Customer Reviews for

Heat

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I wanted to like it. Believe me!

    I'm not saying this just to bash a movie or be 'that jerk'. Though this movie has a lot of powerful actors who play the parts very well, the film has a lazy pace. The plot follows too many different characters personal lives unnecessarily, and has shoot-outs that make Die Hard 2 look like a true story. Additionally, This movie ends terribly. Everyone I watched this with hated it as well. I wanted to like this movie, but would've been better served watching Goodfellas again. Though I know alot of people who love this movie, I disagree entirely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heat

    Heat
    The epic cops and robbers movie with an all-star cast including Ashley Judd, Robert Deniro, Al Pacino and Val Kilmer. I loved this movie. It kept me on the edge and the performances were unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great, Great!!

    Al Pacino and Robert DiNero at their best. Great plot, great acting, lots of action and an emotional ending. The soundtrack during the robbery is great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everybody's Amoral

    In this flick, everybody's evil to a degree. Vincent Hanna, the obsessive detective, has an almost intrinsic viciousness about him while the honorable robber Neil McCauley is nearing the end of the line where these two brilliant men on opposite sides of the law, face to face, (literally)for the first time. Pacino and DeNiro, only one of these Hollywood heavyweights can make it out alive. I won't say who. Michael Mann wrote probably the best crama drama/thriller since the Godfather in Heat. The characters are terrific with one hell of a shootout. I love it when Neil goes after Wangrow and Van Zant for revenge! I won't give anymore away. It's up for you to decide to watch or not, at your own peril.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different

    I readily enjoyed this from beginning to end. The character development of the story is incredibly documented. The most annoying and relentless character is not the bad guy, but the good guy (Al Pacino.) The movie does an excellent job as it portrays Deniro not as a robotic sociopath, but also brazenly demonstrates his status as a human being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Movie!

    Simply put - if films like Braveheart, The Usual Suspects, Dead Man Walking, Mighty Aphrodite, and Apollo 13 hadn't won the hearts of the Academy in 1995, Michael Mann's epic masterpiece would have reigned supreme at the Oscars. This movie is filmmaking at it's finest. Action is perfectly apportioned, drama is omnipresent, and depth prevails. I can honestly say this is the most soulful and passionate movie I have ever seen in my life. It is a terrific study of humantity in a crime-saga arena. Mr. Mann has inspired me intensely and hopefully one day I will make a picture as good as this. Readers of my reivew, take these words to heart and rent this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heat - You Either Get It, or You Don't

    This is a fascinating look at ''good'' putting the heat to ''evil'' in this world where the good guy has his evil and the bad guy has his good. These two men NEED each other for success in their ''professions''. In the coffee shop they each say what they must say, regardless of ''how it will be''. This film is a superb example of sweeping cinematography beautifully matched to a really cool musical score. It's deep enough to THINK your way through it, even in the action scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A truly awsome crime film.

    Micheal Mann, the director of great movies like 'The last of the Mohicans' and 'Ali', dilivers a powerful and detailing look into the minds of the men, Al Pacino and Robert DeNiro. As the movie progresses, we find out that the two men, one a cop and the other a mastermind theif, have more in common with one another than they both think. A truly great insight at these two powerful actors, and a great direction with awsome fire-fights and chases, 'Heat' promises to deliver an action-packed knock-out to anyone who watches it. One hell of a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    simply brilliant

    Wow. What a great film. Al Pacino and Robert Deniro finally meeting is something they everyone wants i'm sure. Not 1 scene in this movie wasted. Plenty of action and swearing. This is kind of a drama and crime movie. I really liked Tom Seizmore's character, he is such an underated actor especially his performance in Saving Private Ryan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heat

    This is truly an underrated film. With sensational acting, including one of the great scenes you'll see in film, DeNiro and Pacino meeting face-to-face in the diner, this is a can't miss for those that appreciate great acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A TV cop drama with famous actors

    This movie is nothing but a TV cop drama. It is very long and there is not much action. There are not even any good lines. In one word, 'insipid'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Crime Movies

    Everything comes together brilliantly in this memorable film about crime and law enforcement. The cinematography, screenplay, direction, acting, etc. Well, especially the acting. 3 of my favorites come together (Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Tom Sizemore) to deliver great performances. Best Film of 1995!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the all-time great crime-action films in the last 20 years. Brilliant all-star cast, teriffic plot, and pin point direction makes this a modern classic by the visionary Michael Mann.

    Everything you can hope for in a bombastic, razor sharp movie that will astound all action junkies everywhere. Superstar cast, cinematography of the highest order, and a terrific plot. What else is there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ALL STAR CAST MAKES FOR FERVENT ''HEAT''

    Michael Mann pays homage to his classic TV saga CRIME STORY and in doing so, comes full circle...this is CRIME STORY with superstar talent. You can even recall some of the dialogue from the show (''You do not get to watch my television set''). Pacino brings another memorable character to his CV with Lt. Vincent Hanna, a cop obsessed. DeNiro portrays super thief Neil McCauley with frightening realism. Val Kilmer abandons the pretty boy image as a degenerate gambler on DeNiro's crime team. Incredible action and pace. This is a winner and Mann's best work since THIEF (1981).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2