Customer Reviews for

Hulk

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great!

To me, Hulk is one of the greatest Marvel-Comic characters to hit the big screen. The film was great. It was quite creative how they made many scenes like the pages of comic books. In this film unlike many others, we can understand who these characters are and why they ...
To me, Hulk is one of the greatest Marvel-Comic characters to hit the big screen. The film was great. It was quite creative how they made many scenes like the pages of comic books. In this film unlike many others, we can understand who these characters are and why they are the way they are. Also, the visuals are great. If you don't know, Hulk was the worst performing film that was based on a marvel-comic superhero. It is not considered a sucess compared to the films that came before it. But who cares about that. In this film adaptation, he is made out into a monster movie rather than a superhero film. He does perform some heroic acts in the film. But for the most part, this is a monster film. But that is not a bad thing. This movie had a great storyline and great acting also. It had great visual effects so good, I almost thought that it was a real person. I believe that this movie is a lot better than Spider-Man or X-Men. We learn a lot about the green giant that we don't learn from other characters. However, the running time of the movie is longer than any comic book based movie since Superman in 1978. That probably angered some people. But for the very most part, Hulk is so much better than it looks. Ang Lee does a great job in showing what the characters in this movie actually think. I recommend that this movie be seen by all.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So Fake!

I am a big HULK fan, but when I saw this movie I was dissapointed! The plot takes forever to build up, The story leads on and on as if it were lost, and The HULK was the most dissapointing! He looked like Shrek on staroids! Bad film! Stick to the original TV Show!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    lame

    I didnt like this movie. CGI looked great story was long and dragged. if you do watch it be ready to hit fast forward alot...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ending was horrible but

    I liked this new take on the Hulk. At least they made him capable of the fantastic feats in the comic unlike the TV show. The story needed to be updated regarding the origin since the original was tied to the testing of weapons during the time of the war/cold war. DNA mutations/manipulations are alot more interesting, although the origin story from the TV show was actually pretty good. They are working on another Hulk movie with a different director- we'll see how that turns out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh, Common!

    All right, yes the story is terrible, there is barely anything with the HULK but Common! The effects are amazing (except for the dogs. I hate to knock on ILM but, they could have done better) and the action sequences are very exceptional. besides, who ever said the film had to have plot and character development to just be fun! Give it a break, and enjoy this thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Terrible

    I went into this movie thinking it would be so great, but it sucked. I didn't get half of what was going on! Even if I did get what was going on, it was still completely boring. I hope they do not make a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst of the Marvel movies

    This was a horrible adaptation of the comic book. The story of his becoming the Hulk was drug on forever, and had very little action. I was also disapointed not to see his fighting more of his enemies like Wendigo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So Fake!

    I am a big HULK fan, but when I saw this movie I was dissapointed! The plot takes forever to build up, The story leads on and on as if it were lost, and The HULK was the most dissapointing! He looked like Shrek on staroids! Bad film! Stick to the original TV Show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    To me, Hulk is one of the greatest Marvel-Comic characters to hit the big screen. The film was great. It was quite creative how they made many scenes like the pages of comic books. In this film unlike many others, we can understand who these characters are and why they are the way they are. Also, the visuals are great. If you don't know, Hulk was the worst performing film that was based on a marvel-comic superhero. It is not considered a sucess compared to the films that came before it. But who cares about that. In this film adaptation, he is made out into a monster movie rather than a superhero film. He does perform some heroic acts in the film. But for the most part, this is a monster film. But that is not a bad thing. This movie had a great storyline and great acting also. It had great visual effects so good, I almost thought that it was a real person. I believe that this movie is a lot better than Spider-Man or X-Men. We learn a lot about the green giant that we don't learn from other characters. However, the running time of the movie is longer than any comic book based movie since Superman in 1978. That probably angered some people. But for the very most part, Hulk is so much better than it looks. Ang Lee does a great job in showing what the characters in this movie actually think. I recommend that this movie be seen by all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extremely Wonderful

    This version is the best Hulk presentation I have ever seen. This movie has been under-rated, that is why we should not go by what the official critics think. The premise, transformation, and the action was so realistic. I give this movie two thumbs up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    completely underrated

    I thought this was a great movie. It was beautifully done and nice to see Ang Lee's sensibilities brought to a superhero film. I also enjoyed how the film progressed through smaller windows, sometimes simultaneously, giving the viewer a feeling of a comic book being brought to life. I think this movie got a couple of bad reviews when it opened, for whatever reason, and those had a snowball effect on some viewers' experience of the film. However, I think that if you watch it with an open mind there is really little to complain about here, and much to applaud. I also should mention that Jennifer Connelly's beauty is completely & inexplicably mesmerizing in this movie. I would highly recommend this film.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    I was never a hulk fan but I saw a documentary on TV so I decided to see the movie. After I saw it I was amazed. The split screen technique and transitions made it look and feel like a comic book. The visual effects are amazing and the acting makes this movie probably the most belieavable of all comic book movies. This is how comic to movie adaptng should be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Keen on Green

    I missed this in the theaters so was looking forward to it on DVD. Leave it to Ang Lee to take on another genre and nail it. I watched this twice the first night I rented it and bought it a week later. It loses nothing with multiple viewings. Like X-Men, director Lee made outstanding casting choices which raises this above standard super-hero fare and turns it into a brilliant, albeit dark, character study. Jennifer Connelly (who not only turns in a wonderful performance but is absolutely stunning!), Sam Elliot and especially Nick Nolte all turn in Oscar worthy performances. I think the bad box office killed any award possibilities which usually are heaped upon most of Lee's films. Eric Bana is the one weak cast member, but his awkward speech patterns (I think he's Australian) fit okay into the nerdy and stunted personality of his character. The Hulk effects range between excellent and so-so, but the star of The Hulk is the story not the FX. This movie uses the focal point of the father/son relationship of Superman the Movie (still the best superhero epic) and turns it on its ear. Where Clark Kent had his brilliant loving Kryptonian Father, Jor-el and equally loving and caring Jonathan Kent on earth, to David Banner poor Bruce is nothing more than an experiment gone wrong, a failed research project to dissect and study. Chilling.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Comic book movie fan.

    If you like comic book movies this one is just fine. It is a little long but the special effects more than make up for it! I think the sequal will be better if they make one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hulk Smashes Onto DVD!

    I saw this movie with my sister in theatre and I have to say, I enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to hopefully getting it for Christmas. But, I have to say, you must really pay attention to the beginning or you'll be lost the rest of the way through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best marvel comic movie

    I SAW THIS MOVIE AND I LOVE IT AND MY MOM THINKS IT BAD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Underrated

    I may just be the exception to the rule, but I thought Lee's restraint in directing made the movie- that is it wasn't just 2 hours of daring-do and smashing the bad guys, he developed characters and gave them reasons for their actions. Pretentious? Sure. But a lot more fun than movies that present action without context.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2