Customer Reviews for

Hook

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Relevant and entertaining still after 20 years

    I can't believe this movie is 20 years old! We just watch it again tonight. The adults in this movie make it worth watching. There is definitely something for kids. It's not violent. The humor is not crass and the effects are still believable. Robin Williams does a fantastic job. He is bested only by Hook (Dustin Hoffman)! Great family movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome movie its the greatest peter pan movie ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks steven spielberg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    Just a fun, fun movie for ALL ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Movies for Kids

    I can watch this over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic!!

    I watched this movie as a kid, and still watch it today. The strong plot, and great storyline is back up by an amazing cast. This is the perfect family movie. This movie is filled with fun, laughter, and magic. My niece who is almost three loves to watch the flying, and Tinkerbell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WE LOVE IT!!

    I remembered this story from back when I was a kid.... and I bought the movie the oher day for my kids. I think the people that don't like it are either too grown-up to remember when they were kids or just plain old mean!! The story is just..... magical. As I said before my kids and I just LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!

    I LOOOOOOOOVE this movie!!! Forget the actors and director. It's all about the story line! If you love everything about Peter Pan, this one won't disappoint you! This movie is only for those who never wanna grow up and who DO believe in fairies =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended For Children

    Now, there are some harsh reviews on here only because they expect this to be some amazing Spielberg epic like Close Encounters, Saving Private Ryan, or Indiana Jones. This is a childrens movie, hence the PG rating. Now, on those grounds I find it quite an imaginative film. There are a lot of great scenes full of action and color.I saw this film as a kid and loved it. One scene I enjoyed growing up was where Peter joins the Lost Boys in one of their feasts. The table is set with all of the pans and plates but when the take the lids off of everything there isn't any food. Apparently in Neverland one must wish their food to existence. Scenes like that should be great for kids who, lets face it, love to use their imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    The one time Robin Williams, Dustin Hoffman, Julia Roberts (shudder) and Steven Spielberg team up, it's more horrible than it is whimsical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    here's something to chew on: what influenced Spielberg to take the bait for one of the worst films of 1991?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    Spielberg has lost his touch on this film. One of the only Spielberg movies I didn't really like. It's TOO whimsical, too many JOYOUS, AMAZING things happening. Steven needs to bring the characters to a little bit more reality, make the characters believable. Spielberg still rules!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    Do you believe in fairies? Not me! My friends and I had a Spielberg movie fest with everything except for 1941 because we knew it was bad, but I had never watched Hook and I thought it had to be good, but it's more of a disappointment. IF ANYONE WHO HASN'T SEEN HOOK, DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT WATCHING IT! The time I watched Hook was the most embarassing time of my life. If you do watch this movie, you better be 7 or under, trust me. If not, get gushy! My friends are starting to say, "Call that Spielberg? More like 'from the crictcally aclaimed director of BARNEY'!" or "Do you believe in faires?" In the case of this movie, no. NOT AT ALL, NOT ONE BIT, NOT EVER, I'll have you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great film overall.

    I have to admit at the beginning it was a bitt sluggish and some of the scenes with the Lost Boys drag on or are just insipid, but overall I love this movie. It inspires one's imagination, and compassion, and humanity. I recommend this to anyone with children, or anyone who is a fan of Peter Pan stories. Great addition to a classic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible!!!

    This movie was terrible. It is the only spielberg movie i hated! it was a waste of time and space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clap if you Believe

    I absolutely love Hook. It has been my favorite movie since I was little. I've always loved the story of Peter Pan, and I for one believe Neverland is a real place. Wanna go? Think a happy thought. Need to know how to get there? Well, second star to the right and straight on til morning. Do I recommend this movie to others? Yes I do. I also recommend the novel by James Barrie, and I recommend Finding Neverland. I got all misty eyed when I saw that Dustin Hoffman (the best Hook ever) made an appearance. Wow. Now go! Take a journey to Neverland with Dustin Hoffman, Robin Williams, and Julia Roberts. You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    One of Spielberg's funniest movies. The best Peter Pan based movie ever. Enough fantasy, action, comedy, and imagination to keep the whole family happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a cute family flim

    This movie has always been a favorite of mine I really dont know why but I think that fact that being able to fly and go to another world that doesnt have very many problems like the world we live in is kind of comforting. This movie is a great family flim and I encourage every one to watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Have To Fly, Have To Fight, Have To Crow, Have To Save Maggie Have To Save Jack... Hook is Back''

    I was Nine when Hook was released, i am now 19, and it is still one of my favourite movies, because, i was a child when it came out. Not many people liked Hook, but i still think it is great to watch because i was captivated when i was young. The film is an original concept asking, What if Peter Pan did grow up? It stuck true to the book, and even used some dialogue as a homage. We know Barrie had written the death of Capt Hook, but nitpickers say that he cant come back if hes dead, so why make Hook, well, Never land has 90 years to catch up with, as the book was based in 1904, so give 'em some leeway, he came back to seek his revenge. I still like the ideas that the production crew added to the story, changing an iron hook to steel, thus making it shiny and glissten, also the interchangable hooks, different hooks, tools etc could be added, like the spike for the chalk. Hooks wig, instead of natural hair was a comic touch, as was the odd couple of Hoffman and Hoskins As it was live-action, it seemed real to me, well, i was nine, and i remember asking my mum if Hook would come back after the croc had finnished him (as in the book, but just a different context) Anyway, i still like the movie, so im 19, but i like because i liked it when i was young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    Hook is an exciting family film but it is only a family film. There are some good action sequences but the plot in general does get a bit childish. Overall I think Dustin Hoffman makes this film what it is but the rest of the starry cast give good performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hook

    Peter Banning, formerly Peter Pan, (Robin Williams) is a middle aged workaholic whose children are kidnapped by Captain James Hook (Dustin Hoffman) in an attempt to bring Pan back so he can fight the ''war to end all wars''. This is a touching movie with lots of good sword-fight scenes based on Barrie's Peter Pan. About the inner child, love, and truth, Hook is a very family-based movie, one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2