Oh Snap It's Potter~

posted by oh_snap_its_potter on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

VERY Disappointed

I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter ...
I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter has never read the books and had no idea what was going on. I hope they get the 7th one right. Maybe they should change directors??

posted by Rabid-readerDH on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The best yet...

    This is probably the best film that they have made yet...it follows the book very well, yet is still enjoyable to those who haven't read the book....would highly recommend to anyone who loves fiction!

    ~Oh Snap It's Potter~

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY Disappointed

    I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter has never read the books and had no idea what was going on. I hope they get the 7th one right. Maybe they should change directors??

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Superb!

    Believe it or not, I have never read a single one of the Harry Potter books, though I have been told that I really should. I am just not as big into reading as a lot of other people. I do find the occasional something here and there that I want to read, but for the most part, I am really more of a visual person. I have seen every single one of the Harry Potter movies in the theatre, and it was no different with this one. I saw this one twice in the theatre even, because I went again with some friends later on who hadn't seen it. This one was wonderfully shot, and the cast continued to do a great job in their roles, including the introduction of Jim Broadbent as Horace Slughorn, who plays what winds up being a very pivitol role in the film. It is a triffle sad in the end, but the movie itself was a great spectacle, and further intensifies the Harry Potter series. For any of you who have read all the books, which I am sure is a great deal of you, you probably know what's ahead in the upcoming final Harry Potter(s), but I have the distinct pleasure of finding out for the first time, since I have never read the books. I can hardly wait!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a terrible disappointment!

    I have enjoyed all the previous Harry Potter movies and have all the books. They have been entertaining and usually fun.

    I gave this movie one star only because that's the lowest I could rate it on the scale. I prefer to give it no stars. This movie is dark, both set and subject. On top of that the sound was "too loud background and too low dialogue". We never could get 'into it' and turned it off after about 45 minutes. I guess the 'magic is gone'.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good quality

    This is a good movie in general. It is a great one for those followers of the series. The quality of the picture is great, some might argue that it is a little dark but this is the way it supposed to look. The background music is great and the sound quality is excellent. I recommend this blue ray disc to anyone who likes good movies with great picture and sound quality.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Yet!

    Love Harry Potter. I have read, and listen to some of the books. I love the Harry Potter movies. Very well done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!

    Great movie. Getting darker and the end. That's sad, don't want it to end! Charactors growing up before our eyes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    okay but....

    im a huge harry potter fan and the half blood prince was my favorite book and so i was very excited to see the movie. but once i saw it, i was not very happy. they didnt betray draco malfoy as i had hoped and they left out some of the most important aspects of the book! how are they supposed to continue the horcrux memories in the deathly hallows movies? in my opinion the move was good but not great, and not the best harry potter movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A little disappointed

    I am a very big fan of Harry Potter, but this movie was not so great. I think the book is better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mixed feelings about the movie.

    I've read all the books and seen all the movies that have been released to date. The first 2 movies HP and the Sorcerers Stone and HP and the Chamber of Secrets stayed very close to the books. However starting with the 3rd movie HP and the Prisoner of Azkaban the story started to stray from the book. HP Goblet of Fire, HP Order of the Phoenix and this one HP and the Half Blood Prince if you hadn't read the books a lot of the story in the movies would be hard to make since of. I would have thought JK Rowling would prevent this from happening. But maybe I'm bias since most people I,ve talked to about it has read the books and feel the same. And people who haven't read the books seemed a little confused. The Horcruxes are a HUGE part of the last book The Deathly Hollows, and this should have been brought out more in this movie because it was in the book. I am curious how they are going to make since of it all in the next 2 movies. Apparently The Deathly Hollows will be made into 2 movies.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    An Interesting Adaptation of A well-written Book by Ms. Rowling

    I left the theater seething and cursing this production. I then went back a week or so later and saw all the same things that made me mad in the first place. I especially did not like the addition of events that appear nowhere in the book. I really disliked the ommission of events that are important to the future development of the story line. Frankly, this director & producor need to be taken behind the woodshead!

    Now, If one views the movie--on cd, blue-ray or in theater AND thinks of it as a different version of that which Ms Rowling intended, it all works! The characters as acted will out in the end. I liken this presentation to what was done to "I Robot" with Mr Smith. The story is there but in name only. I might wish for something more or better -- that is not going to happen this time around.

    I can only hope that the last two pictures are not as damaged as was this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

    Harry Potter is stuck back at the Dursleys. He is still grieving about Sirius dying. Dumadore sends Harry a letter saying he will come get him. When Dumadore shows up he tells Harry about Sirius's will. Sirius left everything to Harry including Krecher the House Elf. Harry does not want Krecher, but remembers that he lived with the Order and knows everything.So Harry lets Krecher get a job at Hogwarts. Also Harry has inherated the house as well. He decides to leave it to the Order. Dumadore explains that Harry will be appareating with him to the Weasley's.

    When they get there Dumadores Harry that he needs to take care of himself. As Harry leaves for school he overhears Malfoy talking about doing a job for Voldemort. As everyone was getting off the train Malfoy jinxes him.

    Tonks finds him and aids him back to heath. She escorts him to the castle and sends a signal for Snape to come and get him. Harry finds out that they have a new deffense aginest the dark arts teacher.Harry passes all his O.W.L.s with exceding exspectations. He finds Ron and Hermmione and tells them about what he heard on the train. Dumadore also is going to give Harry lessons this year and finds out how to destroy Voldemort. Will he succeed or will he fail?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No one of the best

    While this installment of the series moved characters a little forward it seemed to be just a filler for the finale. If you are following the story you should see it but I was disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Half-Blood is only half the story

    There is a terrific story, with great characters and story lines, but the movie ends half-way through the final book, at an especially tragic point that leaves the viewer shocked and unsatisfied. The director really didn't need this kind of ending to make the audience eager for the finale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Part of Collection

    This video was bought as a gift but I got to see it - great addition to the Harry Potter series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this set

    Both the disks are great! The extras are fantastic! The bonus digital copy is a nice add-on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is great

    Well done version of the popular book. Characters are true and story follows the book well. Story darken as it gets nearer the end. I can't wait for the last movie to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Appreciate the Movie

    I really did love the movie. In my opinion is was fantastic and I think that everything that needed to be put in was including. It would have been nice to see the Gaunt memories but that will most likely be added in the other movie. I read all of the books right after this movie was released into theaters;it truly influenced my opinion on the book. I loved how the film was created, the dark arts were quite fascinating. It also expressed how the dark forces and how dangerous Voldemort was really getting. I cant wait till the Deathly Hallows is released, it was my favorite of the books and hopefully it will be my favorite of the movies;i hope the next will be as great as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I thought that this movie was very good and one of the best harry potter movies so far!!!!
    It was very funny and i was very engaged in it. Never did i dose off while watching this movie!!!!If you have not read the book it may not be as good but it still will be really funny!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The worst of the movie series...

    Great book, horrible movie. Boring, slow and not true to book or other installments...disappointing and unintriging. Maybe as an adult I'm 'over-it" (?). Though kids who are readers may enjoy, others may not.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9