Customer Reviews for

Jane Eyre

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    I have read Jane Eyre many times (my book is very worn), beginni

    I have read Jane Eyre many times (my book is very worn), beginning my first year of high school, and I am well into middle age now.  I have seen at least 4 film versions of the book, and this is by far the most true to the book.  The only puzzling thing to me is that the DVD version, which I recently purchased, is not exactly like the VHS version, which I have watched many times.  The DVD version leaves out some parts of the book that were included in the VHS version.  Also, more disturbing, there were some scenes in the DVD version that not only were not in the VHS version, they were also not in the book.  How very strange.  They must have been scenes that were originally cut, but then included when made into DVD format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    By far the very best adaptation of the book by Charlotte Brontë.

    By far the very best adaptation of the book by Charlotte Brontë. Timothy Dalton is the definitive Rochester who captures the very spirit of his character. And Zelah Clarke is a wonderful Jane. I''ve seen this numerous times and will watch it even more in future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Excellent

    While I didn't find Timothy Dalton the ideal for Mr. Rochester this version of Jane Eyre is true to the novel and very well done. I would recommend it for anyone who enjoyed the book. It's a delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Companion to the Classic Book, Jane Eyre

    This is a wonderful movie to watch and shows many of the most important scenes in the book. The character portrayal is wonderful. I loved it not being so hollywoodish, but rather more focused on the characters and dialogue, which makes the book such a delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic Series

    This is a welcome addition to my Timothy Dalton collection. The series was well done and true to the original story. Mr. Dalton turned in a passionate portrayal of Mr Rochester and I enjoyed every moment of this fine production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Faithful in this case means skip it, and read the novel instead. What your imagination will conjure I guarantee will far surpass anything you'll see here. There are no new insights and limited involvement. Basically no one attached to the project had a clue how to execute scenes or write them. The script rambles and the acting is stifled. The one exception is Geoffrey Whitehead as St John Rivers, who almost makes us forget Jane. I said almost. How to describe it. Ms. Cusack is lost to the point of seeming goofy, coyly smiling one minute- glazed over (maybe stoned, it's hard to tell) the next. It's hard to even guess what she was after, (really should we have to guess?) but a wrinkled forehead, set in over-drive, is used to express just about anything, if that's any help. Basically she looks and acts like a smug 40 year old, '-been-there, done-that-' matron, who's really a dimwit. She also seems to best Rochester in discussion after discussion. Which seems out of sync with her character. Jane is intelligent, witty and understated, not an obvious, obnoxious 'last word Sam'. Mr. Jayston, who's a big improvement over his costar (and a lot more subtle), still seems to be telling the story from a distance, often (not always) externally acting the lines, and is more dandyish than sardonic, and forceful. There is also annoying narration plunked in unceremoniously, leaping in between sentences. Presumably to create the effect of the book. But it is not a book and the results are a disrupted story. There are also many fake kisses which are unwatchable. In fact too much of this feels fake, and stagy. Even the scene after they drown the fire feels mechanical and rehearsed. You never feel that ANYTHING in the story matters very much. I thought since this was an obscure BBC version, faithful to the book that somehow I'd found a gem. The low amount of reviews, (everywhere) should have raised flags. I also should have read them more carefully. I don't think there's any comparison between this and the 1983 version with Zelah Clarke and Timothy Dalton, which has a lot more verve, and the one I recommend. It's also very faithful but not straightjacketed. Even with some obvious problem areas in 1983, you need a completely different standard to qualify these two in the same race. It looks like they were both done on a shoestring, but the quality of acting and writing in the later one is vastly superior. If you're after something faithful, skip this, get that, or buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unsurpassed and Unsurpassable

    This is by far the best of all Jane Eyre versions ever made, the worst being the 2006 production. Although from a purist's point of view Timothy Dalton is too handsome, tall and lean to be Rochester, he possesses the essential qualities for the role: He has an imposing physical presence, great magnetism and an air of self-assurance and authority. And despite his undeniable handsomeness he looks grim and stern enough to play the gloomy master of Thornfield convincingly. But the excellence of his performance lies in the way he renders all the facets of Rochester's character. Of all the actors who have played Rochester he is the only one to capture them all: Rochester's harshness, nearly insolence, his moodiness and abruptness, as well as his humorous side, his tenderness, his solicitude and deep, frantic love. Dalton's handling of Charlotte Brontë's language is equally superb. Even Rochester's most far-fetched and complicated thoughts ring absolutely true and natural when Dalton delivers them. He is the definitive Rochester, unsurpassed and unsurpassable, and after watching him in this role it is impossible to imagine Rochester to be played in any other way or by any other actor. Zelah Clarke delivers an equally excellent performance in a role that is possibly even more difficult to play well than the one of Rochester. She portrays exactly the Jane of the novel, an outwardly shy, reserved and guarded young woman, but who possesses a great depth of feeling and an equally great strength of will. She catches beautifully the duality in Jane's character: her modesty and respectfulness on the one hand, and her fire and passion on the other, her seeming frailty and her indomitable sense of right and wrong. She and Dalton have wonderful chemistry and their scenes together are pure delight. The language and plot of the novel are rendered with the greatest possible accuracy. Although the long dialogues are slightly shortened, the core lines which are essential for the characterization of the protagonists and the development of the plot are rendered unchanged. Thus the scriptwriter avoided any artificiality of speech, while still fully preserving the beauty and originality of Charlotte Brontë's language. In this version equal time and emphasis is given to each episode of Jane's life. It is the only Jane Eyre adaptation that has a gypsy scene worthy of the novel, and the only one which does full justice to the novel's pivotal and most heartrending scene when Jane and Rochester meet after the aborted wedding. Timothy Dalton in particular plays that scene with superb skill. He renders with almost painful intensity Rochester's anguish as he realizes Jane's resolution to leave him, his frantic attempts to make her stay and his final despair as she indeed leaves him. It is a heartbreaking, almost devastating, scene, which will stay with the viewer for a long time. With even the smaller roles perfectly cast, an excellent script and two ideal leading actors this is the definitive and only true "Jane Eyre".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent acting!

    Although I did not read the book, I knew from the beginning of this movie that it followed the book almost word for word. I fell in love with Timothy Dalton as Rochester. Yes, he is handsome, but with dark features and the way he loved to bark at everyone to "bluff" them into his way of thinking made an excellent portrayal of the "brooding" character he created. Zelah Clarke was a great Jane. Her eyes gave you all the signals that weren't in the words. You could read the love, jealousy, fear straight from her eyes. My favorite scene when he finally declares his love and proposes - both actors nailed it. So much drama, I loved it. I watch it over & over. I also liked the child Jane - so much like the Jane character. 'Must compliment the good direction also. This story has a dark side, but the movie accentuates the love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite "shows"!

    A friend gave this to me in VHS format about 15 years ago. I totally fell in love with it and pull it out periodically to recapture the same experience. Every time I watch it, I see nuances that I hadn't caught in previous viewings. I've seen many versions of this story "including the latest BBC version which is ALSO awesome" but this one will always have a special place in my heart. I became a Timothy Dalton fan after seeing this version and I still consider him the quintessential Rochester. Zela was also phenomenal - and as one other reviewer mentioned, you can see all of Jane's emotions in her face and eyes. This is not a production for those who like fast-paced stories and instant gratification. The story unfolds itself gradually with each layer adding a new perspective. If you enjoy the classics, excellent acting and a poignant story, check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was addicted, obsessed, call it what you like, but I just loved it.

    I much prefurred this novel to Wuthering Heights, it was fabulous. It created that proper tension and horror perfectly when needed. I thought that Zelah and Timothy were perfect for those roles as Jane and Mr Rochester. I really loved this version and i would HIGHLY recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really disliked this adaptation

    As a lover of the Bronte novels and Jane Eyre in particular, I found this a really poor adaptation. Tim Dalton who is normally excellent was badly miscast as Rochester, he never seemed to really get in to the role, and Zelah was awful as Jane. They captured none of the magic of the novel, it becomes a dull, overlong adaptation with no chemistry between the 2 main actors. Probably one of the worst adaptations of Jane Eyre that I have had the misfortune to see. I cannot recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was mesmerized

    If I had to choose between the books Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, I totally prefer Wuthering Heights. However, after seeing the Clarke/Dalton version, I was totally moved by this story. I do not think you could have picked 2 actors more adept at playing the roles. Timothy Dalton as Edward Fairfax Rochester IS Rochester reincarnated. Zelah Clarke was also so convincing to the true character and nature of Jane. I absolutely loved this BBC production. I particularly like the scene when Rochster gives his oath that he wants to marry Jane. The intenseness of his voice and face is absolute artistry. Tim Dalton is one of the finest actors I have ever seen. Everyone I show this to, loves it. Better than the Bronte book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Production Ever of Jane Eyre

    The two lead actors are superlative. This is the greatest version I have ever seen and I have seen most of them. It is a heart-wrenching story. This production is as worthwhile as reading the novel. Timothy Dalton is fascinating to watch and Zeulah Clarke is a very believable Jane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yuch

    Jane Eyre is my favorite book, and I was very excited to watch this movie after hearing so many good things about it. However I was very dissapointed. The movie is very faithful to the book's dialogue, but the character portrayal was pretty awful. Is it just me, or did Timothy Dalton seem very abusive and cruel? I think his character was more akin to Heathcliff that Mr.Rochester. He was always yelling at Jane! Mr.Rochester is a brooding, broken man, not a hard man. Jane was also a little dissapointing- she portrayed none of the strength of character and mind that makes the book so powerful- all the illusions to her being an elf or changeling seemed odd in this movie though it fit so well in the book. St. John also made me sad. They did a really poor job expanding on his character, and he also seemed too mean and passionate. Oh well, I guess a movie can never be as good as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Of My Favorite Jane Eyre Productions!

    This is one of my favorite adaptations of Jane Eyre, it's not my #1 favorite but is definitely up there as one of my favorites. Timothy Dalton is a superb Rochester and despite looking a little too old to play Jane, I think Zelah Clarke did a wonderful job and was very convincing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SKIP THIS VERSION

    This is definitly a version to be missed!! Timoethy Dalton as always turns in a subpar acting performance, and he should just stick to play comic book characters like the one he played in Flash Gordon with Sam Jones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most faithful adaptation of the novel out there!

    I have seen several movie/video versions of 'Jane Eyre' over the years, and this adaptation is far and away the best of the lot. It adheres to the original novel in almost every way, not ignoring or truncating certain portions of the book the way most versions do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2