Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Brilliant!

    Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    So good!

    This was actually the best movie by far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    The extra features were great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    <3

    Loved the movie, but the book, of course, was a million times better. I think the movie should've portrayed Harry's feeling a LOT more and they didn't include a lot of the really important scenes that tied everything together. It was great nonetheless though. Proud PotterHead to the very end :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I like the way that the Heading is tied into the storyline. I feel that this has truly been well thought out and it is very exciting to see the connection.

    I have always been a Harry Potter fan since the very beggining when I use to read the books with my then young son. We would read the books together and talk about all the goings on. Now I have found that I cannot wait for the book nor the movie to come out. I thoroughly enjoyed the Order of the Phoenix and I am looking forward to watching all of the DVD's for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good movie

    Movie holds mostly true to the book. It leaves a lot out, but it easily entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For those trying to get their RPattz Fix anywhere you can get it. ;)

    I love the world of Harry Potter and this movie was great as the last three before it but it has alot more emotion and mayhem that goes along with it. But also if you need to see more of our Mr. Robert Pattinson then this is another place to come because I didn't realize how many different scenes Cedric actually was in. Thought at first it was only a few but he's in it all the way through. Also the extras that are with the DVD are awesome too. Plus you have a tour with Mr. Pattinson himself and then there's an interview him. So there's even more of him in the extras as well as the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Fun

    The movie is true to the book and the special effects are great. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Decent Movie

    The movie is awesome, but I would enjoy it better if I had never read the book. The book is better and provides a lot more detail. But considering they have to condense everything into a 2 hour movie, they did a good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    hp5

    Probably the worst of all the Harry Potter adaptations, but still not that bad. It's a lot of fun and the magic is there. I think they could have done better with it, though. Must watch if you are a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Alan Rickman as Professor Snape is fantastic!

    The movie was the best of the series to date! 5 stars! Loved the scenes with Harry and Snape, Harry may not like having his mind read by Professor Snape but I'd gladly do that any day of the week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    My wife is the Harry Potter fan in the family but I enjoyed this movie. The portrayal of Mrs. Umbridge is perfect and really makes you want to punch her in the face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it was awsome

    IT is deffently my favorite harry potter movie so far and it is also my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter Best

    Very Good actually the best of all 5 so far Ive only read the first 3 books so Im not sure how far off the story actually was I find that the scenes were rushed as well as everyone else whom has previously reviewed the movie Im a huge HP fan as most everyone else here and I presume this to be some of Daniels greatest work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Would've been good, had i not read the book....

    EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING! I've been a very diehard harry potter fan since my elementary years, or whenever i first read harry potter. [I'm a sophomore now] The ruined a lot of parts of the plot that will be crucial later on. How are they going to fix it? Change even more. Ick. It was WAY too choppy and even lost me, and i know the book really well. i was left saying &quot woah, what just happened??&quot BUT I will say this: Had I not known the book as well as I do, it would've been really good. Except for the choppy-ness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    How can Harry enter Snape's memory in the pensive and then follow his dad around to see things that were outside of Snape's perspective? and if he can due to the miracle of magic then shouldnt they have been able to do that to learn that whether or not Harry's uncle had commited the murders. J K just keeps making up magic rules to make it easy to tell her story rather then having a consistent concrete world, Because even a world of magic has rules too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All things Potter ...

    I've read the books and watched the movies many times over, and though it took me a while to get used to the new Dumbledore, I commend Rowling for her excellent writing skills and the really great attempt of the director and producers of Order of the Phoenix to squash so much into approx. 140 minutes of screen time - I would have loved for all the Potter movies to be longer - why they couldn't have taken licence and made this a three hour movie I will never understand, but it is still a brilliant production. I read that some felt it was too rushed, well that is a matter of perspective - it definitely gave a feeling of urgency which is what the story from this point on forward tries to relay, I think. Whatever the shortfall may be in the movie as compared to the book, it is still a great movie, and I think it is wonderful how Daniel, Rupert and Emma have all grown with their roles in this series, the rest of the cast too! All the players are just so wonderful, and as Harry said once before "I LOVE magic!" it is a wonderfully illusory world where anything is truly possible! Anyone who wants realistic reality should not watch these movies or read these books!! But if you enjoy the magic of "anything is possible" you will enjoy the movie! Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HP Movie Fan Since 2001. Real HP Movie Fan Since 2004.

    Whenever a book is adapted for the screen, especially a 870 page book like OOtP, the books are always going to be better. OOtP is no exception. There's always going to be plot lines, characters, events, and places that are changed, added, or left on the cutting room floor in relation to the source material in order for the adapted novels to work as a movie. Each director will have their own interpretation of the novel, and their own interpretation when answering the crucial question, "what are the most important parts of this novel?". Inevitably, there's always going to be a difference of opinion when answering that question. It's analogous to if a person took a survey of 1,000 art gallery patrons viewing the same painting and asked, "what do you think of this painting and why?" inevitably each person will give a different reason for liking the painting, hating the painting, or being neutral about the painting. But I digress slightly. Most of the unnecessarily negative reviews of the movies are avid readers who wouldn't be happy unless their lofty fantasy of a verbatim adaptation comes to fruition. This will never happen simply because (and these people are firm on being ignorant on this) it's impossible to include everything from the novels into the movies, unless these people are willing to sit through a 20-35+ hour movie. I, however, have digressed into an unnecessary rant. I promise to say only one more thing. For those of you who are completely negative about the movies, remember: sacrifices have to be made in adapting these novels to the silver screen. The remaining parts of the movies may not be your interpretation of what's important, but remember this: there can be no reasonable or intelligent argument that can be made against a director's interpretation. It's all in the eyes of the beholder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    faboulus movie

    this latest film surpasses all of the previous films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wanted to cry

    I love the HP books and the movies, though somewhat disappointing compared to the books, were okay up until now. However, this movie murdered my second favorite of the HP books and became my second least favorite of all the Potter movies. Please stop the chopiness and careless cropping! : (

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10