Customer Reviews for

Hotel Rwanda

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it is for the children that we must teach love

Hotel Rwanda is a powerful movie about real circumstances that not only showed the worse of man but the best of man in Paul Russesagabina's compassion for his fellow countrymen. The tribal issues in Rwanda, and in Africa as a whole, are so deeply embedded that its firm...
Hotel Rwanda is a powerful movie about real circumstances that not only showed the worse of man but the best of man in Paul Russesagabina's compassion for his fellow countrymen. The tribal issues in Rwanda, and in Africa as a whole, are so deeply embedded that its firm grip on racial and political circumstances is beyond the scope of humane treatment. Hopefully, this movie opened up to the world that brutal and systematic destruction of cultures must not be tolerated. We need to embrace and teach respect and tolerance for all cultures, races and living things on Mother Earth. Otherwise, it is frightening to think that genocide and its incomprehensible suffering will happen again and again.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could've Been Better

It was a good movie, however I did not feel that it did justice to the amount of violence used by the Hutu's in the genocide. I have done a lot of reading on this subject, and felt that some of the necessary factors were left out of this story. Otherwise, I feel that ...
It was a good movie, however I did not feel that it did justice to the amount of violence used by the Hutu's in the genocide. I have done a lot of reading on this subject, and felt that some of the necessary factors were left out of this story. Otherwise, I feel that it was a good movie for those who have had no previous knowledge of the massacres in Rwanda. I hope that in the future we can prevent this from happening ever again....

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could've Been Better

    It was a good movie, however I did not feel that it did justice to the amount of violence used by the Hutu's in the genocide. I have done a lot of reading on this subject, and felt that some of the necessary factors were left out of this story. Otherwise, I feel that it was a good movie for those who have had no previous knowledge of the massacres in Rwanda. I hope that in the future we can prevent this from happening ever again....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it is for the children that we must teach love

    Hotel Rwanda is a powerful movie about real circumstances that not only showed the worse of man but the best of man in Paul Russesagabina's compassion for his fellow countrymen. The tribal issues in Rwanda, and in Africa as a whole, are so deeply embedded that its firm grip on racial and political circumstances is beyond the scope of humane treatment. Hopefully, this movie opened up to the world that brutal and systematic destruction of cultures must not be tolerated. We need to embrace and teach respect and tolerance for all cultures, races and living things on Mother Earth. Otherwise, it is frightening to think that genocide and its incomprehensible suffering will happen again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Execellent Movie Brings Moving Story To Life

    Movies are supposed to move you, make you act. If Hotel Rwanda was made during the despicable massacre of the Tutsis during the 1990s, everyone that watches this film would feel compelled to act. Don Cheadle magnificently takes the role of a hotel manager who attempts to shelter Tutsis who otherwise would have been brutally murdered. In doing so, despite being a Hutu, he risks his life. His courage touches all viewers as he risks his and his family's life again and again to make sure that as many as possible survive. Although a depressing film, it should be seen by everyone as a reminder to help those in the world who face genocide like this. The world should not stand by like they did in the Rwandan massacre and intervene to stop crimes against humanity whenever they can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The nature of man

    We've spent a lot of time looking at racism in the US. But this movie illustrates that people of all races will kill, rape, and rob. This movie is not for the faint of heart. A lot of violence. I wonder if we're degenerating as a world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    Paul Rusesibagina is a man who not only opened his doors to the Tutsi people, he opened his heart to them. He was a Hutu man and didn't follow the Hutu ways. Through the whole movie, Rusesibagina protects his family and friends by many ways. This movie is a must buy. I loved it and I'm sure you'll love it also. It's an inspiring movie that teaches you the bad side of people and yet it shows the amazing, heartwarming side of men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Excellent Movie

    Hotel Rwanda is an amazing movie that depicts the Rwandan Genocide of the early 1990's. The movie is inspiring and it sends a deeply powerful message of hope. I would recommend this great movie to anyone. Words cannot say how good it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A BEAUTIFUL, POWERFUL MOVIE

    Hotel Rwanda is a beautiful movie that did not get enough credit for what it truly did. Paul Rusesabagina was indeed a courageous man for the hellacious ride he went through to protect his people. Don Cheadle's performance as Paul is astounding and beyond compare to any others that try to match it. This film should have been nominated for a Best Picture Oscar and should have at least won one Academy Award but did not. An unfortuante circumstance indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Should Have Been a Best Picture Nominee

    This movie was so gripping. I was looking forward to this movie, as I've followed the genocide from the beginning (I was 12) and have watched the civil wars in the Democratic Republic of Congo with the same earnest. It's sad to see this area of the world come up on Doctors Without Borders Top 10 Most Underreported Stories each year. Don Cheadle gives a career-defining performance. The extras are so believable in their hatred that I cry at the amount of hatred that people can have. Joaquin Phoenix was perfect for the role of the renegade journalist. And the refugee flow at the end of the movie looks just like the photos I've seen over the years. Buy this DVD - you won't regret it. I can't wait to see the extra features - something I usually don't watch on a DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most Powerful Movie

    I saw Hotel Rwanda twice within a week's time. God bless Paul Russesagabina for what he did in 1994, and God bless Don Cheadle for his wonderful portrayal of Paul. This is a riveting, powerful movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INCREDIBLE!!

    This movie is a must buy!! It is one of the most moving movies I've ever seen in my life, and it's intensity never stops. Overall, this is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1