Customer Reviews for

Jesus of Nazareth

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The greatest story ever told

This is the best movie about the life of Jesus that I have ever seen. The acting is excellent and they try to stay as close to the Bible as possible. A great family movie.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jesus of Nazareth (1977) bothered me the first time I saw it, an

Jesus of Nazareth (1977) bothered me the first time I saw it, and the second as well. This filmscore was written based on the King James Bible, and its protestant slant - which would be confusing for Catholics if the catch it - is the words Jesus says to Peter "Yo...
Jesus of Nazareth (1977) bothered me the first time I saw it, and the second as well. This filmscore was written based on the King James Bible, and its protestant slant - which would be confusing for Catholics if the catch it - is the words Jesus says to Peter "You are Peter, and upon this rock I will biuld WHAT I MUST CALL MY CHURCH". Jesus was not compelled to do anything by anyone. He speaks the words of the Father, and the erliest Gospels (in possession of the Catholic Church, protected throughout time and generations within 40 years of Christ's speaking them) the Synoptics, and I quote the familiar and correct words of Jesus: "Thou art Peter and Upon this rock I will build my Church". There is no equivocating on this. The prior was certainly a Protestant change. As we all know, there is one Christian Church centered in and drawing all grace from the Catholic Church. The Catholic Church presents all seven sacraments as sources of grace (but not all grace). All other Christian sects subsist in the Catholic Church in that they have a part of Christianity - which we should all celebrate. But let's be clear on exact wording and interpretation, which fade once you get into the miasma of 32,000 different Protestant religions.

posted by TimmyDTD on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Jesus of Nazareth (1977) bothered me the first time I saw it, an

    Jesus of Nazareth (1977) bothered me the first time I saw it, and the second as well. This filmscore was written based on the King James Bible, and its protestant slant - which would be confusing for Catholics if the catch it - is the words Jesus says to Peter "You are Peter, and upon this rock I will biuld WHAT I MUST CALL MY CHURCH". Jesus was not compelled to do anything by anyone. He speaks the words of the Father, and the erliest Gospels (in possession of the Catholic Church, protected throughout time and generations within 40 years of Christ's speaking them) the Synoptics, and I quote the familiar and correct words of Jesus: "Thou art Peter and Upon this rock I will build my Church". There is no equivocating on this. The prior was certainly a Protestant change. As we all know, there is one Christian Church centered in and drawing all grace from the Catholic Church. The Catholic Church presents all seven sacraments as sources of grace (but not all grace). All other Christian sects subsist in the Catholic Church in that they have a part of Christianity - which we should all celebrate. But let's be clear on exact wording and interpretation, which fade once you get into the miasma of 32,000 different Protestant religions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The absolute best!

    Ever since I saw this story back in 1977 I was blown away my the excellent acting, superb direction (Zefferelli is a GENIUS), and the sensitivity of the writing, production-in short, everything worked together to make this particular portrayal of the Passion of Christ the absolute best I've ever seen.

    Each actor/actress was picked for their role with precision,and they each portrayed their role with passion and the excellence that comes from experienced actors being directed by a genius. The result is a movie that transfixes you, even though you know the story and the ending. You've just never seen it done this way.

    I highly recommend it to anyone, but especially for those who have children who are old enough to understand it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Movie Ever Made On Any Subject

    I am 49 years old and became a born again christian just over 1 year ago. Having spent considerable time reading the bible, paticuarly the new testament, I decided to view as many possible movies based on Jesus just to see how he was possibly portayed with the liberty Hollywood usually takes. Allowing for the fact that I am a christian, this is possibly the most powerful and engrossing movie I have ever had the pleasure to view. I have viewed this movie 3 times with only short breaks for lunch. It is so easy to virtually just sit back and enjoy this movie in it's entirety. I paticuarly enjoyed the perfomances of Rod Stieger and Anne Bancroft. However, by the end of the movie, Robert Powells magnifecent performance of Jesus, had me forget that I was watching an actor at work but that he was actually Jesus Christ due to his powerful performance. You do not have to be a christian to enjoy this movie because of the quality involved in all facets of movie making here. If you only ever buy 1 movie in your life time, make sure it is Jesus of Nazareth. Who knows, if you take the time to view it with a non christian friend, you just might end up with 1 more person asking The Lord Jesus into his/her life. Thank you Franco.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jesus Christ has died for your sins too !!!

    i love this movie so much because it helps me understand the bible more clearly . Everytime i see this movie it makes me cry the way I've never cried before . I love jesus christ so much !!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest story ever told

    This is the best movie about the life of Jesus that I have ever seen. The acting is excellent and they try to stay as close to the Bible as possible. A great family movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Never Heard or Seen Anything Like It!!!!!

    Since my first viewing of this seris, I have been profoundly affected. And it sparked the already burning intrest of Jesus and His life in me even more! I researched the gospel's, and tried to find everything Jesus said in the movie, in the Bible. What an awsome, awsome accomplishment! Other directors have tried to duplicate this, but have failed sadly. Great Job!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The greatest movie of all time on the Life of Jesus Christ!!!!

    The greatest movie of all time on the Life of Jesus Christ!!!! It is the closest to the gospels and it is one of my favorite movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just the best story of Jesus on film.

    This film is moving, intelligent and well-acted, despite some of tbe halting dialogue from some of the supporting (non-professional?) members of the cast. Overall, just a really beautiful film to watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    EASTERS BEST

    THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE VEIWED BY ALL NOT JUST AT EASTER BUT A REMINDER HOW MUCH WE NEED TO RENEW OUR LIVES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie about Jesus

    One of the best movies about Jesus I have ever seen, very informative about the life of Jesus. Any one can see it and feel like an expert on the life of Jesus and what he was teaching. A really powerful movie that will have you thinking for days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent

    I just love movies about the life of Jesus, and this one was outstanding, Robert Powell did a wonderful job in the title role. a must have for anyone seeking the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the best movie about the life of Jesus.

    A beautiful motion picture with a timeless story. Even after more than 25 years, it is still the best movie ever made about the life of Jesus. A must for the home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect for Jr High Sunday School

    I've used this film for 12 years to teach 7th grade Sunday School. The students read correlating Bible passages and then view about 20 minutes of the video each week. Students are encouraged to compare the WORD to the film. With every viewing, I learn more. Awesome acting and most accurate interpretation of the Bible, bar none.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sunday School teacher highly recommends this movie

    Jesus' humanity as portrayed in this movie is exactly what makes this version of Jesus' ministry so attractive and appealing to audiences young and old. I have used this movie over and over in Sunday School class (usually shown in segments rather than lengthy pieces) to illustrate Bible stories. The movie brings alive the culture of the times as well as the biolgraphical events of Jesus' life. Zefferelli shows some bias toward Renaissance Italian art in the arrangement of his various sets. Certain Italian masters' depictions of Jesus' life are virtually duplicated in the movie...an amusing if anachoronistic insertion. I particularly like the depiction of Peter as a reluctant desciple, a macho fisherman pulled in spite of himself into the web of Jesus' ministry. This particular portrayal follows the Gospel of John version of event sequence, maximizing the drama building from the beginning to the end of his ministry, climaxing with the raising of Lazarus from the dead just before his entry into Jerusalem, helping explain his popularity during Holy Week. Judas is interestingly portrayed as a soul torn between his patriotic duty to his country and his loyalty to Jesus, much more probable than his traditional 'simply evil' profile. One minor criticism...the youthful Jesus is portrayed as blonde and blue eyed...amusing imagery but highly inaccurate. Having used this film over and over again, I can say it never ages, has never become 'creaky' or dated in its portrayals. It shines 25 years after its making as if it was made yesterday. One of Zefferelli's masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful...

    Such a beautiful movie. Robert Powell is so believable as Jesus, it is amazing. All the acting is terrific, as well as the scenery and sets. Incredibly believable, it's like you are watching history. I remember seeing this as a child on television, and being mesmerized. I've seen it many times since. A classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    This is the best movie depicting the life of Jesus that is available. This movie includes a great cast of actors and actresses. You will not regret purchasing this movie!! Without a doubt...a great movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    A Classic !!!

    I have seen this movie, more than twice. It is the best protrayal of the divinity of Jesus Christ of Nazareth. Almost all the characters were very well protrayed, from Peter to Judas Iscariot, the High Priest,the Sanhedrien, Pontiuos Pilate etc. A definite buy for the home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jesus of Nazareth, a Robert Powell Zombie

    The biggest turn off for me in watching a Bible movie is the glazed over eyes, slow ''righteous'' speech patterns that Powell and many others continue to do in these types of films. What mood altering chemicals was Powell on? Come on Hollywood these were real, historical people in extroardinary situations, not bleary eyed monsters from B-movies. Good performance by Olivier. Check out ''Jesus'' starring Brian Deacon that was filmed on location and not Morocco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    7 STARS

    I am such a sinner but because of Zeffirelli's movie. He was able to show me a Christ so frightful as He is Blessed and Holy- Frightful because Robert Powell portrayed the Christ to near perfection, I was moved to shame and guilt watching the film. Blessed and Holy because the director was able to present to the public that He is a Man-God who understands and emphatizes with human suffering and frailty. There are so many favorite scenes like 1)when the Centurion asked for Jesus' help to heal his helper who he almost treated like a son, 2)there was this moving scene where Jesus drew out the demon from a possessed man. 3)When Herod ordered the murder of all the two year old males. 4)''The Pieta'' Nobody has ever made a movie as close to the life of Christ as Zeffirelli.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    unlike no other

    I think no other movie tops this one. I have seen other movies about Jesus but no one comes even close to this one. A must see for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2