Customer Reviews for

Independence Day

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed...not the Special Edition

    I bought this Blu-Ray disc the other day, brought it home, threw it in the ol' BD player, and was quickly disappointed. Why would 20th Century Fox go to the trouble of putting this movie on Blu-Ray and only include the theatrical version? My standard-definition disc set includes the theatrical version PLUS the special edition with the deleted scenes left in. I am accustomed to seeing the movie with those scenes included, so when I watched my Blu-Ray version for the first time, it felt like I was watching an "edited for television" version. I want my money back for this Blu-Ray disc, and 20th Century Fox should re-issue with both versions on the disc. After all, there's PLENTY of room on a Blu-Ray for multiple versions!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    what a good movie I enjoying it

    what a good movie I enjoying it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic! A Must Have On Blue Ray!

    I remember the first time I saw this in the theatres. I was in early high school, if I'm not mistaken. My dad took my brother & I to see it, and a real good friend of mine happened to be seeing it with his mom at the exact same time, so that was pretty cool...and I remember that we were all just blown away by this movie. This is definitely on my list of greatest sci fi movies every, along with a whole host of others! I just acquired this on blue ray pretty recently, and even though I still dont have a high def TV yet, even on a regular TV...this definitely looks better than my DVD version, which I actually sold after acquiring the blue ray. Sound wise, I don't think I've heard it even this good since I saw it in the theatre. My surround sound system isn't the most state of the art though, so it still wasn't quite theatre quality, but it still sounded pretty awesome. I am working toward acquiring a high def TV right now, and eventually maybe a better surround sound system...perhaps digital with a higher wattage...and then I'd be set! But yeah, this is definitely one of my favorite sci fi movies of all time, and among some of my first choices to upgrade to Blue Ray. If you've never seen this movie, (if you haven't...for shame), you should definitely see it, and for those of you like me upgrading to high def and all that, this is definitely a must own on blue ray...for sure! Go pick it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great entertainment

    Great entertainment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't be a butt.

    Oh whatever, pull your head out of your butt. This movie was a un experience. It may not have been the brightest, but atleast it was fun. That's all I ask for when I go to the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Starring Jeff Goldblum!" We're in Trouble Now...

    Whether it's Judd Hirsch's unfunny roll as a Jewish stereotype or the nonsensical plot, this movie is the epitome of a classic Hollywood blockbuster; all brawn and no brains. How can Jeff Goldblum program a computer virus on his Apple Powerbook to infect a species with technology and software completely unknown to humanity? The visuals are mildly entertaining, but like so many modern movies, this one uses special effects as a crutch rather than an aid. On the bright side, this movie never spawned a sequel, so at least there's that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I can still remember my friends mom jump and scream at one of the parts haha

    cool movie at the time. still good for now too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Movie

    I have to agree with the other reviews the special effects were awesome, but the storyline could have been enhanced. There was not enough focus on the aliens as what planet they were from and why they hated our planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Special effects movie

    I agree with those who gave it a more realistic review. The story takes a back seat to the visuals. It is impressive to watch the alien ships blow up the White House and it is very realistic. Seeing the massive ships come out of the clouds is downright freaky so I admit that the effects are worth the experience itself. Having said that, they had almost no interaction with the creatures and we are to just go on the idea that they must be evil and we need to destroy them. Needed more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    On the "Love" end of this "Love/Hate" movie

    Special effects. Those two words alone were enough to attract the crowds to this very movie, full of high-powered action and thirlling suspense. This move alone made over $300 million in the box office, which puts it up there with some of the very best movies, and it won an Oscar to boot. Whether or not the acting and script was questionable is certainly debatable, considering I do agree the script could have used some work in all but one part (the speech President Whitmore gives before the climactic final stanza is the most perfect piece of dialogue I've ever heard in a movie, and I've heard George C. Scott's speech in "Patton.") Whether or not this movie tickled your fancy, you must give this movie its due. It is still one of the greatest movies in the past twenty years, and will always be one of the very best sci-fi flicks ever to hit the silver screen. I sincerely hope all you disbelievers and nay-sayers will hopefully learn to enjoy this movie, or kindly keep their scornful opinions down to constructive criticism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dollar for dollar, worst movie ever

    If you consider how much money was spent on this movie, it has to be regarded as just about the worst ever. Just like in most, if not all of Roland Emmerich's movies, too much money was spent on special effects and not enough money was spent on hiring a writer that can deliever a decent, believable, non-cliche-ridden script. I would have been happy with less impressive special effects if there wasn't a script with plot holes so big you could pilot a fifteen-mile wide spacecraft through them. The acting and overall plot were decent, but the characters and the dialogue was downright laughable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OK Sci Fi for general audience

    The special effects are groundbreaking for the time the movie was made. The aliens are scary and believeable. The really spectacular part of the movie was Vivica Fox. She is magnificent. Her hind quarters were in full view, splendid junk in the trunk. Will smith is as always terrible, still re-hashing his Fresh prince garbage, still making the same jokes and inane faces from that TV show. He needs to totally deconstruct himself and rid his psyche of all that has come before. It is very lame to keep recycling the fresh prince in every movie he makes. All I need to do is delve back down into the great ending one more time and I am spent. Thanks Vivica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    barry....a sci-fi movie lover

    This movie was good in many ways but what kept it from being great was having Will Smith's character trying to be funny in a movie that should be serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best!

    The movie was thought provoking to those in this world who remain narrow minded. It was a great movie that erased the stereotype that a sci-fi must be wierd and twisted. The movie displayed a great combination of action, adventure, and also provided enough storyline backbone to support it. The characters were likable except for David's boss. The movie was believable. One of the best movies of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie of ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The movie starts out with a beuatful summer day! Everything is well. But all of a sudden, Giant city sized space ships cover all the major cities of the world! The president dosen't know what to do? All evewryone can hope is that the aliens aren't hostile!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    really good

    it was cool i liked it and very good graphic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie, just get the facts right!

    This was a great movie! I own it in both VHS and DVD format because I love to watch it over and over. Only one problem... Reading the B&N Review they refer to Will Smith's Character as an Army Pilot. He was not. He was a United States Marine Corps Jet Pilot stationed at El Toro Air Station (now retired and being made into a shopping mall) Sorry guys... Get your facts right, it matters because the Army DOESN'T have fighter jet pilots like that. Their jets are TOTALLY different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    Good Movie

    It was a good movie,but had to many cuss words.It was at some points scary,but cool. The aliens and the ships looked real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3