Customer Reviews for

Jet Li's Fearless

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jet Li is THE ONE

    Jet Li preformance as Huo Yuanjia is story about a martial arts champion. In the opening scene is face-to-face with the most ferocious fighters from the West and the final challenge - the Japanese for pride and redemption for China.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hands down the best martial arts movie EVER!

    I love the story and the fight scenes! how oftan can you say that? and the end even got me teary eyed... VERY GOOD! and if you like action action the unrated version dont play. YOU SEE ACTION!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clearly A Work of Love For Jet Li & Crew

    I confess, I haven't seen every film Li has ever made and further, I am not a huge fan of martial arts films. BUT... I you were going to see one film by this Master of the MA, it should be this one. Jet Li brings a pathos to the story and the character that is every bit as deeply troubled, as profoundly changed by events as the best tormented soul penned by Willy the Shake. It is rare to find an actor who can bring such a tragic hero to full life without slipping into what is typically a characature of a man "pretending" to be tortured. I suspect that Li, after spending years on his own inward journey, a hallmark of a true Master, called upon those painful personal experiences to connect with his character and the results are no less than Oscar worthy. To find an epic tale told in Chinese cinema is easy enough because most deal with the sweep of history. But, the quality of this production, in all aspects, are well beyond what we would typically expect. From Director to second unit work, everything clicks and you absolutely care about this guy. That is the gold for any screenwriter you want the audience to feel what your hero feels and we do. Given that translation is difficult at best, here you'll note a quantum leap in value. Even though there is plenty of exposition -- telling us backstory instead of weaving it into the action -- it was appropriate to the overall storyline. Beautifully photographed, with rich set design, simple but effective dream sequences, clean point-of-view camera work and nicely done editing, this is a film worth seeing at least twice because the back story is historical and should be viewed from that aspect as well. But the one we all resonate with is that of the personal tragedy of Jet Li's character. This is a film that will be in my very small library to study and learn from. A simple story, well told, with characters you can and want to care about. Thanks Mr. Li. You will be missed from this genre of film by your ardent fans and you can now include me among them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Jet Li don’t go!

    What can us viewers do to change your mine…o well I got to say that director Ronny Yu has made the right choice of casting Jet Li as Huo Yuan Jia, after Jet portrays Huang Fei Hong in his remarkable ‘Once Upon A Time Trilogy.’ This has once again strengthened the image of Jet Li as the Chinese hero among the Chinese around the world. This is a glorified tribute to the famous Shanghai martial arts master, Huo Yuanjia. The above subject has also been visited by Jet himself in ‘Fist of the Legend.’ The movie starts with Huo Yuanjia's famous tournament against the champions of the Sphere of Influence nations. We get to the Japanese challenger and then are sent into a flashback to Huo's youth. We are given the details of Huo's early life, his trials and tribulations. How he was, what he became and how he got there. This section is full of all the other parts of martial arts that have nothing to do with fighting (at this point I'm thinking fondly of Bruce's ‘Circle of Iron.’All the fight scenes through out the film are choreographed well and are quite exciting. Fearless does carry the message not to resort violence to settle any problem, where we can see how violence did to Huo's loved ones. The showdown between Huo and other foreign fighters also promotes the idea of sparing your enemy a chance, no matter how deadly they could be. This, somehow, reflects on part of the idea and philosophy Jet Li understands and promotes from his one year Buddhism studies. As this is a semi-bio-pic, it runs into the same inherent problems in the genre namely that you must have something invested in the person already. The person must be someone you know something or care something about. Rarely does a movie in this genre make you care about the character if you are not interested. It is much like hypnosis, if you do not believe you will not be put under. As for this film being Jet Li's last epic, it breaks my heart but I really did enjoy it. In his own words, it's a representation of his own struggles as an actor/martial artist. It's all him (maybe a tiny bit of wire-work)! If this is what he identifies with, how he wants to end it, why should we expect him to do otherwise. I think I paid more attention to the time period, understood the dialogue, learn the lesson of respect, not everyone are vengeance driven, an eye for an eye... etc. If you are telling a story about a historical character, it has to be believable to a point, not over the top, but not everything is going to be completely accurate. Despite what others say about how boring it is... it’s simply not and I’m ending this with a recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great martial arts movie

    I loved this Jet Li flick! It's dubbed in english and has a good story. See this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fitting Valedictory for Jet Li

    Jet Li has been an impressive presence in film as a martial arts practitioner and choreographer both in his native China and in his US films. He has selected FEARLESS as his final film as a martial artist and a better choice of story for a final bow could not be imagined. Based on the life of Chinese Martial Arts Master Huo Yuanjia (1869-1910), the founder and spiritual leader of the Jin Wu Sports Federation still in existence internationally, Jet Li acts the role of Huo Yuanjia, a man whose father's heroics were surpassed only by his compassion, a trait the film shows us to be the lesson learned by Huo Yuanjia. Beginning with his childhood where all of his influences and those people who altered his life are introduced by child actors (the weakest portion of this film), he grows into the role as champion Washu fighter of his province, but his championship is not without problems: he inadvertently kills his final opponent opening a series of tragedies that drives him, a broken man, into the rural area of China where he learns the simple life and ideals of his people. He returns to his province to visit the sites of his family's memorials and the memorial of the man he killed. He further accepts a challenge to fight again only this time despite onerous odds he allows his spiritual awakening to govern the outcome. The film is lushly beautiful with some of the finest cinematography of China we have yet to see. The choreography of the fight sequences is superb and Jet Li commits his all to the role both as actor and martial arts fighter. The audience is left feeling a new sense of respect for the travails of China at the early part of the 20th century, for the field of Marital Arts, for the dignity of one of China's heroes, and for the performer/actor Jet Li. It is a most fitting valedictory. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1