Customer Reviews for

I Heart Huckabees

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I enjoyed it

    I Heart Huckabees is very different from the usual movie experience, and especially for comedies. I thought it was (or could have been?) brilliant in some ways. The story is too fragmented, and complex to break it down, but it is basically about a young guy (Jason Schwartzman) whose life is in a collapse, yet what he is hung up most about is a chance encounter (three times) with a guy - so he hires two existential detectives (Lily Tomlin, Dustin Hoffman, both hilarious) to investigate the matter. The dialogue is not easy to follow, and I am pretty sure I missed out on a lot of things on first watch - so you might want to watch it more than once. Or you might not. The complexity can get tiring, I personally enjoyed it.
    I guess the most important thing is to bring your sense of humor with you while watching it. Although it could be taken deadly seriously, don`t do that.
    On an added note, I absolutely loved Mark Wahlberg in this movie. All the actors were great, but he was hilarious. And frankly, I think comic roles suit him better.
    I recommed this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Suprisingly Good Film

    I remember a few years back then this movie was out in theatres, back in 2004. At the time however, I was still quite young and I wouldn't assume I would understand the concept of "I Heart Huckabees." Recently, I came across it again after discovering that a younger Jason Schwartzman had one of the title roles. I'll be honest, though. When I first saw the movie for the first time, I was not so impressed. The plot was unclear, and didn't seem to have any sort of true meaning behind it. However, what I then learned is that "I Heart Huckabees" is a film you have to watch more than once to actually somewhat understand the meaning behind it. By the time I decided to give the movie another chance, I watched it again, and I liked it more. It has a mix of comedy, which definitely made the film easier and more relaxing to watch. There is plenty of overanalyzation in it, but it keeps you paying attention and helps one find the philosophy of life. I would highly recommend the movie to anyone who needs to get their mind off of something, or to simply find a relaxing movie to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sophomoric Slump

    This film is a mess. My hopes were high for a screwball take on the monster complexity and manic absurdity of modern life. But there were too many thinly drawn characters, half-explored themes, and not enough story. At the showing I went to, about half of the 100 or so audience members walked out. I hung in there -- in large part because of the trust I have that this director is genuinely trying to make challenging work and therefore takes risks -- but, sadly, my endurance was not rewarded and the risk taken by the director did not pay off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    The combination of the bombarding diologue and the talent of the cast make this film a bit tiring on the first viewing. The characters are all charm and quirk, and give the film a good whimsical feel which is important in tackling a heavy subject such as existentialism. The most important aspect however is I Heart Huckabees' ability to make the audience not only identify with the existential struggles of the characters, but also to laugh at the drama of life. Repeated viewings are reccomended to get the most from the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I see that “I Heart the Huckabees” is meant for a selective audience.

    This movie is obviously not for everyone. It's not a comedy that you just put in and sit back and be shut down the old cranium for an hour and half. Nope, instead you get the muscle a-cranking. Huckabees requires you to really pay attention and think and take everything in. This film explores several questions mainly dealing with the connection between one person and to the heart, soul, and body of every other thing in existence in an ever-changing world. This film is a big orgy of questioning. And who doesn't like questioning? This film, in its own right, is very original and thought provoking that goes above and beyond any form of typicality of films. ”Huckabees” offers us an impressive cast with Dustin Hoffman, Lily Tomlin, Jason Schwartzman, Jude Law, Mark Wahlberg, and Naomi Watts. Most notable performances by, namely, Dustin Hoffman as it's nice to see him in an exceptional role. He hasn't really been given a great script and chance to portray a great character since probably 1997's “Wag the Dog.” It's very nice to see Hoffman play a great character, as Bernard, the quirky husband half of the existential detectives. Also, most notable is the performance of Mark Wahlberg, as Tommy Corn, another client of the detectives that befriends Albert. Tommy is a fire fighter who has his own environmental concerns as he refuses to ride on the fire truck and rather, rides a bike to the fire saying, "We'd all be heroes if we stopped using petroleum." Mark Wahlberg is hilarious in this movie and has his best performance since probably "Boogie Nights" and "Three Kings." However, this movie is much more of an ensemble performance than anything else. The ensemble's performance in this film is terrific and the chemistry between each character is flawless. The most credit to this movie goes to writer/director David O. Russell. Russell has obviously something going on up there in the cabeza to extract such a story. But the story is amazingly written. The script is out of the ordinary yet genius and comes out as one of the most intelligent films out there and hilarious at that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful

    An amazing movie to watch, especially when you're feeling down about something. It's humorous and insightful. It keeps your interest and is delightfully over the top, but not so much that it gets annoying. WHY IS IT SO EXPENSIVE?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not an ordinary movie

    this movie was weird, funny, and interesting all at the same time. this was a good movie but a little different for my taste, but i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I heart Huckabees alot!

    Full of quick sharp humor that just rolls off the tongue, this beautiful film has made us realize that our problems are nothing but an answer to someone elses problem. Four stars, because this film is a movie you have to keep on track and pay very close attention, but it kept me going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intelligent, but off the wall

    I had no idea what to expect with this movie. I was a bit stunned throughout. It is funny, and intelligent, but also bizarre. The ending did tie things together quite well. Several moments in the movie, taken by themselves, are hilarious. There were some unnecessary cuss words that I hope my children didn't hear. There is also a strange sexual scene that I hope my children didn't see. I would recommend this movie if you are in the mood for something off the wall strange but funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A brilliant original comedy

    I had read a lot of mediocre reviews of "Huckabees" before I had the chance to view it, most critics complaining that the characters were too distant, that the film seemed disconnected from the audience. I was really surprised by how much I relished every minute of this movie, with perfectly pitched performances all around. I've never seen a film that so boldly rode the line between bizarrely hilarious humor and philisophical depth. Perhaps not quite the best film of 2004 (that would be Million Dollar Baby), but certainly the most strikingly original. Very highly recommended for movie-goers with a sense of adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    highly recommend

    This was one of my favorite movies this year! I saw it in a sold out theatre and everyone was laughing their butts off. It is very funny but also thought provoking and deep. It is both quirky and very real~ just the kind of intelligent movie that you leave feeling satisfied with, I absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular

    'I <3 Huckabees'provides laughs upon laughs, but it's not just a comedy. It's also an existential/nihilistic look into all of our lives, so if you're looking for a film that will make you think, while at the same time you're wetting yourself from laughing too hard...then this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    At first, through out the movie...you just sit there wondering "what?", but during the end...EVERYTHING COMES TOGETHER in a beautiful swirl of understanding and it really makes you question your existence in the universe and its inner-connectivity. Brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    A great film with an all-star cast like Jude Law, Naomi Watts, Dustin Hoffman, and Lily Tomlin. One of the funniest romantic comedies I've seen all year. It had spunk, realism, sex, and just plain fun. I Heart this movie for all its joy and laughter it will bring you when you see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1