Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Badly done

    To be honest, I think this movie was a disgraceful representation of Charlotte Bronte's fanastic book. Though many of these actors do respectable jobs in other movies, they were unable to do so in this case. I can see how it may be difficult to portray Jane Eyre because she is very reserved in the book, but Edward Rochester is another story. In the book, Rochester was moody, passionate, and said what was on his mind. William Hurt made Mr. Rochester almost dull. I couldn't believe the way that the most important parts in the book were acted. When Jane left Mr. Rochester, for example, all that was basically said was "don't leave me." Rochester makes a much larger deal about Jane leaving than that, to say the least. Not only was it poorly acted, but the story was altered a bit too much. Important parts were left out while scenes that don't occur in the book are put in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very disappointing

    I loved the book, but this adaptation was very disappointing. I applaud the attempt at a restrained interpretation of the material, and I didn't even mind (too much) playing fast-and-loose with the plot line. But almost all the interaction between Jane and Mr Rochester was left out, leaving the viewers wondering why they fell in love in the first place. And the attempt at restraint went too far: in a number of places, the main characters seemed to be sleep-walking through their lines. I willl keep hoping to find a better film version, as this one left me cold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    extremley deficent adaptation

    this version of the film was extremely disappointing. It wasnt faithful to the book at all. Most of the dialogue between Jane and Rochester was done away with, to highlight the cinemotography of the film; which was poor in its conception and execution. Much of the scenes were changed, and gainsburg who played jane didnt capture the strength and force of the heroine. The film leaves you wondering how these two characters fell in love in the first place. Read the book, a film has yet to capture the beauty and essence of Bronte's words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite disappointed

    This film seemed to rush through the storyline, and thus cut out some important information. The important scenes it did have were too broad and didn't have enough emphasis. I was especially disappointed by the ending, which I found to be the most touching part of the book. This film completely destroyed my imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A little disappointing...

    I have seen several versions of Jane Eyre & this wasn't my favorite. I was a little disappointed in the film quality & sound quality on this DVD. It reminded me of a film from the '70s or '80s. I guess I expected it to be a bit more cinematically pleasing since it came out in 1996! The acting was OK, but the BBC version w/ Toby Stephens & Ruth Wilson is BY FAR the best! The A&E version w/ Ciaran Hinds & Samantha Morton would be second I suppose. OK movie, but there are far better versions out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Jane Eyre - Charlotte Bronte Still Lives

    When is Joan Plowright not superb? Though her role is minor, hers is the best performance in this recent production of the Charlotte Bronte classic. William Hurt, Charlotte Gainsbourg, and the others make a creditable showing. Alas, the condensation of the novel and the uninspired direction lessen the impact of the film for anyone who loves the book and has seen better films of same. Nevertheless, the movie is worth viewing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Eyre

    I never heard of the book but remembered seeing an adaptation to it, the one with Ruth Wilson. I then saw this one and it would been better if I had read the book first. As a movie its interesting, maybe a little fast in some parts, particularly the ending to be honest, but still a good film. You have the title character who is sent to a school after living a harsh life with her Aunt and cousins. At the school she isn't treated well there either except for two who become her friends then later as an adult she goes to a house as a governess and meets Mr. Rochester. The actors did really good, especially Charlotte as Jane and William Hurt as Rochester. Is it just me or in some scenes with William as Rochester remind anyone of Liam Neeson? Anyway, obviously you should read the book first then see this movie. Recommend this and Wuthering Heights also by author Emily Bronte.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    Out of all the "Jane Eyre" films I've seen, this is by far the best. I have the orginial film with Orson Wells. It is darker then the newer one. I think William Hurt & Charlotte Gainsbourg did a wonderful job with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Liked This Version!

    I loved this version of Jane Eyre. William Hurt was perhaps a little too handsome for Rochester and Charlotte Gainsbourgh a little to pretty to play a plain Jane but their acting was spot on perfect and I liked this movie and recommend it as well as all of the other wonderful adaptations including the Timothy Dalton one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You must see the Tim Dalton/Zelah Clarke Version

    If anyone was made to play Rochester, it was Timothy Dalton. I have not seen the Zefferelli version, but I do not believe the BBC version can ever be surpassed. Zelah Clarke is a perfect Jane to Dalton's superb Rochester. He is Mr. Rochester. If you love the book Jane Eyre, you have to see the real characters. That is how convincing this version is. The BBC version has the feel of the time, and magnificent acting. A sure winner!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Second Favorite Adaptation!

    This is my second favorite film version of Jane Eyre, my #1 favorite version is the one with Samantha Morton and Ciaran Hinds but this is excellent too and I think William Hurt and Charlotte Gainsburgh are superb as Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester and had some great chemistry. I also liked the actress who played young Jane, she was very good! PS: I don't care that blond actor William Hurt was playing a character that has dark hair in the book, that didn't bother me at all, just like it didn't bother me that Blanche Ingram was a blonde!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Horrible

    Please, do not buy this movie, it is horrible, absolutely horrible......unless you want to waste your time and money. Version by BBC video highly recommended with Timothy Dalton & Zelah Clarke.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stay away

    This interpretation of Jane Eyre is appalling! Charlotte Gainsbourg does not look like a 19 years old woman in love but like a teenager infatuated with an old man! Tacky! William Hurt is far from being convincing.This movie stinks! And,above all, what's left of Charlotte Bronte's marvellous "Jane Eyre" in that awful rendition? Instead, go for the marvellous BBC production with Zelah Clarke and Timothy Dalton and you won't be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    UNFORGETTABLE!!!!

    I SAW THIS MOVIE LATE ONE NIGHT ON CABLE TV. I FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS MOVIE. I'VE SINCE WATCHED IT OVER AND OVER SEVERAL TIMES. IT IS A MUST FOR MY COLLECTION. I CAN'T WAIT TO COMPARE THE VERSION OF TIMOTHY DALTON'S TO THIS ONE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Emotionally/Romatically fulfilling

    Jane Eyre represents true women of todays standards. She is an unselfish and loyal gal. She has her own morals and she doesn't stray from them. This version of this movie is tantilizing, emotionally charged, and sensually seductive! Charlotte Gainsbourge does a great job as Jane Eyre-soft, feminine,yet she is strong, and intelligent. Jane Eyre is an inspirational film. A must movie to watch with your husband (it might teach him something!!!!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    Although Zefirelli is no choice of mine, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Charlotte Gainsborough is wonderful; her delicate beauty and introspective interpretation was very faithful to Bronte's Jane, and although William Hurt was not as good as Ciaran Hinds, he does very well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This adaptation was horrible!!

    I have seen three versions of this great book put on screen and i have only liked one. The BBC version with Timothy Dalton is true to the book and amazing. This version changes the flow of events and leaves out important points.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Jane Eyre & Mr. Rochester Forever

    The book and movie are absolutely beautiful and if I could, I would wrap both around my heart. The story is compelling and heartfelt, and Gainsbourg and Hurt make a heaven out of hell. I love this strange and almost unearthly thing! Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful

    Visually, this movie is tops. I loved the score as well. Though it was not as faithful to the book as other Jane movies, the additions were in character and I enjoyed them. The closing scene where Jane and Rochester reunite is the most beautiful I've seen. It's one of my favorite Jane Eyre movies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2