Customer Reviews for

Horatio Hornblower - Collector's Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hornblower ROCKS!

    I read these books as a kid. I wish they'd make the rest of the books into movies. I have watched each episide a dozen times and introduced as many friends to the series and everyone loves it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoy

    I'm not big on movies that take place on the water, but this was worth watching.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wooden walls of England

    High adventure amongst the British fleet in the late 18th, early 19th century. Lots of good action and fun. A good collection of fun and games.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Loved the Horatio Movies!

    This movie series was everything I was looking for and more. I loved the story of this young man making his way through the british navy and found myself so caught up in the movie that I was cheering him on and worrying for him at the same time. Excellent movie and very well flim. There was nothing cheesy or fake about it. I Love the fact that the movie was flim on a real ship and the cameras were able to capture the reality of life on these ships, motion and all. Wonderful all around and I would recommend these movies to anyone looking for something inspirational, sexy, and fun all the way around.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Horatio is the best

    allways excellent production values, when you see these type of period pieces.
    ioan gruffudd was excellent, especially for a young actor at the time these were made.
    the supporting cast were also excellent.
    You can't miss in watching this at all

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Horatio Hornblower

    We actually found the series on video at our local library. We loved it so much that we bought the video set. Now that we have found it on DVD we will likely buy it again. If you are a history buff or like historical type stories this is one for you. It follows Horatio's career in the French Navy. You will find yourself cheering in places and sad in others. Our WHOLE family enjoyed the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Adventure on the high sees and a great hero!

    I don't like to write long reviews but my five stars speaks for itself. This was the most fun series I've watched in a long time. A great hero, beautiful photography, authenticity, and my only wish is that the series could have continued on as the books did. Ioan Gruffudd was perfect for the part. Definitely a series I'll watch over again and refer to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Trevor JH

    After reading the entire series, I found the DVD to be extremely on target, which is one of the biggest problems with books made into movies. My only regret is that they did not include many books from the series into the DVD. I would say they used two or three books to make the DVD. Overall I really enjoyed watching it as a follow up to the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect gift for your sailboating friends

    I bought this series as a Christmas gift for my husband, who had lived on a sailboat for eleven years. Apparently, the Hornblower books were quite popular with the "live aboard" crowd, along with many other historically accurate portrayals of sailing life. He was very happy with the accuracy of the series and we watched it several times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Really great!

    Enjoyed watching the entire series. Well written. Characters you can pull for and a perspective you come to appreciate. Would highly recommend you watch it. Thank heavens good scripts still exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2