Customer Reviews for

High School Musical

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    When i saw the first commercial for high school musical i thought "ok, a new disney movie, i'll watch it knowing it well be awsome." boy was i wrong! its horrible, the songs are annoying and the dances are strange. Now i am a dancer myself and i love music but, those songs and dances stunk on ice!! i love to see musicals but, this mocks them! i also hate how every girl in my class talked about zack afferon or what ever his last name is. Oh zack this... Oh zack that...Dont you think he's cute...Some day i'm going to marry him! thats all they talked about for the school year. There are many good movies out there but high school musical is not one of them. And by the way there better things to do then watch that movie. Pick up a book (and not the movie book people)! oh and by the way ashley tisdale should have gotten a better part.Anyway in conclusion there are great movies out there, but high school musical is not one of them! so pick a better movie people!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HATE!!!!!!!

    I absolutely HATE ths movie. It's so stupid, preteen boppish, and fake. None of the actors or singers could sing, dance, or act. All I ever see are these kids walkig around with high school musical stuff on. What a shame. They should find better movies to watch instead of this movie that is unrealistic at all times. Plus the annoying songs get stuck in yur head and your friends heads and they are really strange songs. This movie was also a bad influence on kids by telling them that it is okay to harm someone else to better yourself. A.K.A - when Ashley and her brother changed the auditions so they could win them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst Movie I've Ever Seen

    This movie flat-out sucked. I hated it. First of all, nobody in the movie could sing at all. The movie was boring and the only reason everybody watches it is because of Zac Efron. Neither can these people act. It was a sorry excuse for a movie. Don't watch it AT ALL. Disney has been making some really bad movies lately. It doesn't help that they are making a 'High School Musical 2'. Like the first wasn't bad enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    High School Musical

    Disney channel movies are always extremely poor, but it was shocking that this movie ever made it out on DVD. Sure the songs are catchy, but it is completely unrealistic. I don't know about you, but at my highschool kids just don't start breaking into song in the cafeteria and start break-dancing on tables. It's unnatural. Disney is pushing kids into loving un-funny shows that are far from real-life. Sorry, but the Disney channel SUCKS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yuck!

    This movie is so corny! Ashley Tisdale in the movie with her co-star brother are so fake.And the songs and dances are yuck. Zac Efron is not even cute!I really think that the only reason girls like this movie is because of Zac Efron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Come On!!!

    I cannot believe how many people are obsessed with this movie. Seriously, the movie is terrible. First of all, it completely makes fun of theater, and what real musicals are like. Second of all, it is COMPLETELY different from what it is like to go in and audition and go through with the auditioning process, giving people (somewhat) wrong information. Also, anyone who has been to high school knows that high school is nothing like that. I mean, yeah, it goes against peer pressure and everything, but it's completely cheesy. The actors don't can't sing, and it is sooo completely obvious that they are lip-synching. There is a reason that this was on Disney Channel and didn't get into the movie theaters. Yick. I can't believe I even spent my time watching this piece of junk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Save Money

    By watching this on Disney Channel or YouTube. I highly recommend you don't watch this movie. It was realy weird and unejoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    High School Musical

    Do not bother watching this. If you like 'good clean fun' that is far from fun, then this movie is made just for you. If you like poor actors and actresses playing roles no one can really relate to, then this movie is made just for you. I don’t know what’s worse, that Zac kid lip singing or teenagers jumping on tables and break dancing while singing in harmony without missing a note. C’mon people WAKE UP, Harry Potter is more believable than this crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love HSM

    i love high school musical!! the songs are great and Zac Efron is hot.!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Unrealistic Story That Mocks The Theatrical World

    This "movie" deserves no stars in my opinion. Unless you are under the age of 8, you shouldn't like this movie. Being a VERY active member of a local theatre group, I found that this film was a mockery of those who love theatre. The drama teacher is an artsy nitwit that is just over the top. On top of that the acting is horrid. I don't know who got paid to write the dialogue for the script, but whoever it was did an abnormally horrific job on it. The lines are so cheesey they make you feel akward. As for the singing, according to a credited source, Zac Efron, the main character, was dubbed for much of the film. Neadless to say that, although their voices are not bad, they are not yet ready for Broadway, thank goodness. Also, in several numbers it is obvious that the kids are lip-synking. And, of course, it being a Disney Channel "Movie", all the kids are popular, good looking, in good physical condition, and happy-go-lucky characters to show very little human emotion. Show me a high school where nothing bad ever happends and that everyone are friends. Also, going back to the theatre thing, when a person auditions, you don't have a huge set and lots of props around you. And just because you are holding a microphone does not mean that you can be heard, especially with school mics. "High School Musical" is perhaps the largest waste of film, money, and resources ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BAD MOVIE

    This movie was SO disappointing!! My friend forced me to watch it...what a waste of my life! The singing was pretty good and the songs were cool, but the acting was not that great. And seriously, when does that kind of stuff EVER happen?!?! COME ON! I mean, when do school basketball teams just break out in song during practice and in the cafeteria everyone just starts singing and break dancing. I mean, yeahh right. that happens ALL the time. JEEZ! Save your money and DO NOT see this movie. It wasn't even a good 'love' story. If you want a really good movie with a good plot and good acting try 'The Notebook' or 'Pride & Prejudice'. but NOT this movie. HORRIBLE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sad

    I wish I could give this movie negitive stars. They songs are cheesey and the story/ characters well really all of it gives me nightmares. Disney this is sad. You created a monster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Omg You people are Obsessed!

    OMG. I can't believe some people actually like this movie! I used to like Ashley Tisdale in the Suite Life,but now that's ruined, and the music get's old. I can't even believe that this movie is a hit. But I know everyone has their own opinions but this drives me nuts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS MOVIE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!! EVERYONE IS OBBSESSED WITH IT...AND I DON'T KNOW WHY!!!!!! IT'S THE STUPIDEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WORST MOVIE EVER

    this movie was terrible!! i couldn't believe it was this bad it wasted my time watching this so dont waste yours! im doing you a favor dont watch this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Bother!

    After all the raves of my friends, I expected it to be great. Hardly! The corny lines were the worst. The singers were okay, but it sounded like any other teen singer. Boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do not even think of watching this

    just another movie to make teeny boppers happy. don't watch it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am obligated to 1 star

    I am obligated to giving this bad movie 1 star. If I had a choice it would be a zero. Disney keeps on striking out with their "orginal movies". It seems like they are running out of ideas. High School Musical shows this. This movie has stupid songs, cheesy acting, and a plot that leaves you in disbelief. It is so unrealistic! Like students are just going to start a dance number in the cafeteria! Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy. Couldn't they find better singers and actors? The only person I thought did okay at acting was Zac Efron. I don't see what is the big hype about this movie. Just shows how people are turning their brains to absolute garbage. No offense to anyone. But this movie is one of the worst if not the worst movie I've ever taken time out of my life to watch. There is one hour and 38 minutes of my life I will never get back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Quality

    I liked the movie and all that stuff. But, when i played it in my cars dvd player, the disc pictures did not show up properly. Then at home i tried it and the same thing happened. I bought to a cd cleaning store and tried to fix it. They said the info inside the disc had been broken. I don't know why and it snapped in half inside the dvd player. I don't recomend you buy it, at vanessa-online.com you can download it the full movie and more. So i returned the dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it sucked

    this movie was the worst acting ever the only scene i liked was the basketball one dont ever do a musical for disney chanel ever again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2