Customer Reviews for

Hello, Dolly!

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Horribly cast

    This isn't "Hello, Dolly"-- it's "The Barbra Show". She's too young by about 20 years, which means Mrs. Molloy is recast as an ingenue, and Michael Crawford is embarrassingly bad. The plot is altered as well. Saw this on stage in NY in the olden days and loved it. The movie-- tolerable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Happy Feeling

    This is just pure happy time. When you want good songs, happy people & happy songs. This movie is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dolly is back!

    I haven't seen this movie in a very long time but I still love it. I watched Walle and had to get the movie. A fab. musical with Barbra Streisand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great classic

    My teenagers, loved seeing this movie. We love all sorts of music in our home, and loved this musical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Memorable Musical

    I thoroughly enjoyed Dolly when it was shown in Wellington New Zealand in 1970. I saw it time and time again, perhaps 20 times and still remember all the songs. I havent seen it recently but will buy the video. My congratulations to the moviemakers for making such a classic. Some memorable scenes were dancing in central park, the harmonia gardens, the parade, and the finale when Dolly gets married. The scene was truly wonderful, the church, the lake, the distant mountains and the singing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Pure Fun

    I've looked for this movie for years. I remember watching this movie when I was smaller and now that I've found it I'm overjoyed. It's one of the best musicals in my opinion and is a great family movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    Always a great amount of enjoyment had whenever I watch this movie. Michael Crawford is cast perfectly as Cornelius Hackel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New York-sized musical!

    This has got to be one of the best musicals ever! I especially loved Barbra Streisand's musical numbers. She's got an awesome voice, and really did her part well. This will have you singing for days! I hadn't seen it in years, and it was wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved this movie...

    I watched this movie not knowing a thing about the past of the musical and Barbara Streisand fit the part perfectly. I went back and researched the musical finding that old lady-sounding woman what was her name... Carol Channing! The main spectacularness of the movie is Barbara's gorgeous voice! I can't think of anyone more fit to the part. Perfect everything (except Walter Mathu can't sing)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Changes in DVD version?

    The DVD version seems to be different than the VHS version of Hello Dolly with the same cast. It is almost as if it was filmed twice for different formats like 'Seven Brides for Seven Brothers' was. While all the scenes are similar, the DVD version seems to have more wider-angle views that put the viewer farther away. If you compare the DVD version's scenes with the VHS version, there are definite differences, including those in the dance scenes. While the DVD version is still very good, I am disappointed because the VHS version was so excellent. The VHS version is one of my favorite movies of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this movie!

    As I watch this movie I am taken back to a time when I went to see musicals with my mom and her best friend. Barbara Streisand is a joy to watch and hear. This has always been one of my favorite movies to lose myself in. Thanks so much for putting it on DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hummable, danceable, corny, and fun

    The current trend is to look at Hello, Dolly! as an overdone, overproduced musical from an era when musicals were dying. And it is! But that doesn't mean it's not a lot of fun. This is, by far, my 12 year-old daughter's favorite movie. It's funny; and the musical numbers are really well done - beautifully sung, choreographed on the Big Broadway model - and it has just a little edge. It's totally corny, and it's Barbra Streisand - but sometimes it's a relief to enjoy a movie that doesn't rely on being more-sarcastic/cynical-than-thou. Is the acting going to win an Oscar? No. But who cares? It's good family entertainment. ''Before the Parade Passes By'' and ''It Only Takes a Moment'' will stick in your head long after the movie ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2