BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Am Legend

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    It turned out to be a lot better than I thought it would. The thing I didn't like was the ending but the rest of the movie was amazing. I would recommend this movie to any teen and adult.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I am Legend

    I really like this. It fits with the moral- don't mess with God's creation, because you can't know how it will turn out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alone at the bottom of the food chain,

    Usually I will read the book first but in this case seeing the trailer being played over and over stimulated my curiosity to the point of no return. Being a New Yorker made the whole experience really fun and interesting; recognizing sights I pass on my way to work every day with an eerie feeling of abandonment was something totally different. I would often think in my head about how crowded it gets and how I wish people would just go away but seeing it all empty and overgrowing with grass like a wild safari was worse than I could have imagined. I guess its better the way it is than suffering eternity alone the same way Robert Neville has. <BR/><BR/>Alone except for the companionship of Samantha, the loyal German Shepherd, Neville is hunting wild deer and gathering food growing amok through the city while punctually seeking shelter as soon as the day light ends. When darkness approaches so do the mutated bodies that were once human but now reduced to vampire like creatures who savagely will hunt and devour any living creature. His only mission left is finding the cure than can turn the beasts back into the living before he goes mad form being alone. Things start going wrong when Neville stops being the hunter and starts becoming the hunted, the dark alleys that look ominous contain something that is keen ob bringing him down. His daily routing gets disturbed and he can no longer live peacefully with the hopes of one day saving everyone, he needs to find the cure fast or he too will succumb to the dire fate that all others have met. <BR/><BR/>Visually stunning the movies makes you care for Neville, who was very well portrayed by Smith. He was alone but not overly distressed or crazed, he exercised, rented videos, cooked, watched Shrek and tried to stay as close to being sane as possible. The scary parts made me jump and yell at the TV the same way guys do when they watch sports but overall it was a fun and wild experience and it really made me want to read the book to see what the original idea for this story was. I wish there was less CG effects these days but so many movies are full of them that one can't not see them for just this one reason. Other than that this was a real blast and I will want to see it again soon. <BR/><BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WILL SMITH: SUPERB

    Mr. Smith's role is superb, one of the most powerful movies he's made, gripping, gives you something to think about, you will laugh, cry, hope and dream, you will cheer, love and believe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Possibly the saddest movie I have ever seen....

    I actually cried during this movie, and, for those who know me, that's really saying a lot. I mean, the movie gives such a feeling of hopelessness and inevitability and yet, you can't help rooting for the main character. If the movie was made in able to leave the audience with a certain mix of feelings, then it most definitely succeeded. It's almost depressing, and yet, thought provoking. Funny, but in a dark kind of comedic way. Suspenseful, and yet, there really isn't that much action. It was frightening, yet heart-warming. Disturbing and adorable. Although not a movie you could watch over and over again, it was beautifully crafted, a story weaved with many different emotions. I think it was very well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    review

    it was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    good movie

    good movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    :(

    the story made me sad, but its the one of my most fave movie... the ending is so heartbreaking...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    I AM LEGEND

    The movie I am legend is the saddest,coolest moive i have ever seen.Will Smith is a great actor in this movie.Everyone is infected eexcept for him and some other people.The infected people try to kill him and his loyal dog.Later other people who are not infected come and find him because of his message on th radio.He is trying to find a cure for the disease thaat has spread through the city.His family dies and he is depressed about it.i would recomind this movie to anyone over forteen.I AM LEGEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "i Am Legend" 2 disc special edition DVD

    I was a little disapointed after buying this. The DVD case has been chipped a little and so was one of the plastic DVD holders insinde the case. Other wise the DVD's played Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't Somebody Do This Right?

    Upon the third attempt at adapting this novel to the big screen, I'm once again let down. Things move along smoothly for I Am Legend. The atmosphere isn't quite as spooky as it could've been, but we get a good sense of Neville's desolate New York City and his means of gathering food and just plain old passing time. And as the suspense builds to where we finally find out what's lurking in the darkness, we are sucker-punched by the very first sight of the infected, but in the worst possible way! I don't know who designed the CG creatures of this film, but he/she shouldn't be allowed out of their room for a long time. The infected looked absurd! If you are easily thrown by horrible effects, you might wanna avoid this baby. I had really a nice sense of dread coarsing through me. I mean, I was really buying this flick, right up to the point they unleashed the silliest looking bad guys of the last 20 years. And it was at that very moment, they completely lost me. I no longer bought it, which really bummed me out. So, buyer beware with this movie cause you get what you pay for...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i am legend

    this was interesting and pretty good till i guess the other half of the movie which was a little sad and disappointing. see the movie for yourself then you'll know what i'm talking about. this is about a guy and his dog and a world that's supposedly empty with vampire looking ish zombies. and i was actually surprised that will smith did a pretty good job and love the dog too. and never heard of the omega man or the books that its based on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am Amazed

    This movie was excellent. It had fantastic visual effects, wonderful acting, and a really cool plot. It was very intense, without being graphic. Note to fans: the book is very different from the movie. It is still really good, but different nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Suspenseful but disappointing

    "I Am Legend" was very suspenseful. I was ready to run from the room at any moment. Then I just started getting disappointed at how the movie was progressing. I agree that the ending was mearly the tying up of a loose end. I also agree that the pup played a vital role. To its credit, the movie did touch on the importance of the connection we humans have with pups. In fact, it was obvious that for 3 1/2 years, it was the pup that helped him keep his sanity! Will Smith did some very good acting and made me feel for him on many occassions. He's come a very long way as an actor. However, all in all, the movie just left me feeling hollow. There were too many gaps and questions for the audience to piece together on its own regarding the storyline and the overall essense of the movie. Is this really the direction of humankind in some form or another?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am Underwhelmed

    It was alright. Will Smith was obviously smokin' hot. The fact that he can do a backwards pull-up is super impressive. The movie was very suspenseful and had great action. The story line was lacking. Which is quite dissapointing since it is based off of a novel. The ending was flat and there was not enough contact with the human/monster people. It is worth seeing if you like Will Smith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie, Better Book

    For those who have read the novel that inspired it all by Richard Matheson, you probably agree that the book smashes the movie. I left the theatre somewhat angry, but it's my fault for comparing them. There are a decent amount of alterations in the film that might not bother everyone, but they were noticed. If you separate them as two different stories, the movie is fantastic. Also, if you have seen the other attempts at recreating the book (Vincent Price's The Last Man On Earth, Charleton Heston's The Omega Man..) you will agree this wins hands down. Whether you've read the book or not, I highly recommend this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    flawed but half good

    I am responding partly because of the previous review saying it was better than There Will Be Blood. I am Legend is an interesting movie and the first two thirds or so are riveting. Will Smith's performance is brave and nuanced and the tension is superb. However, the ending (without saying what happens) is so contrived and feels so manipulated that it exhausts all good will the movie had built up. It would be interesting to read the first incarnations of the screenplay and hear a commentary about how things change. Just knowing that there is a radically different ending presented on the disc (I have seen it. It's okay, but still out of character from the rest of the film) makes one wonder how many ways they considered ending the film. Almost anything else would have been better. So, I can't say it is awful. Just hit stop when you can tell the last act has begun and make up your own ending. Or read the novel, whose ending is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than The Book, It's LEGENDARY

    I Am Legend is the best. I have been looking at these reviews here and laughing to myself. This movie is great and you should buy it immeadiately and YES it is better than There Will Be Blood. There Will Be Blood had way too much of an agenda for me. And Daniel Day Lewis is too much of a ham. Will Smith turns in a grounded, down-to-earth, heavy, weighted, substansial performance that left me thinking for days. The zombies are way scarier in the movie than they are in the book and for all the whiners that liked the book SO MUCH there's an alternate ending that finishes just like the book did. I don't know what the big deal is. A zombie is way scarier when I can see it than when I have to think about what it looks like in my head. So buy this movie. P.S. The Shrek scene is hilarious, you'll know what I mean when you see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pretty solid but disappointing overall

    I was looking forward to this back in December and was let down by about half the movie. The first half is very good, Will smith shows his versatility as an actor and carries movie with his growing insanity and touching moments with the dog, but once the darkseekers are introduced, the film drags with lousy special effects and improbable moments. I am interested in the alternate ending on the dvd so I'll rent it at some point, but this is not one I will be adding to my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DID THE ACADEMY MISS THIS ONE!

    Take the best elements of night of the living dead, andromeda strain, escape from new york, day after tomorrow and mix in awesome special effects, heart-stopping editing, smith's best dramatic effort, and top it all off with the most loveable animal actor in history and you have a movie that makes "no country" and "there will be blood" pppppaaaaalllllleeee by comparison... Saw it big screen 2nd day of release in december and waited breathlessly for dvd release...I got mine reserved...How 'bout you???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4