Customer Reviews for

Joan of Arcadia - The First Season

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Favorite TV show!

    This show has been a family favorite all season! It deals with real teenage and family issues in a believable format. I love the "God" aspect of this show and think Amber is an awesome actress.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cool

    I never really wacthed this when it was on TV, but I caught a few reruns and thought it was good, so I went out and bought the 2 seasons. I just wish CBS had continued the series. I think it would do good now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best!

    This was by far the best show offered on TV. It is unfortunate that it has not been renewed. It is thought provoking and helps one to see what truly matters in life, although it does not promote any particular religious belief system. It deals with major life issues in a manner that allows one to laugh and cry in the same episode. This is the most significant DVD in my library. It is well worth the cost to purchase and I hope Year two becomes available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GO GO GO JOAN JOAN JOAN

    This is the best show ever, it really makes you think about your family, friends, and religion. Which are important in todays society. If you buy this, then hopefully season 2 will come out on dvd soon!! Please help!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best tv series EVER

    joan of arcadia is the best. it will always BE the best. simple as that. but i cannot believe that they canceled it! maybe a few good letters and a lot of people buying this AMAZING dvd set will change their minds! we can only hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GO JOAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!

    This show was so amazing!!!! I can't believe they cancelled it though!!!!!!!!! Buy this dvd set. This is one of the best shows ever in history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best TV drama of our time

    i live in England, and when i heard that the US hit show Joan of Arcadia was coming on TV, i was thrilled. I've seen every epsiode, and it is very clever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Food for the Soul

    At a time when being spiritual is as uncomfortable as being a teen, Joan of Arcadia shows that there is a way to be both successfully. Faith makes life and surviving puberty, possible, not easy, but worth it. It would be a sin not to renew this show, figuratively speaking of course.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    I really think this show is great i think all ages will enjoy this season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Inspiring

    I see every show from home in Chile, and it is so inspiring and spiritual that brings good thoughts and good feelings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An extraordinary show of quality

    Joan of Arcadia is about an ordinary teenager who has extraordinary encounters with God. Played by the terrific Amber Tamblyn, Joan is challenged to figure out what God wants of her and to take action. We encounter compelling, sympathetic people with serious problems. Each episode, Joan tries to make someone else's life better in her own endearingly befuddled way, and she always succeeds, at least to some degree. This is a powerful drama with richly drawn characters and engrossing story lines. At its heart, it is a wonderful show about a family that can be enjoyed by viewers of all ages. The acting is excellent across the board. They have tackled many difficult, even controversial, subjects with delicacy and honesty. I sincerely hope that CBS leaves Joan of Arcadia on the air. In today's TV wasteland, we desperately need quality shows with a positive message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great show, needs to continue on

    I've seen all the shows and they all bring home a point about our impact on life & the differnces we make. I will really enjoy this box set. It's strange that cbs hasn't decided to renew this series. I hope they reconsider it's one of the trully good shows without the topic being either reality TV or built around crime & crime scenes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Joan Rocks!

    Joan of Arcadia is one of the smartest shows on TV today. It's not about religion, but about sprituality and how we're all connected to one another. It's a shame the TV show might be cancelled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PL:EASE SAVE JOAN!!

    As of right now, Joan has been canceled. The sales of the DVDs may change their mind, along with some influential letters. Please write to CBS and the other networks and tell them to keep Joan on the air. One of the only "good" shows on television.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This sounds like a good show!

    I always wanted to whatch this. Now that it is out on dvd I am hoping to get this. I love Amber Tamblyn. She stars in the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I know I just have to buy this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I love this show soo much, and I can't believe that they have cancelled the show! Just when it was getting really interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The show addresses questions that we ask

    The show was great. It addresses questions that we ask. The content is healthy. I just hope that they will continue the show or at least put them out all on DVDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2