Customer Reviews for

Inglourious Basterds

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the most unforgettable movies you'll ever see.

I first saw Inglourious Basterds in theaters with low expectations. I walked out with my jaw dropped. This really is a cinematic gem, it's right up there with Pulp Fiction (which I think it surpasses), Goodfellas, Dr. Strangelove, or any other comedies. Without any majo...
I first saw Inglourious Basterds in theaters with low expectations. I walked out with my jaw dropped. This really is a cinematic gem, it's right up there with Pulp Fiction (which I think it surpasses), Goodfellas, Dr. Strangelove, or any other comedies. Without any major spoilers, the plot: Set in WW2 France, a group of "bastards" or American jews are getting there revenge for the Nazis. the OTHER plot, much like Pulp Fiction, is about a women seeking her own personal revenge against the Nazis for what they've taken from her. The women's plot and the bastards plot slowly builds more connections and suspense with each other throughout the film until you just can't take it anymore and it all blows up in your face. For the Blu ray itself it has 5/5 video (scenes are gorgeous) and crystal 5/5 audio, you get tons of extras like digital copy and funny behind the scenes/deleted scenes. I do warn you of two things, this is NOT an action movie don't buy it and expect some plotless CGI fest. Second, the violence in this movie can be pretty brutal, it's quick, but what you see is pretty harsh...other then that 5/5, great movie.

posted by bb328 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gloriously hilarious!

Quentin Tarantino is considered by a lot of people to be one of the most talented directors/writers of our age I'm inclined to agree. This is the fourth film I've seen by him and with each one I see it further cements this belief. What's fantastic about his films is the...
Quentin Tarantino is considered by a lot of people to be one of the most talented directors/writers of our age I'm inclined to agree. This is the fourth film I've seen by him and with each one I see it further cements this belief. What's fantastic about his films is they have replay value, something very rare in our days of Mass Market Special Effects Powerhouses and Shoot em' up thrillers. For instance you might say want to watch one of the films in Michael Bay's "Transformers" franchise maybe Twice. You know once in the Theater maybe once later when it's out on DVD something like that. Tarantino's films are the films that you see three times in the Theater and countless more once they're out on DVD absolutely fantastic stuff they hold your attention very well unlike most any other movies out there. What amazes me is his ability to build tension with dialogue, most films build tension with chase scenes where the hero barely escapes, a common motif in Tarantino films is for a long dialogue sequence in which the stakes are clearly escalating after practically every word delivered, I'm not aware of any other Filmmaker who can raise this much Tension with dialogue. The film also is suprisingly quite funny at times, I dont want to reveal any of the gags as there really very entertaining but be warned the film is fulled with Graphic Violence that is intended for humor's sake, now I'm the kind of person that isn't bothered by that, but nonetheless I know some people are so I warn you. Also I wont say how cause I dont want to spoil the story but if your a History Buff and only want to see this film cause you think it's a "period piece" dont as it changes key points of history, all for it's darkly humorous story but nonetheless it does so dont expect super realism just expect a rousingly entertaining film. So yeah, in conclusion this a fantastic film( I'm definately gonna be rewatching a lot of times for sure) for Older teens or Adults, highly recommended - CM

posted by dygunraider on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most unforgettable movies you'll ever see.

    I first saw Inglourious Basterds in theaters with low expectations. I walked out with my jaw dropped. This really is a cinematic gem, it's right up there with Pulp Fiction (which I think it surpasses), Goodfellas, Dr. Strangelove, or any other comedies. Without any major spoilers, the plot: Set in WW2 France, a group of "bastards" or American jews are getting there revenge for the Nazis. the OTHER plot, much like Pulp Fiction, is about a women seeking her own personal revenge against the Nazis for what they've taken from her. The women's plot and the bastards plot slowly builds more connections and suspense with each other throughout the film until you just can't take it anymore and it all blows up in your face. For the Blu ray itself it has 5/5 video (scenes are gorgeous) and crystal 5/5 audio, you get tons of extras like digital copy and funny behind the scenes/deleted scenes. I do warn you of two things, this is NOT an action movie don't buy it and expect some plotless CGI fest. Second, the violence in this movie can be pretty brutal, it's quick, but what you see is pretty harsh...other then that 5/5, great movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A superb "what-if" scenario!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! I haven't enjoyed a movie this much since The Dark Knight, which is in a completely different catagory than this film. This movie, like true art, you either love or you hate. And like real art, some people just don't appreciate it for what it is and miss the point entirely. It's not meant to be compared with actual history, but rather is meant to be a fun and creative "what-if" scenario. Only the open minded can truly appreciate this masterpiece. It's brutal and gory, funny and light, and made me laugh in all the right spots as well as some scenes not necassarily intended for humor. It was all very well done and I have nothing but praise for the brilliant Mr. Tarentino and his cast and crew. Dispite those who criticize his work, there are still plenty of us that "get" him. Among so many B movies and average remakes and sequels of mediocre quality that pollute our cinemas and waste our time and money as they, the film industries, seek a quick buck from an audiance desiring real quality, this film is what movies are supposed to be: audacious and bold. Filmmakers take notes and you'll find you profit more with better quality films, instead of half-heartedly throwing together something that has so much potential and deserves better (twilight for example).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cool, Alternate War Story By Tarrantino!

    I have always been a Tarrentino fan, and so when this hit the theatre, I had to go and see it! I rather enjoyed it. I was amazed at the fact that there wasn't a little more language in it though, because Tarrentino is often somewhat notorious for that, but rather...there were merely a few words slewn in here and there. It was a tad on the gory side in a few scenes, but gore never bothers me. One thing I like about Tarrentino's films is his use of dialogue. He focuses a lot on conversation, which is neat. It would be interesting to see how the world would be today, had the events in this movie actually taken place as they did. I love how Tarrentino placed Mike Meyers in the roll of that British colonel too. Too funny! If you are into war movies or into Tarrentino's style of movie making, give this movie a watch! It's pretty good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Inglourious Movie

    I really enjoyed this movie and expect it to be somewhat controversial for it's content and it's specific cinematic choices. Controversy asside, it's nice to have the occasional contemporary Hollywood movie worth even considering a topic of conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie is amazing!

    I am a HUGE Tarantino fan. I love all his movies but this is by far one of his best. Every performance was excellent. The story was very well written and really kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In Your Face

    Harsh but funny and very good acting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for any WWII buff

    I brought this movie as a gift for my dad and he enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Language film

    One thing I love about all of or at least most of Quentin Tarantino's work is his penchant for language. He has characters in all his movies that have a very distinctive pattern of speech and it's interesting. In this movie he utilizes his penchant for language by have not one not two or three but four different languages spoken in the movie, and it helps to get a real feel of being back in Nazi Europe. He also brings out his trademark strangeness in not only his characters but his twist on the story of Hitler and his creation of the Basterds. I highly recommend this movie, Great action, excellent story, Tarantino's own strange slant on life, and the comedy thrown for taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inglourious Basterds

    As a caregiver for elderly family members, I have NOT been able to go to the movies; i.e., I did not have the time to be away from the house for so long. But now (unfortunately the family member I was taking care of had passed away), I was able to purchase this movie on Blu Ray Disc. What a movie! I wish I had the opportunity to see this film in the movie theaters. This film was excellent. The writing, the acting, the plot, everything. I predict that this film will be up for an Academy Award, and in fact win for best picture and best actor. A pleasant surprise this movie was - I did not know that such fine productions were still made anymore. I was kept riveted to my seat the entire time. Thank you Hollywood for making this film. I recommend this film to everyone. It is a must see. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    informative

    good movie to see with someone who likes discussions

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Basterds

    Great Movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    What a fabulous movie. If only history had gone this way,just think of all the allied lives that would have been saved. A little gorybut that is war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3