Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Average Rating 4.5
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The best yet...

This is probably the best film that they have made yet...it follows the book very well, yet is still enjoyable to those who haven't read the book....would highly recommend to anyone who loves fiction! ~Oh Snap It's Potter~

posted by oh_snap_its_potter on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

VERY Disappointed

I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter ...
I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter has never read the books and had no idea what was going on. I hope they get the 7th one right. Maybe they should change directors??

posted by Rabid-readerDH on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY Disappointed

    I have read the books about 14 times they are GREAT!! The 6th movie was the biggest disappointment I have ever had in a movie. They did not capture the book at all. I know they have creative license, but they ruined a great and important part of the series. My daughter has never read the books and had no idea what was going on. I hope they get the 7th one right. Maybe they should change directors??

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a terrible disappointment!

    I have enjoyed all the previous Harry Potter movies and have all the books. They have been entertaining and usually fun.

    I gave this movie one star only because that's the lowest I could rate it on the scale. I prefer to give it no stars. This movie is dark, both set and subject. On top of that the sound was "too loud background and too low dialogue". We never could get 'into it' and turned it off after about 45 minutes. I guess the 'magic is gone'.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The worst of the movie series...

    Great book, horrible movie. Boring, slow and not true to book or other installments...disappointing and unintriging. Maybe as an adult I'm 'over-it" (?). Though kids who are readers may enjoy, others may not.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    O.K Until the End-Then I Wanted to Burn the DVD

    When this movie ended, I said, "So, that's it? That's the movie? Bad stuff happens, evil triumphs and Harry is a geeky coward?" I had loved all the other Potter movies-this one departed from the Potter formula by so much it was a complete waste of time. I seldom give only one star to movies I watch until the end, but this one lured me in, and then surprised me in the worst possible way. Two thumbs so far down I hurt my back bending over. Rotten to the core. I'm embarrassed I watched it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Utterly Disappointing

    I found it so frustrating that the producers and director changed major things from the book. From adding a ridiculous action sequence in which the burrow gets burned (not in the book), to Ginny adopting a sort-of David Lynch-style, creepy sort of stalking of Harry (also not in the book). The scenes between Ginny and Harry in the book are great, as Harry wrestles with his new feelings for her and his fear that Ron will turn against him for dating his sister. In the book, Harry pursues Ginny, and for God only knows why, they made Ginny the pursuer in the movie. And the ending? Completely void of the very real drama between Harry and Snape that makes the book's finale incredibly intense and full of angst. The movie lost the emotional resonance of Snape vs. Harry, which I would think is hard to do, since they've hated each other since their first meeting- but despite this, the scene in which they finally fully confront one another on screen is almost downright boring. Half the lines from the book are just dropped, and the confrontation is more like Snape waving his wand a few times and then disappearing, rather than a crucial face to face between mortal enemies.
    I can see how people might think the movie is good if they haven't read the books, but if you hold the movie up to the real half-blood prince, there's no way to make it compete with the book. The producers and director apparently assumed they could improve on J.K. Rowling. Not only arrogant, but wrong.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    do not buy this edition!!!!

    Do not purchase this edition. The digital copy is expired. I called customer service and it took three phonecalls to get everything halfway straightened out. I told them the digital copy was expired each time I called and they still have it on the website.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1