Customer Reviews for

Hellboy

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In no way, shape, or form as good as the comic.

    Ooh...this movie is a spit in the face to a great comic. As a standalone film, it's passable, but the comic is supposed to be a horror series. They transformed it into a just okay super-hero flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hellboy Delivers With a Stone Punch!

    Hellboy (Director's Cut) is one rollercoaster ride and an unexpectedly good movie. Ron Perlman is great as the lead character and the images of the Cthulhu creatures are very realistic. This 3 disc special edition contains a new film cut of 13 minutes of footage not seen in the original version.<BR/>Hellboy is a creature brought into our world by the Nazi's. He is raised by a scientist and now works for a secret government agency that takes down paranormal activity. His love interest is a young lady (played by Selma Blair) who is a firestarter. All hell breaks loose when Rasputin (the man that brought Hellboy into our world) returns to capture Hellboy and open a rift that will unlease the Apocalypse on an unexpecting world.<BR/>Special Features are massive.<BR/>Disc one: New movie cut; Commentary and Video Intruduction by Guillermo Del Toro; Composer Commentary with Isolated Score; DVD Comics that branch with the film; Set visits and Factoids; Storyboard Track; DVD-ROM features<BR/>Disc two: Video Introduction by Selma Blair; 3 deleted scenes; 2 and a half hour in-depth look at the making of the movie; Charater Bios; Motion Board-A-Matics; Animatics; Multi-Angle Storyboard Comparisons; Galleries; Trailers and TV Spots; Filmographies; Posters; Weblink to Hellboy Merchandise.<BR/>Disc 3: Video Introduction by Ron Perlman; Cast Video Commentary; Production Workshops; Makeup and Lighting Tests; Comic-Con 2002; Quick Guide to understanding Comics; Director's Notebook; Photo Galleries; Pre-Production Art; Conceptual Art Galleries; Comic Book Artists Pin-Ups<BR/>The Hellboy collection also contains a booklet on an excerpt from the Diary of Gregory Rasputin.<BR/>Easter Egg's: <BR/>Put in Disc 1 for first egg: Watch the introduction, Highlight Introduction again, Press up on control and you will see 3 eggs in the left hand corner. Press enter on control, Watch Del Toro talk about a mistake <BR/>For the second egg on Disc 1: Go to special features, scroll down to main menu, Press down on control and you will see 3 eggs in the left hand corner. Press enter on control, Scroll through the "Overhead at the Monitor" <BR/>cards. <BR/><BR/>Put in disc 2 and go to Kroenen's Lair. You'll find 3 eggs here. <BR/>First egg: Go to Animatics, Highlight Back, Press down on the controller, You will then see 3 eggs, Press enter and watch the secret animatic <BR/>Second egg: Go to Board-A-Matics, Highlight Back, Press down on the controller, You will then see 3 eggs to right side of the picture underneath "Back", Press enter and watch the secret board-a-matic <BR/>Third egg: Go to Storyboard Comparisons, Highlight Back, Press Down on the controller, 3 eggs will appear, Press enter and watch the secret storyboard <BR/>comparison

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hellboy

    Never heard of the comic but the movie is quite entertaining and you'll just want to see it again and again, practically not getting tired off it that much. Del Toro is quite the director and does a good job with this movie with its humour and action sequences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Necessary Evil

    I never read or heard about 'Hellboy' but I did enjoy the film. Ron Perlman seems to look better in makeup than he does in real life since that TV show, 'Beauty and the Beast'.This movie shows you that when you are fresh out of choices to battle evil, why not let a necessary evil do the job for you, and that's where Hellboy comes in.This being becomes more reliable than someone who is good because this 'evil' person(which is really a dark hero)is on the same wavelength with the dark side of humanity, and you know that he can pull it off. I highly recommend this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    faithful to the comic

    This movie was great! As a fan of the comic book I didn't know if I was happy that they were going to make a Hellboy movie, but they stayed true to the spirit of the book. I expected a lot from this movie and I was still surprised. By the way Ted Danson is NOT in this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

    I was pretty sure I wasn't going to like this movie, but it turned out to be rather enjoyable. Good story, interesting characters (both good & evil). The special effects were great and not so overwhelming that they deterred from the story...which is really hard to do nowadays. There were a couple of glaring story holes though, which I found distracting. But overall I enjoyed this movie, a lot more than I ever thought I would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Gothic Style Comic Book Hero Movie

    Wow! I didn¿t expect this one. I loved HELLBOY. Lately I¿ve been wondering if the comic book hero movie had run its course. I had been very disappointed in several in the past (LXG and the HULK), but HELLBOY redeems this genre. There¿s a plot. The set decorations are wonderfully gothic as are the characters. The villains were creepy but very interesting. The CGI is very good. The music goes with the story. There¿s action, plenty of action, and it makes sense. It¿s not unwarranted in the storyline. Ron Perlman brings the character of Hellboy to life. Selma Blair, Rupert Evans, and John Hurt are all great as the other main characters. I love the Lovecraftian monsters; they were beautifully realized. There¿s a love triangle. The characters have problems, but they don¿t wallow in them too much. The action continues on even though they might have troubles. That¿s so refreshing to see; you can have angst and action. The characters also have a sense of humor. This movie is stunning and artistic in its own eccentric way. Did you notice the statue of the Archangel Michael slaying the dragon (the devil) in the study, and in the masquerade scene the Del Toro is dressed up as a dragon and Mignola is Saint George? Goes with the theme of keeping hellish creatures in their place. Very fun. I understand a lot of comic book fans don¿t like this movie. It looks like the comic book creator, Mike Mignola collaborated on this movie and he seems to like it. I¿m a movie/film fan and that¿s how I judge it. As a movie, it was fun and enjoyable. -- Leslie Strang Akers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular! A triumph!

    Awesome is the only word to describe the beauty of this movie. It had a real plot, short, but effective. It was a great movie. Not as funny as Men In Black, but it's not supposed to be. I really liked this movie. Ron Perlman is one of the most, if not THE most, underappreciated actors of our time. He is phenomenal to say the least as I'm sure his co-stars would agree. John Hurt is magnificent as Dr. Bloom. I love just about every movie John Hurt's starred in. His acting is beyond words. Selma Blair was wonderful as the love interest - although not as good as she was in Cruel Intentions, but it was a bigger part. Hellboy makes the Spawn movie look like a screen joke. In another artistic class altogether. That minion of Rasputin's gave me the ultimate heebie jeebies. I'm going to have nightmares about him. The horrible evil unleashed at the end reminded me of Lovecraft's Yog-sothoth!!! Hellboy rocks. The director and screenwriter deserves a nod for this. Art as its creator intended. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Superhero Movie

    This movie was excellent. Everything from the plot to CG was amazing. Ted Danson did a great job as the lead. After a movie like this I understand why all of the other studios jumped in to make superhero movies. Unfortunately some of those movies like Hulk and Ven Helsing were horrible. But others like X-Men and Spiderman really did a good job of imitating the Hellboy formula and making a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Film!

    I loved Hellboy. I t was a great romantic action film. The cast they picked for this motion picture were great, but Selma Blair kind of brought down the movie. I think it would have been better if Selma Blair wasn't Hellboy's girlfriend. I didn't mind at first, but at the end I just though the film would have been a lot better with someone else playing his girlfriend. It kind of seemed realistic to me at first, but now I didn't like it very much at the end. But this film turned out to be really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3