Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So worth the hefty admission price!

    In today's day in age, seeing a film in 3-D isn't anything new. But where that might be super cool, this is also a time where studios are quick to give movies the 3-D treatment in post production rather unnecessarily. The unfortunate product of this greed-driven agenda is an often sloppy, subpar and rather uncomfortable viewing experience. Where in many cases, 3-D is used as a distraction technique, here it only serves to enhance the film's magical qualities. StereoD took their time (over a year) with the conversion process and it really shows. Steven Spielberg is one of those painstakingly careful directors that has a mind and an eye for depth, detail and vision which only helped the film in this case. Jurassic Park strikes a careful balance between the CG effects and 3-D without coming across as being too much to handle. It breathes new life into the lush, exotic sets and adds a whole new level of thrills to the action that's culminating on screen. I really appreciated Spielberg's selectiveness on which scenes to present in 3-D---the initial dino reveal, the T-Rex escape, the Jeep chase, the Gallimimus herd, and raptor kitchen scene (among others)---they were all appropriately chosen and the new depth of field really added to the sense of wonder, awe and danger we as an audience felt. In addition, we're privy to an added level of detail that we've never seen before. From the scales on the dinosaurs to the patterns and textures in the scenery, it's enough to make the already impressive CGI seem even more real. Jurassic Park was already at the top of its film-making game when it combined digital effects and animatronics. It's a happy surprise to see that 3-D didn't detract from the from the movie at all, in fact, the effect was just the opposite---it enhanced it. The added layers intensified my viewing experience to the max and allowed me to feel the same sense of imagination and wonder as the first time I saw it on the big screen. THIS is what the technology was created for!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    20 years later after seeing this when I was a child, and the din

    20 years later after seeing this when I was a child, and the dinosaurs STILL look more real than the ones I've seen in movies that came out 10 years ago (King Kong for example). I agree with Nadina85, the 3-D only enhanced the special effects and made the film better. The only movie worth seeing in 3-D because it was used correctly besides Avatar, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good movie

    great actors dinosaurs are so cool. see the movie buy all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dinosaurs on the loose!

    This movie is awesome! the action is great, the suspence is chilling, the special effects are cool, and the dinosaurs are freakin' awesome! It's pretty funny too! If you love dinosaurs, action, humor and thrills, then this movie is just for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The One That Started It All

    There would be no great special effects films if Jurassic Park had not set the stage. It also brought to the forefront the new conflict between the old primal way vs. technological advances and how it can be catastrophic. I would say on retrospection it was one of the first real Hollywood films to explore that theme. After all, nature will find away. Not always in nice ways, either. Velociraptors will go after kids and decapitate people while T-Rex's are running loose. I love it when the the velociraptors meet T-Rex and the battle ensues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie Is Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Director Steven Spielberg presents a triumph of imagination, suspense, science and cinematic magic that has quickly become the most successful film in worldwide box-office history. On a remote island, a wealthy entrepreneur secretly creates a theme park featuring living dinosaurs drawn from prehistoric DNA. Before opening the attraction to the public, he invites a top paleontologist, a paleobotanist, a mathematician/theorist, and his two eager grandchildren to experience the park-- and help calm anxious investors. However, their visit is anything but tranquil as the park's security system breaks down, the prehistoric creatures break out, and the excitement bulids to surprsisng results. I think this movie is outstanding because it has a lot of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really cool!

    This movie is really cool! I love the action! It is one of my favorites! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dino Mite

    Never have I ever watched a movie full of so much adventure as Jurassic Park. To top it off , it had humans interacting with dinosaurs. The movie is about how scientists try to bring dinosaurs back to life using DNA from ancient specimens of dinosaur tissue . Hammond has created a dinosaur “theme park” and shows it off to a group of people. While he shows off his park one of the guest's kids steal something and allows all the dinosaurs to escape. E veryone is scared to death of being eaten by the dinosaurs and go on a life threatening journey to seek safety. This movie could possibly be the best movie ever created. This movie is so life - like that I even jumped out of my chair a few times, and the dinosaurs look so real it is almost as if you can reach out and touch them, as if they never went extinct. One of the best parts of the movie in my opinion is when the guy is using the outside bathroom and the dinosaur, I think it was the T-Rex, comes and tears the walls up and you see him sitting on the toilet . The dinosaur grabs him up by his teeth and eats him up whole. I also really like how the kids were so intelligent in finding their way to safety. This is one movie where I can truly say that no matter how many times I watch it, I still will be hanging off of my seat in awe and silence as I watch the dinosaurs try to take over, and the humans try to stay alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    A classic movie, directed by one of the best in Steven Spielberg and with music written by the same man who did the music for classics like Jaws, Star Wars,and Indiana Jones, this movie is great with one of the best directors, great acting, and excellent music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An amazing film!

    Jurassic Park is surely a great classic. The film is the film out of all 3 films. Steven Spielberg does it again by directing a film with eye-poping visual effects and great acting. The Lost World is nothing to the orginal Jurassic Park film. Jurassic Park III does little to compare to this film. Sam Neill does an excellent job of acting and so does the other actors and actresses. This film is a hard to film but be warned, some of the events get gruesome, especialy the scenes involving the T-Rex. But still, the dinosaurs are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Five stars isn't enough!

    I loved it(is that original or what?)! Michael Crichton's my favorite author, Steven Spielberg's my favorite directer, Jeff Goldblum is one of my favorite stars, and John Williams sountrack is superb. All in all this is my favorite movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever !!!

    A rich man called John Hammond has ind all seckret made a park. The park is a little outside the coast of Puerto Ricos. And here he has created dinosaurs whit the help of dino D.N.A. Before he's opening the park for the puplic, he invites to dinosaurs experts and his to grandchildren and before the park opens they gonna see the park first. But under the tour the dinosaurs brakes out of the fendses and begins ther hunt for the easy pray Humans. And remember on this movie you can see Laura Dern at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    This movie rocks!

    This movie has action, suspence, thrill and romance all in one. a must see movie for all movie goers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE GREAT MOVIE

    People say that Gone With the Wind is the best movie ever made. I fell asleep during it. My favorite movie of all time is Steven Speilberg's 1993 adaption of Michael Crichton's novel, JURASSIC PARK. I think this is the best movie ever made. Speilberg's graphics are so well made that the dinosaurs are alive and you feel the actors interacting with the dinosaurs. The story is about some scientists that go off to a dinosaur theme park. Then something goes wrong and the dinosaurs get on the loose. The largest threat is the tyrannosaurus, who trashes everything she sees. Then comes in the raptors in which they try to kill anything they see, which in turn leads to a mad dash through the visitor center to get away from them in the climax. Speilberg uses the mastery that he used in JAWS and in DUEL to create this sci-fi thriller that will leave you on the edge of your seat. Sam Neil and Laura Dern know what they are doing with the dinosaurs and apply their knolwedge to help them survive. While raptors and rexes hunt them down, you see through the characters eyes what is going on. The only weakness in this movie is that every once and a while the characters seem two dimensional, but that doesn't affect the movie. John Williams gives one of his better score and Stan Winston brings the dinosaurs to life. With Speilberg's storytelling you never know what to expect. Get this movie if you don't already have it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2