BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Howl's Moving Castle

Average Rating 5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best

    To much fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    This has to be one of the best movies of all time! I laughed, cried... it hit all of my emotions. I just loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This was an amazing movie. I recommend it for all (young and old). This movie was very heart-warming and has a good over-all message to the viewers. This is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!

    I really, really like it! I have seen other moves by this director and this is my favorite by him! I read the book it was based on and it had some of the same things, but was so different! It's about a girl Sophie how is put under a spell by a witch and meets a wizard named Howl. If you love anime like me go see it! You woundn't be disapponted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    i loved this movie soooo much!^^ it rocks and its my fave animated...my fave movie EVER!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    howls' moving castle

    big fan of anime and love loved princess mononoke and enjoyed kiki's delivery service and have yet to see sprited away. This is about a girl who gets a spell that turn her old by a witch and thus meets the myserious and handsome wizard Howl. I was very surprised that christan bale was in it and thought he did a great job. yet again the color and graphics were amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie was really great. I had to watch it watch it about ten times to get over it but I just didn't. Even my sister loved this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE this movie!!!!

    I didn't think that I'd like this movie. In fact I avoided it! Finally, my brother convinced me to watch it. I watched it 5 times over the next 4 days! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    love this movie

    its one of the best i have ever watched!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved IT !!!!!

    I saw Howl's moving castle being advertised on cable but I didn't know what it was.After seeing the DVD in a store I folded and decided to watch it.It was worth it!It had moments you ddn't see coming but were glad to watch.I have also seen Spirited Away but didn't like it anywhere near as much as I like Howl. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good, Miyazaki has outdone himself again.

    i've been watching Miyazaki films since i was little. im 17 now, and i took my girlfriend to watch Howl's Moving Castle in the theatre when it was released, we both loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, great book

    I admit, I love the plot and story line of the book best, but, as long as you watch the movie separate from the book, I think it's wonderful. Both are wonderful storytellers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!

    This is one of the best movies ever! Miyazaki is a great director, you should watch this right now! The story line is good but I needed to watch it twice to understand it fully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gorgeous! Miyazaki's done it again

    Such a gorgeous film about love and life. I've spent many nights curled up with a hot drink and this movie. One of Hayo's best in my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing after reading the book

    I understand the need to make changes when you adapt a text for a screenplay, but Miyazaki took it way too far. He adds an incredibly lame anti-war plot line that is so vague and lacking in substance that it only serves to be confusing. Add to that the lack of follow-through on legitimate storyline (from the book) and you wind up with a confusing, albeit beautiful, mess. Not nearly as good as his original story Spirited Away. He should leave other artists alone if he can't help corrupting their work in such a self-indulgent fashion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved Howl and Sophie

    Howls moving Castle was a great movie. I found the plot amazing. I'm hoping for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must have movie!!!!!

    When I first saw Howl's Moving Castle I thought it was funny and awesome to watch. If I bought it I would watch it over and over again. You must see this movie now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ariel's review

    Outstanding! Hayao Miyazaki at his best! "Howl's Moving Castle is magical, heartwarming, and so imaginative." True love lies beneath the heart. Sophie and Howl truly shared a special connection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    POSSIBLY THE BEST MOVIE EVER

    I bought this disk as soon as I saw the words Hayao Miyuzaki. It was possibly the best movie I've ever seen. Miyuzaki outdid himself on this movie. I loved how it got right into the story as soon as it started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies ever!!

    The frist Hayao Miyazki movie I ever seen was Princess Mononoke, but now I dont know which one I like better! This movie was so great I watch it about 10 times. I love anime and fantasy of all kinds.So this movie is a must see if you like fanatsy or anime. Hayao Miyaki is a great director! So please see this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8