BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

History of the World -- Part I

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay, But Not Mel Brooks Best!

    I'm a huge fan of Mel Brooks and I just watched History of the World Part 1 for the first time and while the movie had some funny parts it also had a lot of parts that just weren't all that funny and were kind of lame and it is my least favorite Mel Brooks movie. Definitely doesn't live up to classics like Young Frankenstein, The Producers and Blazing Saddles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I met Mel Brooks!!!!

    I love all his films and think that they are some of the best ever. He is a the best writer/director ever!!!!!! This is my favorite because of the historical aspect thye best is the part about the ten commandments!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mel Brook's strikes gold!

    If you are are fan of other Mel Brooks' movies, this is just another one, but it stands out beyond the others, it is by far the funniest. The film tells the story of History, through the eyes of the comedic genious Mel Brooks. He starts off with a fairly crude 2001: A space odyssey joke and then weaves into the Caveman age. In this part are some truy primitive but hilarious jokes about artists and a dinosaur. After that short part, there is the longest part, the Roman empire. Dom Deluise is great as the Caeser and after many religious, racial, and a particulary insane drug joke, the Spanish inquisition scene opens, which is basically one big song with swimming nuns and tortured prisoners. And finally, the fourth and final part the French revolution, is truly hilarious. After some jokes about French working class...'' Apple cores, get your apple cores! Rats!Dead rats! I'm selling nothing! Absolutely nothing!'' The part is full with jokes like that. After a very lewd chess game and the boy with the bucket,(I won't tell you what it is for, but the bucket is disgusting!) the Revolution begins and a big mix-up almost gets a commoner beheaded. Then their is a phony ad for Part II with viking funerals, hitler on ice, and hews in space. So that is mel brooks' greatest comedy in my eyes. If your into religious, crude, scatalogical, raunchy, drug, and violent humor, this is definitely a movie for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brooks, Brilliant

    Funny Jews are Funnier than any other Creed. Hands down. Proud to be a part of the Tribe. If you feel your history's a bit shabby, and tired of friends putting you down because of it, remember that Brooks is there to rescue you. Truly a Brilliant piece in the tradition of Citizen Kane, Laurence of Arabia and... Animal House. With a dishevelled and cruel world, at least there is Brooks (and others in History of the World I) to put smiles on our faces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellant

    If you enjoy history and want to look at it from another view. Watch this movie you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best

    mel brooks at his finest. and most off colour! i've peroused the world over for humour and this is as good as it gets. it is unfit for any one under 18, over 60, prudish, or anyone else with a pulse. you'll love this one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HOLY $&%T

    THIS HAS TO BE MEL BROOKS AT HIS BEST. THE WAY THAT HE EMBRACES HISTORY AND BRINGS IT INTO A FUNNY OUTLINE IS THE BEST. THIS MOVIE IS A MUST FOR ANY ONE THAT LIKES MEL BROOKS WORK OR LOVES COMEDY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1