Customer Reviews for

Highlander

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic, Must See

    Not much to say other than if you don't own it, you should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highlander - the best

    Highlander was purchased as a replacement for my adult son's well-worn original copy. He says it's his favorite movie of all time. Now he can continue to watch it whenever the inclination strikes him to do so. He's happy with it. Thanks for bringing it back for availability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The one and only

    The first (and IMHO the only) Highlander Movie... There can only be one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nuns...no sense of humor...

    First, let's have some fun. Scottish Sean Connery plays an Egyptian playing a Spaniard, and French Christopher Lambert plays the Scot who winds up sounding like Peter Lorre. Now for why this movie stands up proudly as one of the coolest modern day fantasies. The world is populated by sword wielding immortals drawn to each other to do battle where the victor is the one to decapitate and draw power from the other. Awe-SOME. I'm ignorant of the basis or the names responsible for creating this concept, but I'm greatly appreciative of their efforts. Almost as much as I condemn them for allowing Highlander 2 to be put to film stock. Sean Connery is a wonderful, enigmatic, smarmy mentor to the under-appreciated and forever typecast Christopher Lambert's noviate into the grand combat of the immortals. Clancy Brown is the stuff that nightmares are made out of as the incredibly terrifying and cunning Kurgan, who has lines in villaindom. The soundtrack includes the dominating song Princes of the Universe by the ever cool Queen. B-Movie? Sure. Cult classic? I dare you to dispute it. And Highlander 2? Ignore it. Or attack it openly or in secret. I do both! The other movies and the tv series? Check 'em out, if you like. The series is what got me into the entire franchise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Chistopher Lambert, Sean Connery, & Queen

    Great acting and great music, what more to you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This IS the one

    Not only is it the original story that defines this great movie as a classic, it is also the interaction of the characters, the cinematography, and the sound track by Queen. This movie should be seen by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great movie

    Highlander is one of my favorite movies. The story line keeps you interested, the scenery is beautiful, the characters are very beleivable.Christopher Lambert gives an excellent performance but Sean Connery in this small but important role as his mentor is the best acting in the movie. You may find you like it better the second time you watch it because it takes a while to fully get the story. Also the music from Queen is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sci Fi at it's best!!

    Yes, it's the best sci fi film ever!! With excellent visual effects, music, and a better than average cast...........what more can you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Different Than I Origionally Thought

    I bought this movie a few years ago and watched it twice. I had to watch this movie twice before I totally understood it, although I totally enjoyed Queen's music, (whose music I enjoy any way) it made more sense the second time around. If you are patient enough and watch this movie at least twice, you will understand it. Sir Sean Connery is good looking and is a fine actor, (no wonder he was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II!) I really enjoyed the movie after I figured out what was really going on in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great original movie!!!

    A wild and adventurous film! I saw it first on the big screen where it can truly be appreciated. This movie must be seen on a big screen tv! Christopher Lambert gives a marvelous performance as a ''Highlander'' of humble scottish background. Sean Connery delivers excellently as a fellow immortal and his mentor. A must see movie and truly a classic in my book. The director also did superbly on a level rarely seen in today's movies. From the awesome scenery in Scotland to the busy city of New York, it kept me on the edge of my seat to the final climactic battle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not so good

    I thought this movie would be great but I was wrong. Confusing in some parts, I do not reecomend this movie. I would havve givin this movie 1 star, but Sean Cnnery's performance was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    there can be only one...highlander movie.

    There is only one true entertaining Highlander movie, this would be part 1. Part 2 is tolerable, part 3 is horrible, part 4 was rather good aside from the HORRIBLE acting. This film is entertaining up until the death of Sean Connery, after this, the film loses it's charisma. Excellent battle scenes, good overall. 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT FILM,FANTASTIC SOUNDTRACK

    The first 'HIGHLANDER' film is the best,and the music of QUEEN helps to make it special.This original film has a good story that does not leave the viewer confused or bothered by sideline events or 'showing up' by cast.It follows a well written story and puts the ''past and present events'' together in a way that you can follow without any confusion.With the action scenes building up with help from the music of the great band QUEEN,there is a sense of great looks that don't take over the whole film like some others.Chistopher Lambert does a fantastic job as Connor McLeod and gives the character a face.This film was badly cut for US TV markets and even on the original video release,but IT'S ALL HERE ON THIS VERSION.This is the best of the four ''Highlaner'' films and is worth the price in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2