Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Average Rating 4
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    J.K. Rowling classic...

    This is my favorite, so far, of the movie series. The characters really develop nicely and I became endeared to Sirius Black and the injustice that life had dealt him. I am a big fan of the series, you really can't go wrong with any of these great adaptations from J.K. Rowling's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still the Best One Yet

    This film was by far the most well-done adaptation of any book from the "Harry Potter" series. The artistic vision of Alfonso is truly breath-taking, and makes the halls of Hogwarts seem so ancient. The movies before this one were an exact copy of the book, with lack of vision or creativity. They were just like watching the book. Yes, I realize that some details were left unnoticed, but J.K. Rowling wouldn't have let that happen if she didn't think it was crucial for explanation. Think about that. I cannot say enough about how truly amazing this film was, but it will always remain the best movie of the "Harry Potter" series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    the best film of the series if you ask me. 

    the best film of the series if you ask me. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    i thought this books was amazing and i thought the movie was fan

    i thought this books was amazing and i thought the movie was fantastic..yeah they left some stuff out and they changed up the timings but overall it was a great movie and couldnt stop going back to that one scene where peter pettigrew was revealed. best part of the book and movie. i honestly loved it despite the comments below . and yes i am a die hard hp fan. im not complaining. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    i love this movie1

    i love it..... there is just something about the way gary oldman just is such a good pick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This Harry Potter movie is better than the second movie(in my own opinion).It has more action than the second but it is not as good as the first one (in my own opinion).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Review of the 2-disc full-screen edition: I really enjoyed this movie as the trio of main characters (Harry, Ron, and Hermione)continue to mature and grow in their 3rd year at Hogwart's. Sirius Black ( a great Gary Oldman) has escaped Azkaban and is on his way to "kill" Harry at Hogwart's. New characters are introduced, including Professor Lupin (played by David Thewlis) who plays a mentorship role to Harry. The movie is darker than the first 2 movies, as the storyline continues to follow the progress of the characters at Hogwart's. I enjoyed the introduction of the Hipogriff as a new creature and the deadly Dementors'(guards of the Prison of Azkaban). Disc 1: * movie * Cast/Crew : which actor plays which character * Trailers for the first 3 movies Disc 2: * Divination - Trelawneys Crystal Ball ( 5 unfinished scenes) - Creating the Vision: An interview with JK Rowling and Director Alfonso about the transition from book to movie. The interview is done by a guy and one of the shruken heads that were in the movie. Pretty funny. - Head To Shrunken Head: Interviews with the cast and crew. (43 min) * Great Hall - "Catch Scabbers" the rat game - Choir Practice: song lyrics with scenes from the movie - "Quest of Sir Cadogan" game * Tour Honey dukes: tour of the candy store (boring to me) * Hogwart's Grounds - Hagrid's Hut: Has "Care of Magical Creatures" which shows the different training of the various animals in the 3rd movie. In "Conjuring a Scene", it shows how the Dementors came to film, and it showed how the scene of the Knightbus was filmed which was interesting. This section also has what is on the DVD-Rom for your computer. * Defense Against the Dark Arts: has a tour of Lupin's classroom and magic you may have scene in the movie. Overall a great movie, and the 2 disc edition has many great extra's on it for those of us who like them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alfonso Cuaron is a tosser

    Just thinking of the way he murdered the book makes me sick. This book was special in a way the others weren't. Likewise this movie is "special" too. Especially horrible. The directors of the next movies should see the way Peter Jackson did LOTR. Lord of the Rings looks just like or even better than anyone would have imagined after reading the books(anyone except Cuaron probably)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How could they MURDER the BOOK this BAD!?!?

    Wish the was an option for a score of ZERO! Anynoe who can compliment this movie didn't see the first movies OR read the book. I understand they can't add every detail of the book, but this beyond terrible. I especially hated Hermione suddenly popping up- she was SUPPOSED to be disappearing, a little bit behind herself. Lupin was supposed to be friends with JAMES, not Lily. They didn't even MENTION who Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, & Prongs were! They really messed up the fight between Ron & Hermione. The Firebolt was supposed to come at Christmas. What, they couldn't even MENTION that Griffindor won the Quidditch Cup?! Or Sirius givng Harry permission to visit Hogsmade, and giving Ron that minute owl? In the special features on the DVD They said they changed some layout of Hogwarts to open it up a bit- but WHY move the entrance to Griffindor Tower to a crowded stair rather than the big hall? WHY change the Fat Lady to some freak in a toga rather than the pink silk dress? I forgive them for Harry's seeing Peter on the Map, I realize they needed to shorten the scene at the Shack b/c the way it goes in the book would take over an hour to show. They needed it possible for Harry to hear Lupin and Sirius out quicker. But, for the rest... The Director needes to READ THE BOOK NEXT TIME! And stop making BAD changes that are Unnecassary, UNwelcome, and UNimproving. STOP BUTCHERING the wonderful books- and FIX DUMBLEDORE! (HP4, he got angry at Harry, but he's supposed to know Harry's innocent)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Waste Your Time

    "Prisoner of Azkaban" is by far the worst HP movie to come out. It's a load of hippogriff dung. It didn't really follow the book at all and there were way too many pointless changes, like the uniforms and the Hogwarts grounds. The magic from the first two movies was completely gone. We need Chris Columbus back!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HOW DID THIS COME OUT?????

    what was this? are you kidding me? the first two were so much better. this one kept on showing shots of dying flowers and the whomping willow and do dementors really fly in the books? a failed attempt of a cross between art and symbolism. the characters didn't look like students or teachers, and the animation wasn't so hot with the werewolf. and i'm not even going to get into how much stuff they left out! it's disgusting! how did mrs. rowling let them do this to the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT HAPPENED?

    This one does not measure up to the first two movies. The story line was jacked-up and they "magically" moved the Whomping Willow outside of the school grounds WTF? And the students began dressing in their street attire instead of their cool long robes. And they made Hagrid bigger than he was supposed to be. Radcliffe isn't very good at crying either. I also thought this one was actually kind of boring(Why? It's hard to explain, just watch it) The ending was terrible, it didn't really end at all, its almost as if the screen froze or something. Quite honestly, I'd as soon forget this Harry Potter movie. The fourth movie definately makes up for what this one lacks and blows it out of the water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome!!!!

    For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the hier apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort. Now he has escaped, leaved only two clues as to where he might he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You Know-who was Black's downfall as well.And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep , "He's at Hogwarts...he's at Hogwarts." Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of this magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in thier midst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT WAS THAT?!

    the first thing i said after i saw this movie was "are you kidding me?" none of the characters (aka hermione, lupin, etc) look ANYTHING like they should. talk about dissapointing. and forget how much they left out. this movie doesn't really connect with the others, its like, what? you get it. the other three were better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not as good as the first 2

    I have to say that I did enjoy this movie but it left out nearly all the parts I enjoyed like the second and third quidditch matches and spent too much time trying to add in extra laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lacking

    I really missed the ghosts in this film, like Sir Nick (nearly headless Nick). It was also much darker. Some parts were worthless like watching a flower dry up and die (too art-y.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is a great movie. The acting is excellent, but I did like the first two movies better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What were they thinking???

    I agree with everyone else. It was okay, except they left out a bunch of stuff, and what's up with the singing??? Anyway, i was and am shocked at how poor the movie turned out. Didn't Rowling say anything??? What the were they thinking???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well. . . .

    I haven't really been a HP fan for too long, and the movies are not a big deal for me, but. . . Man it kinda disappoints me that they cut sooo much out. The books are amazing, but the movies are kinda not. In the first movie, they cut out the Sorting Hat's song and in the Fith Book, the song gives a warning. Every body is gonna be like. . "Why is that weird hat singing all of the sudden?!?!?!?!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Close, but no cigar.

    Since the third Harry Potter book was my favorite, I had great expectations for the movie.I did thoroughly enjoy the movie, but compared to the book it was a bit disappointing. It is a shame that so much of the book has to be left out because of time constraints. I give the movie four stars, and the book five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17