BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

House on Haunted Hill

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie...bad ending

    This movie has always stood out in my mind for being a movie with a great build up to a huge let down. The reason I say that is because most of the film intense, scary, great gore, etc. Sounds good right? Well unfortunately the movie ends horribly in my opinion! I don't want to ruin it for those who want to see it, but it's was like they just didn't know how to end it and just through together this result instead of keeping pace and ending strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay.

    It was a good remake and ten times bloodier of course. good enough to watch but not to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gore/Psychological horror not what you expect

    When I first saw this movie I was nine years old, so you can imagine that my parents and I didn't wait to see the ending of this thriller at the movie theaters. Years passed by and I finally saw it on television. I was blown away! Since I was more mature I could handle the gore and except the insane atmosphere of the spooky house. This is probably one of the only remakes that I greatly enjoyed and certainly got scared out of my wits. The actors mainly focus on going down in the basement, which kind of seems cliche, but they act it as though they actually have a reason for it. Most slasher movies just have a cute girl go down there because she ''heard a noise.'' Also the digital CGI stuff isn't hokey at all, (surprisingly) but very eerie and haunting. TIP:Get the DVD if you want to know about the first film, by William Castle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So Amazing and Scary!

    This movie was sooo great! If you wanna scare the hell out of yourself, watch this movie alone, and in the dark with surround sound! It is fun to watch whenever but be prepared for a few sleepless nights and flashbacks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding Flick

    Head and shoulders above the ''other'' haunted house movie that was released in '99! I enjoyed the dialogue, the characters (especially Kattan), the musical scores (Marilyn Manson), and the horror scenes! I'm a die-hard horror buff, jaded by many years of ghost stories and horror flicks. But let me tell you, this movie gave even me the heeby-jeebies ... well, just slightly! A great deal of fun--I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Surprisingly Good

    I first saw this expecting an unintentionally funny gorefest, but I loved it! The gore generally serves an actual purpose, and the casting was offbeat but really effective. Check out Lisa Loeb and James Marsters in a hilarious scene towards the beginning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not The Haunting!!!

    Two haunted house movies came out the same year. The Haunting bad and House On Haunted Hill good. This one is a remake of the 1958 movie with Vincent Price. The film stars Geoffrey Rush in the price role in a wacky homage. Six strangers are invited to a haunted house. A doctor, a game show hostess, an ex baseball player and a buisness woman. My favorite charactor was Ali Larter as the beautiful young woman who poses as her boss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Extras on this movie are GREAT!!!!!

    For all you DVD lovers who like a lot of special features then you have to own this one. The first menu is great and the other two our even better. So what are you waiting for click the buy button now you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Find out More about William Castle

    If you liked this movie, see the original camp classic from 1958. And if you want to find out more about the producer/director of the original, check out Scare Tactic - The Life and Films of William Castle. A book available through barnes and noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1