Customer Reviews for

Jurassic Park III

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ROAR!!!

    When Erik Kirby goes missing on Isla Sorna (InGen's Site B), his parents, Paul and Amanda, hire Dr. Alan Grant under the pretense of a "tour" in order to find him.

    The plane crashes and Alan finds himself back in the same situation he's been trying so hard to forget: being trapped in Jurassic Park.

    Sam Neill as Alan Grant is one of my favorite performances ever. There's such an air of seriousness and intensity that Sam brings to the role every time. He can be funny, sure, but his character presentation commands a respect from his fellow actors that you don't see that often in film.

    William H. Macy, another favorite of mine, plays Paul Kirby, the bumbling yet-trying-to-be-cool dad. Terrific. He was serious, clumsy, just fantastic. Every film Macy's in has never let me down and this movie delivers a wonderful Macy performance. There's something about the pacing of his line delivery that gets to me, too. It's a guy who's insecure but tries his best to put a confident spin on things no matter what.

    The dinosaurs, as always, look real. They're huge, they're scary, they're loud. The only problem with these Jurassic sequels is the dinosaurs aren't new and terrifying anymore. They were in the first movie, not so much now. However, there are a few dino attacks in Jurassic Park 3 that weren't in the others, making the viewing of this film worthwhile.

    Michael Jeter (The Green Mile), Laura Dern (Jurassic Park), John Diehl (Pearl Harbor) and Téa Leoni (A League of Their Own) also star.

    Language warning: Cursing and blasphemy

    A.P. Fuchs
    Canister X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where's the atmosphere?

    This movie bombed compared to the first and even the second. Sure, the bigger dinosaur idea sounded cool in theory, but it just came off like a hoax to get you to enjoy the rest of the crappy movie. Whoever said the plot stunk was right on the money. Ok, so we send a bunch of people over to the island to rescue one kid while sacrificing many lives to do so. Dumb. Second, yah, some of the graphics weren't too shabby, but some of them looked much worse and the poop gag just took away from anything good in the movie. What ever happened to the dark atmosphere once things went downhill? It's not here, too much crappy humor and not enough atmosphere. Come on Steven, direct a better sequel to redeem this movie, please! Oh, P.S. Most of the actors sucked. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Climax Here

    There was absolutely no good things that where redeemable about this film since it came from one of the greatest duos of films ever made. Spinosaurus was the only thing I found minorally attractive. Death to T-Rex! I wish they would killed all of the people, except the kid and Sam Neill. That way, we would have been saved two and a half hours of our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where in God's Name Did They Get this Plot?

    This movie was alright, I guess. It was very disappointing though. They are just trying to squeeze money out of the franchise. The first two movies are classics, and they are revolutionary for special effects. The music was good and the acting was wonderful. They were great movies. And the books were even better. But this movie has no book to pale in comparison to. Where did they get the plot? It is completely out of sync with the rest of the franchise. It is just plain terrible compared to the others. The acting was alright, Sam Neill was oddly oblivious to the fact that the movie had turned into a one of those dreaded horror films without a distinguishable plot. He did, as always, a wonderful job. And as for the special effects. The first movie's effects were beautiful. The dinosaurs were amazingly rendered. The second only got better in this division. But the third movie's effects were worse. The dinosaurs went from nearly realistic too cheesy clay models, or that is what it seemed like. They just took elements that worked in the other two movies, which are much the superior of this film, and changed it a little bit so that way they wouldn't just be remaking the first one. I suppose it, in its own right, was decent. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who liked the first two. It will ruin the other two for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    aaron, amatuer paleontologist

    pretty good movie, much better than 'The Lost World, Jurassic Park'. still the same annoying misconceptions, but still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JPIII, is for YOU and ME!!!

    Ok, JPI was and still is a classic, the stupid JPII majorly bombed, and temporarily blew up the dino-filled franchise, but JPIII revives the movie with a bang! The action, the new dinos, and the return of my favorite, Sam Neill, as Dr. Grant. If your looking for some fun, and a good time, watch this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OH-MY-GOSH!

    OH-MY-GOSH! Like the other two Jurassic Parks, we were definetely on the edge of our seats for this one! There is no doubt about it. They've done it again! I can't wait for Jurassic Park IV!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great action packed thrill ride!

    Jurassic Park has been redeemed after the horrible 1997 sequel The Lost World: Jurassic Park disapointed viewers. This film is the best second only to the original film. The cast though is just as good as the one in the first Jurassic Park. Joe Johnson was a good choice to replace to Steven Spielberg as director. The special effects are much better than the ones in the first 2 films but the original had a much better story line. But still the Spinosaurs was a another great choice to replace a returning character. It replaces the T-Rex. The best part of the film is dinosaur fight between the Spinosaurs and the T-Rex. This film though is gruesomer than the first two and viewers must take caution before seeing it. But it is still one of the best thirll ride sequels to hit the silver screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WARNING: NOT FOR THOSE WITH A WEAK STOMACH

    I thought it was a great movie. Definately better than the first two. This one is a requirement for any action movie collection. A must buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOWWY-WOW-WOW!

    This is the greatest movie I have ever seen. This movie is a 10/10 the original Jurassic Park was a 9.9/10 this is an awsome movie I LOVE JP3!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Suspensful Movie! :)

    This was a fantastic movie! Very suspenful, freaky movie! Great for parties, and Holiday Gifts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    This was a great movie. Would watch it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Two Thumbs Up!!! Way up!!!''

    I believe that this movie surpasses The Lost World and comes close to beating its original movie, Jurassic Park. Excellent Plot & Graphics. Edge of the seat action. Great buy and family gift!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Sequel

    Better than the second, and in some respects,better than the first...Non stop action, with no rest for the weary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Ride, which left me wanting more!

    I am a big Jurassic Park fan who was very disapointed in The Lost World. I have read the two books and neither of the first two movies were as good. This movie was not based on a book, so I had no preconceptions. This movie was the best of the three in my opinion, and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it!

    I think that it was the best movie of the year. It is about some people named Paul& Amanda Kirby who want to go to Isla Sorna. So they try to get Dr. Alan Grant as their guide. First he says no but then his partner Billy finally makes him go. All Mr&Mrs. Kirby said to Dr. Alan Grant ( I say that he is the star of the show.)that they were just going to fly over. But when they go to Isla Sorna they land. Find out what happens.Oh, and I think even though I am 11, I think most Moms and Dads would want their kids to go when they are 13. Well, I hope you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2