Customer Reviews for

Jaws

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Forget SHARK WEEK, it doesn't get any better than this!

    JAWS is probably one of the greatest films ever made. I have seen it over 220 times and I never get tired of it. Robert Shaw's Quint is the best character in the film and his monologue describing the sinking of the Indianapolis is one of the greatest in film history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie is amazing from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    DONT GO IN THE WATER!

    The movie JAWS was filmed mainly in the Cape Cod area (Martha Vineyard,etc)....A real thriller from 1975.....It was and still is horrifying to many people - viewer discretion advised, particularly for young persons......It has a great plot, a superb director in Steven Spielberg, great actors and a terrific sound track by John Williams, also available on CD...the double DVD with extras makes it all the better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jaws, Terror of the Deep!!

    This movie is moderately terrifying! Sure it might seem boring,but that's only because of the suspence! The shark itself looks completely fake, but that's why he's scary. The characters are great, and the special effects are great! Don't worry, there is some blood! So if you like shark movies, then this is the movie for you! And one more thing: Stay out of the water!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was phenomenal

    Steven speilburg did benchley an honor by directing this film. Quint was my favorite character aside from brody, and hooper was very helpful to both of them. Very sympathetic charachters and great portayals, will make you want to see it over again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ULTA-EXTREMLY FANTASTIC!!!

    I don't know what movie can beat this master piece. Every single shark moment blew me away. Roy Scheider, Robert Shaw, and Richard Dreyfuss are very, very Incredible. I have to say no movie can possibly win over this Amazingly awsome piece of work. It must have been hard to make such a totally amazing piece of valuable work. I think it's the best movie of the century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beaches Closed

    One of the best thriller/horror movies of ALL time. Do yourself a favor and read the book also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My all time favorite movie after Star Wars

    A classic film directed by Steven Spielberg based on the book of the same name by Peter Benchley about a huge Great White Shark that terrorizes a small New England Town during tourist season. Roy Scheider is Chief Martin Brody, who has recently relocated his wife and two young sons to the town of Amity after serving as NYPD Officer and having enough of life in the big city. In the opening scene we see a girl skinny-dipping in the ocean and get mercilessly attacked by something under the water. The next day the young man she was with reports it to the police and Brody goes down to the beach to investigate. His deputy stumbles upon the remains of the girl and Brody is determined to shut the beach down so no one else gets killed. The town fathers try to stop him and Martin reluctantly agrees, but decides to call in an expert from the Oceanographic Institute. Matt Hooper (Richard Dreyfuss) is an independently well-to-do shark researcher and comes to Amity to help Brody. What he finds is probably the biggest Great White Shark in recorded history (at the that time). The town fathers and mayor (Murray Hamilton) refuse to let Brody shut down the beaches and Brody is left all alone to coordinate a massive effort to patrol the waters to keep bathers from getting attacked. Great performances are given by Scheider as Chief Brody, Robert Shaw as the salty Captain Quint and Richard Dreyfuss as the Marine Biologist Matt Hooper, who would later star in two other films by Spielberg “Always” and the sci-fi classic “Close Encounters of the Third Kind”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true classic!

    Spielberg's version of Jaws is the ultimate in creature horror in my own humble opinion. 2nd is Ridley Scott's Alien. 3rd is James Cameron's Aliens. You could write dissertation on the relationship between Quint, Brody and Hooper and I'm sure someone probably has to graduate film school, but this is a great film that never gets old no matter how many times you watch it! I still get scared each time I put it on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hehe.. don, don, don, don, don......

    hahaha... JAWS has got to be my favorite shark movie! don don don don don don.. i can play that song on my piano. lol. i loved Robert Shaw in this movie as the crazy boat captain with the yellow teeth. all the actors were great. and, for the 70's, that mechanical shark was looking real! THE RIDE IS JUST AS GOOD AS THE MOVIE IN UNIVERSAL STUDIOS!!!ride the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    this really was a great movie, and scared my little bro outta his pants! the acting was teriffic, and the begining sequence where the first victam dies is creepy, cause you just see something pulling her down into the water! recomended to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Summer Thriller that is still #1 in my book!

    My friend Elizabeth and I watched this movie in the balcony of the State Theater in Ann Arbor, MI and screamed our 14 year old selves hoarse! I still love this movie. The score is great, and the screen chemistry between Dreyfuss, Shaw, and Scheider during the chase is perfect. Buy it and watch it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A thriller masterpiece!

    Yeah sure Jaws probably exaggerates a sharks killer instinct... but so what. This is a true American classic that still keeps you on pins and needles after all these years. The DVD is done very nicely... sound and picture are outstanding for a movie almost 30 years old. Buy and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In the top 50 of the greatest movies of all time.

    This is Spielberg at his best. The point-of-vie shots are the best i ever saw besides Halloween. So many movies (including the sequels) try to gain the success that this movie has received but they never will and they dont deserve to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Tribute to Our Time

    JAWS will forever reign supreme over the summer blockbuster genre. This movie,alone, kept an entire generation out of the water and is still frightening us to this day. Based on the bestselling novel by Benchley, The movie captured the hearts of many movie-goers. It was ahead of its time in 1975 and still keeps up with films today. The production crew did something never before concieved and delivered one of the greatest films of all time. JAWS is truely a tribute to our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Excellent movie

    Jaws is one of the best movies I have ever seen. I think they did a good job acting and making the shark. It looked real. I encourage everyone to see Jaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIMES

    I HAVE SENE THIS MOVIE OVER 100 TIMES AND STILL SEE THINGS I MISSED IN PREVIOUS VIEWINGS. SUCH AS THE SHOOTING STARS BEHIND THE ORCA DURING THE NIGHT SCEENS. THIS MOVIE HAS SOME OF THE BEST HOROR SCEENS OF ALL TIME. ONE LAST THING 'WE NEED A BIGGER BOAT'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another reason to fear water.

    Psycho made you afraid to take a shower. Jaws makes you afraid to go in the water. This is the best film from Spielberg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the greatest films of all time

    I don't know how many times I've seen this movie, but it still remains one of the greatest films of all time, in any genre. Even the highly edited tv versions are great! I can't wait to see all the extras that come with the dvd version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3