Customer Reviews for

Jerry Maguire

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    you had me at hello

    a very dramatic but heart warming comedy with Tom Crusie and Renee Zellweger makes you laugh cry a very sweet romantic dramatic comedy quote you had me at hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Soundtrack Is Very Strong

    Jerry Maguire holds up well. It might not be the best movie ever, the way it might have felt the first time around, but it's pretty darn good. People who are interesting behaving in funny and wrenching ways. Of course, the soundtrack is very strong. I went right out and bought the soundtrack too. A convincing mix of popular genres, great performers, maybe not enough jazz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great little touches

    There are so many wonderful moments in this movie, it's hard to know where to start. The action away from the action is terrific. Renee's facial expressions and body language when Tom has his back turned are subtle but wonderful. The exchange between Cuba and Renee after she sees Tom's struggle on the wedding day is great. And, the interplay between Dorothy and her sister is just wonderful. Of course, the main action is pretty spectacular, too. I love this movie. See the DVD. The commentary is lots of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lots of fun

    I've been spending the last six hours watching the DVD of ''Jerry Maguire.'' It is really fun, especially watching Cameron, Tom, Renee and Cuba as they watch the film and talk about it. When I saw this film originally in 1996, I literally cried the last twenty minutes of the film. This time through, it was only on and off for the last 20 minutes. What an emotional film. I love the script, the little touches and the performances. This is a great film and the DVD that does it justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remarkable.

    Tom Cruise is at the top of his game with this movie. He's perfect for the role of a sports agent, mainly because of his long-term star status, dealings with agents, and high school athletic background, enough said. Renee Zellweger comes across as the perfect screwed up girl-next-door, loyal to a fault, but the character widens as the story goes along. A good point to bring up is the inclusion of Paul McCartney's ''Junk'' (there are two: ''Singalong Junk,'' and ''Junk'' both on the ''McCartney'' album and I suspect that ''Junk'' is the actual song used as I didn't hear the lyrics, maybe it's in the credits and I missed it. The movie is about a fired sports agent who is trying to hold on to his one client (Cuba Gooding, Jr.,) his girlfriend (Zellweger) and his new business. Cruise seemed to bottom out after ''Born on the Fourth of July'' and bombed with ''Days of Thunder'' (which I thought was a good ''Top Gun'' on wheels. Through a series of good moves (Anne Rice's ''Interview with a Vampire,'' ''A Few Good Men,'' and Grisham's ''The Firm,'' he has come out unscathed. Jerry McGuire is as much a classic as ''Top Gun.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Film Speaks of Real Truth in Life

    We all come to those points in life where we question what we do. In this case, Jerry Maguire is that person, questioning his carreer as a sports agent, who only seems to care about the job, rather than the people he represents. After being fired for writing his ideas in a mission statement, a woman who works in his profession quits with him, and they begin a new company. In the process of loosing all he knows in life, he realizes how painful and hard life can be, and how important loyalty, friendship, and love are. This film is one of the best movies of 1996. As well as a wonderful romantic comedy, that speaks the truth about life, and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SHOW ME THIS FILM!

    Get beyond the phrase du jour, ''Show me the money'' and you'll find this to be a gem of a picture. Tom Cruise almost steals the film from Oscar winner Cuba Gooding, Jr.(Best Supporting Actor)...thanks to a generously superb script by director Cameron Crowe who gets the most from all his players. Jay Mohr shines as a weasel sports agent. A complete film experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2