Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I like the way that the Heading is tied into the storyline. I feel that this has truly been well thought out and it is very exciting to see the connection.

    I have always been a Harry Potter fan since the very beggining when I use to read the books with my then young son. We would read the books together and talk about all the goings on. Now I have found that I cannot wait for the book nor the movie to come out. I thoroughly enjoyed the Order of the Phoenix and I am looking forward to watching all of the DVD's for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good movie

    Movie holds mostly true to the book. It leaves a lot out, but it easily entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    hp5

    Probably the worst of all the Harry Potter adaptations, but still not that bad. It's a lot of fun and the magic is there. I think they could have done better with it, though. Must watch if you are a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Bad

    Poor Ron's role was kind of squashed in this movie, but i still love him. Luna is the best! They were pretty true to the book except for Dumbledore's explaination of the prophecy at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It should have been more...

    The Harry Potter books and movies are wonderful...but there should have been more in the 5th movie. Sorry to say...it was a little disappointing but I still enjoyed the movie...Let's hope that there's more in the 6th one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Potter Fan

    I love all the Harry Potter movies and books :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Compared to the book, this movie was not as good. This was the longest book and it should have been the longest movie...it was one of the shortest in comparison. I loved the special effects and the battle between Voldemort and Dumbledore was SPECTACULAR!! I thought that it was a fairly good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Great!

    I don't know why everyone is complaining about the length of this movie. They can't put it all in and should never be as good as the book- you write the movie in your head. Visually stunning, well acted, I'll be rushing out on the 11th to purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where have all the pages gone?

    The fifth book was one of my favorites of the series. It was the longest one overall, and I was suprised to see that the fifth movie was the shortest so far. As an avid fan, I loved watching the book come alive on screen. The feel of this movie was great, I must say. The only thing that really did disappoint me was how much the script-writers skipped over. There were so many scenes in the book that would have been an important event in the movie, to help those that have never read the book understand the movie even more. Even I got lost in some points of the movie, and I've read the book many times. Throughout the movie, I always had this feeling that something was missing. Then I realized that it was the other hundreds of pages that the movie left out. Nevertheless, I did enjoy the movie... the Harry Potter series is always a joy to watch (and read!) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    I thought this was a good movie. It leaves out parts of the book. But this usually happens when they take a book and put it in the form of a movie. The actress who played Bellatrix really capture the character really well. Can't wait to see the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best harry Potter m. yet

    Loved it! although I have never really loved the movies, (im a huge fan of the books) I thought this one was the best one so far. Luna lovegood is great by the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    pretty good movie although it didn't live up to the book but then again most movies don't. i had very high expectations after seeing the preview but the movie fell alittle short. did a good job of including major plotlines and the only thing they left out was Hagrid fighting the i.s. after they stunned Prof Mc. i really wanted to see how scary Hagrid would've looked when he was angry. overall, an enjoyable movie but not quite as good as 3 or 4. great job of acting these kids are really starting to come into their own as actors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter rules

    The movie was great and i loved the ending duel with Voldemort and Dumbledore. Even though it was great it was missing some stuff and could have been a little longer. The book was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Order of the Phoenix

    David Yates was definitely a disappointment & a delight as director in different ways. He has no where near the story-capturing-to-film talent that Christopher Columbus or Alfonso Cuaron had with years I-III films. He does have a great conceptual mind for effects and graphics, the CGI was definitely better. What was the most menacing thing about this film was the choppiness of the scene splicing. He truly did leave a lot out, and had very few linking sequences which made the film hard to watch even for those devout readers, who could piece together scenes from memory. The script was a bit odd as well and it did not seem like the actors were putting out as much effort or at least making important 'cosmic' scenes look more epic and less hoaky, as they did in the film. The death of Sirius lasts for maybe 15 seconds, with no other mentioning of it in the film, which is heartbreaking. As well as Umbridge's psychosis, which is left untouched to how Rowling depicts it in the book. It is understand that most movies deviate from their books, but like Bram Stoker's Dracula as depicted by Coppola deviated, it deviated brilliantly, romantically and was overall an enthralling adventure. I am shamed to say that when this film ended I was first, shocked with how Yates ended it--it was odd and hoaky--and how everything jumped and skipped, it was almost like watching a two and half hour trailer. I love Harry Potter but am admittedly fearful for The Half Blood Prince, since Yates is on that project and it is in pre-production. Someone in the proper place needs to take note of the poor sequence movement in this film and make sure it never happens again. Harry Potter should always remain an epic story. Yates may not be able to do promise that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Compared to the book, this movie fell short. I have loved all of the movies to date. This just left me expecting more and a bit disappointed. The book had so much more information that could have been added. I don't know if it's because there was another screenwriter or what. I will watch all of the movies no matter what. A Potter fan to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3