Customer Reviews for

House of Wax

Average Rating 3
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not too good

    The movie wasn't really anything. It wasn't scary, it wasn't funny. The acting was okay ... not so much, really. Like I said before, the movie wasn't really anything, it was a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Paris being killed was the only good part

    Really... that was about it... watching her die made me very happy.... the rest of the movie.... waste.... of.... time....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For some odd reason, I just don't fear wax

    When I saw the preview for this movie, I said to myself, 'you know it's going to be the worst movie ever, so DON'T go and see it. But of course I couldn't help myself, and to tell you the truth it wasn't as bad as it could have been. Though the acting is dismal, you're still able to get somewhat into the movie.Paris Hilton's performance was pretty good, and her death scene was awesome. In fact the gore and special effects might have been the best thing in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The “House of Wax” does deliver here.

    SCENERIO: It's pretty late and your kind of bored so you ask a close friend if they want to go and watch a horror movie, they suggest “House of Wax” and you’re slightly intrigued as to whether or not a certain jet-setting socialite can actually act. So you go along to the cinema, buy your overpriced popcorn and your regular coke despite having asked for diet and you settle down with your friend knowingly surrounded by couples to watch what you expect will be a pretty crappy movie...............As the credits role up instead of a frown on your face you end up with a smile. “House of Wax” is surprisingly watchable and it’s exceedingly creepy and horrific in many parts. The sheer grotesque images of human flesh-manufactured wax sculptures as well as the excruciating process of "wax manufacturing" evokes tingling chills down your spine that is hardly gratifying, yet these elements are sufficiently scary enough for a worthy "shriek". This movie had everything you could possibly want in a TEEN slasher horror film. Surely enough, "Wax’s" respect in the originality department is destitute, as its entire premise has been recycled and burned into wax many times over, almost mimicking exactly "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre". Yet despite its campy nature, clichéd material, and inept acting, there's enough to be said of this movie for delivering its fair share of spine-tingling terror and jaw-dropping carnage that makes for a fairly effective horror with some truly horrific elements. You will probably avoid this movie because of Paris Hilton but her acting is up to standard with the rest of the cast as well. If I could give you one reason to watch this movie it would be because it's scary, suspenseful and graphic if I could give you another reason it would be to laugh at the way Paris runs (like Tinkerbel on acid). “House of Wax” transcends the "teen slasher" genre and actually looms some chilling, gory horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coolest movie EVER!!!

    House of Wax is my favorite movie of all times. If you haven't watched it you should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    this movie is scary but also you want to keep watching it no matter how scary it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disapointing

    This the the type of movie u take ur girlfriend to see, Not a movie to be scared, i thought it would be but i got very disapointed.It was why to sterotypiacul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Paris Hilton. What more do I have to say?

    I don't care what anyone says. This movie is awful! EVERYONE in it is a horrible actor, not just Paris Hilton! Oh, and the gore's not that bad. So, don't rent it, definately don't buy it, and if you get it as a present, punch the person in the face and flush the disc down the toilet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY IMPRESSED

    I was very surprised after seeing this because it ended up being an awesome movie. I thought this was going to be very dumb, but this movie was full of surprises and there was plenty of violence. The ending of this movie is awesome, very creative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect 21st Century Horror Flick

    Far from disappointing the teenage fans who flock to new-age horror films, "House of Wax" has everything that its target audience would expect: a high-profile cast, relentless gore, and synthesized music. When I went to see the film the first time, I was so disgusted by the gore that I walked out just as Paris Hilton's character was being chased away from her tent. However, when I gave it a second chance and stuck it out for the duration of the entire feature, I realized that my first judgment was too hasty and critical. The film, while not fulfilling to picky classic horror fans, has its merits, and although I am a seasoned and somewhat desensitized horror buff, I found myself gripping the arms of my seat more than once while watching it. The film definitely has a fantastic set, some creative and dark music with a good motif to establish the tone of the film, and a coldly determined (if slightly cliché) killer. The gore was a little much for me, and it is DEFINITELY NOT for the weak of stomach (e.g. snipped Achilles' tendon, etc.)! However, those artistic audiences who appreciate some fine work with light and shadow, as well as those cosmopolitan audiences who like the bizarre camera work of Japanese thrillers, will enjoy many of the sequences in this film. It employs the same optical illusions established by light and color that many other horror films do to establish a menacing image for the predator and a desperate one for its prey (for reference, watch the 2004 remake of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" -- it does a spectacular job of this). The biggest turnoff for me was the fact that it was unoriginal and derivative, borrowing ideas and techniques from several other horror films. For example, a certain death sequence (which details I'll withhold for those who want to enjoy the surprises of the film for themselves) involving a tent and a campground just reeked of "Friday the 13th," a saga that I loathe. And the film's use of a warehouse littered with the belongings of past victims seemed to be a mashed composite of "Nightmare on Elm Street" and "Wrong Turn," the latter of which took many themes directly from "Deliverance." Finally, of course, I mention the obvious credit owed to the 1953 original "House of Wax," without which idea of encasing bodies in wax this film would have no horror premise. Despite all these derivations, though, I was fascinated by the history, secrets, and twists of the town, as well as an ending which is best described by the words "awesome" and "kick-a*s!" Overall, "House of Wax" is entertaining and thrilling -- perfect Friday night fun -- but it leaves some elements to be desired by horror aficionados.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1