Customer Reviews for

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Average Rating 4
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This Harry Potter movie is better than the second movie(in my own opinion).It has more action than the second but it is not as good as the first one (in my own opinion).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome!!!!

    For twelve long years, the dread fortress of Azkaban held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. Convicted of killing thirteen people with a single curse, he was said to be the hier apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort. Now he has escaped, leaved only two clues as to where he might he might be headed: Harry Potter's defeat of You Know-who was Black's downfall as well.And the Azkaban guards heard Black muttering in his sleep , "He's at Hogwarts...he's at Hogwarts." Harry Potter isn't safe, not even within the walls of this magical school, surrounded by his friends. Because on top of it all, there may well be a traitor in thier midst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This is a great movie. The acting is excellent, but I did like the first two movies better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Close, but no cigar.

    Since the third Harry Potter book was my favorite, I had great expectations for the movie.I did thoroughly enjoy the movie, but compared to the book it was a bit disappointing. It is a shame that so much of the book has to be left out because of time constraints. I give the movie four stars, and the book five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Emily, a reviewer

    I loved the effects but many inportant parts of the story were left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not as good as the SS and COS

    the movie was good but the ending and singing sucked and dumbledore looked mean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good...but could be better

    this movie was good, but since when does Hogwarts have a choir???and i dont really like the ending either....but the rest of it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter year 3

    Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite book in the series and the dementors are just awesome. The silver white bird hawk that Hagrid led Harry rode was dazzling. Here, an escaped criminal is on the loose who has a score to pick with Harry and something that has to his with his parents. This is even darker than Chamber of Secrets. Can't wait for Goblit of Fire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Huge Harry Potter Fan

    This movie was excellent.. except it forgot a few scenes that were in the book.. some important ones. Harry was introduced to Sirus in year 3 and they didn't exactly give that as much time as they should have. But it was still an Excellent movie *Note* Books are always better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is okay...

    This movie wasn't as good as I thought it would be. I loved the book- it was my absolute favorite! The movie was stretched too much, and didn't include some of my favorite scenes. Hermione was supposed to slap Draco across the face, not punch him in the nose. Too much was changed. I can only hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    J.K. What have you got against poor Harry

    A departure from the first two films. The background was filmed in Scotland and sometimes reality isn't as effective as blue screen magic. Poor Harry suffers again and it appears that J.K. isn't going to make things any easier for him. Acting is once again outstanding. This film deviates from the book a great deal more than the first two. DVD appears to be a better copy of the film than the theatre copy. Worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not the greatest

    Although many believed that the movie did well without the missing parts from the book, i believe otherwise. It's not simply the fact that the movie lacked some scenes from the book, but it's the essential parts that were not included. Granted that the movie protrayed most of the dark tones that were present in the book, there were still some things not right about it. If one wished to fully enjoy this movie then the movie should be seen before reading the book. There's just too many important ideas left-out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CHANGE

    The new director/dumbledore combo killed me. The director butchered the movie in one simple way for me, he must not have actually watched the film himself because the whole darn movie is out of focus. When your looking at who's talking in a certain scene the focus is always on the wall or something thats a foot in front of Harry's eye's and not on the prime subject, which made what you wanted to see a constant blur. That pissed me off because its so simple to fix and they blew it. Secondly the NEW Dumbledore was a sad and distracting change. Dumbledore's manurisms(spelling unsure), overall tone of voice, body language, and appearence were all altered to create a bitter taste for me when I tried to compare my memories of the character to. But all in all its to good of a story to screw up no matter how hard the director might have tried, no offense intended to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the 3 Harry Movies

    I resisted the Harry Potter books forever, but thought they were an engaging, quick read once I finally gave in. I thought the first two movies were just okay, a bit empty and lacking. But this third installment is much more interesting visually, much darker, and has a plot that can engage both children and adults. No movie will ever meet your expectations if you were planning a direct screening of your reading experience. If you suspend those expectations, this film is good and by far the best of the Harry Potter films...so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I recommend Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

    The Prisoner of Azkaban movie did not compare well to the book by any means, but was still an enjoyable movie. I loved the visual affects with the dementors, but was disappointed over and over when scenes from the book were left out and other major scenes were changed to 'rush' the movie. The book is 100 times better. These books are so amazing that I hope that they find a director for the 4th installment 'Goblet of Fire' that will compliment the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than most, but a bit disappointing if you read the book

    I am a huge HP fan and have all the books and movies (so far). I could not wait to see this movie in the theatre and when I did, I liked most of the movie but I think they focused on many things that could have been passing moments, while leaving out some things that were must haves. For example the night bus while it made for good movie action, where did the Rasta Mon come from? There was a lot of detail that should have been focused on with Hogwarts; after all, that is what people like about HP, not the Dursley¿s. Overall, 4 out of 5. Going to buy the movie right now though so maybe after watching a third or forth time, I will have something different to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Review

    I love all of the books. I believe the movie can never be better then the books. Comparing PoA against the other two movie. I think it's one of the best. I love the direction and camera work. As he get older the setting become older and darker. I can't wait until more books come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban kicks some butt compared to the first to as a movie, with it being darker and more mature. But why I don't rate it 5 stars is because many things from the book were cut out more than the first two movies. It is based on a book, so most of the book should be put in. Alfonso Cuaron would get a 5 star rating if it wasn't based on a book, but a 3 star as a movie on a book.So the average is 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What's the director got against birds?

    Another enjoyable film. As a mom I like that the movie was slightly toned down, I feel less wary about letting my younger children watch too. As a Harry Potter fan I think they did a great job sticking to the book and getting what was important into the movie without making it 5+ hours long. No Quiddich was somewhat refreshing... I didn't give 5 stars though because the 3rd movie changed the layout of the castle and grounds and I though those elements should have remained static. Really good movie though, I'm here today to pre-order it for my family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not for the book readers

    First I would like to say that I read the book series and this was my favorite book out of the 5 that are out so far. This might explain why I think the way I do. A great movie for movie goers. Filled with laughs and excitement till the end. But if you read the series and havent seen the movie, you will be dissapointed. A lot is left out from the book and you might have to explain some stuff to your friends (I did). Some important things for the following books/movies are left out, but I blame the director for that. (shame shame.) But, for what it is, it was great. Wonderful acting, great special effects, and a great cast. Filled with eye candy out the wazoo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4