Customer Reviews for

Kill Bill Vol. 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome- if you still have a functioning imagination...

    For many,some of the most entertaining films of all time have been kung fu, yakuza, westerns and anime'- and here QT employs riveting examples of all genres but with his own vision and style. Of course if you're the type who watches kung fu movies and gets bored because it's not 'realistic' then it's proabably not for you. But if you appreciate movies with IMAGINATION and GUTS, together with Kill Bill vol 2 this is one of the greatest action films of all time- the animated sequence is actually more disturbing than the rest of the movie... I think it might be wise to wait for the dvd with both movies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Super Fantastic!

    I never thought that he would be able to top Pulp Fiction. But QT has amazed me! This is my favorite Tarantino movie so far, but then again KB2 hasn't come out yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than I was expecting

    I missed this in the theaters, and I've been anxiously waiting for it to come out on DVD. I wasn't disappointed. This isn't normally the type of movie I would plan to see -- it was more that the title had originally caught my attention, and seeing trailers of it piqued my interest. It didn't seem like I'd been sitting there for nearly 2 hours watching a movie; there was so much happening so fast, the time passed quickly. I had read that the violent parts didn't seem so violent, since they were so overdone it was humorous. That was definitely correct. Overall, much better than I was expecting; I know I'm going to watch it several more times before I have to return the DVD, and even though it's only three days, I'm very much looking forward to vol. 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bloody Awsome

    Tarantino always knows how to entertain us. What was so cool of him to do was make this movie like an anime. It even has anime in it made by I.G. Productions,the people who did Ghost in the Shell and Blood:The Last Vampier. Bloody and violent, but nice and smooth. This is something I can not put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    Definatley one of the best movies in the world. Worth seeing over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't go to a Q.T. film and expect the expected.

    Simply put, this is a great movie. However, it is frustrating when the only reviewers who give this film 5 stars because of the 'Blood and Hot Chicks.' This a beautifuly directed movie. Yes, it is terrribly bloody and the plot isn't a great one, but Quentin makes that work to create a great movie. It is also frustrating when the only reviewers who give this movie 1 star because of all the 'Gross blood and nasty rape scene'. One question, have you seen Pulp Fiction? This is one of the greatest movies ever made!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good Movie!

    This film has no plot at all. It has no character depth and we never feel for them. So what is so good about it? Well, quite about everything. The movie is a pure parody of the old Japanese martial arts movies. People have made parodies of the old martial arts movies before by trying to hard to make the audience laugh. They usually don't. The movie is stylish and fill with action. Out of all of it, the movie makes no sense at all. But that is the point when you think about it. The old fighting movies didn't make sense either. All overly done violence and the cheesy dialogue is merely a successful imiation of the old movies. I would say that this is one of the best movies of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not your average Kung Fu

    The first installment of the Kill Bill series is one of Quentin Tarantino¿s finest! All Tarantino fans will be more than pleased. It is a nonstop roller coaster ride of carefully crafted fight sequences and blood spurting action that puts slasher flicks to shame. The excessive splatter of blood in nearly every scene and limited dialogue holds up to the formula of the original Kung Fu movies and you will find yourself laughing along at the absurdity of it. Kill Bill Vol. 1 is a nice blend of Kung Fu and anime with a little western twist to it that will have you hooked from the opening scene. The story is also riveting. You really connect with Uma Thurman¿s character and are rooting for her the whole way through. It's the best movie since Pulp Fiction. Can¿t wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie of 2004

    You know I¿m reading these other reviews on Kill Bill and it seems the approval rating is about 50/50. I then think to my self, how can this be? Quentin Tarantino is one of the greatest film makers of all time, take Pulp Fiction for example, one of the most influential movies of the 90s, scratch that ¿the¿ most influential movie. Kill Bill is like a foreign language to some because of ignorance or cultural differences. Japanese is a beautiful language to most, but obscure and grotesque to some whom lack the vocabulary to understand its beauty. Some speak of violence or gore in the film with the same lack of understanding or ignorance. Tarantino is trying to fuse Japanese Yakuza and Samurai movies, water it down till its palatable to a U.S. audience to present a masterpiece. Seems like all the great directors whom you all love have a great respect for Asian cultures, Lucas with his Jedi or should we say Samurai or Spielberg with Road to Perdition, its been done before with Lone Wolf and Cub. Tarantino¿s ability to stylize his film with music and anime is a respectfully refreshing new concept in American cinema has gone un matched in originality. This movie is a must buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Film... but not for everyone

    Don't you just envy Quentin Tarantino's ingenuity? Somehow he is able to take bits and pieces from kung fu movies, spaghetti westerns and anime and weld them into something better than the sum of their parts. No one argues that he borrows from other genres and even directly from other films, but if that's what bothers you about this film, you're missing the point. He's taken all the great bits from the films he loves and has made a coherent, energetic and downright cool film with quotable lines and action sequences that will have the rest of Hollywood scrambling to keep up. Out of all the remakes and garbage films that get the green light now, Kill Bill vol. I stands out as a sharp and wildly inventive film that real cinema fans will enjoy for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Freakin' Awesome!!!

    This movie definetly lives up to Tarantino's other movies. Every one should go out and see this if their up for an action-packed thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kill Bill Vol. 1 - shocking, funny, fabulous

    Upon first view I got caught up in the graphic violence of it all, just like in Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs. But then, I watched it again and again and again, getting a great charge from it for its entertainment value and its plot, which is revealed in Vol. II - go see it. Right on Uma . . . . who really surprised me because I've been a fan of hers for years and never saw her as a female Jet Lee. Hey, Tarantino will always do one thing exceptionally well, shock the you know what out of us and keep us surprised. I LOVE THIS MOVIE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could it get any Better? YES!!!!!!

    This movie is a new generation of a Tarentino film. Yeah, his movies are VERY violent, but that is not the thing. The thing is that, his movies entertain us. Kill Bill Vol.1 is most certainly going to entertain you. Sure, there are some slow points, but it's a Tarentino film for god's sake. You need to know the story. And the story sends a message. You can not trust everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good or bad

    It was good, very good, and really good. thank you for reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies of Our Generation

    Q does it again and throws in a little more to this excellent blend of kung fu, western, and just plain fun. Anyone who doesn't see this film, doesn't need to be watching movies. And even though it was the first half of a whole movie, it felt like a full movie. Sure I was left wondering what was going to happen, but I felt closure anyway. If you love girls, humor, samurai blades, or just a great plot, watch this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Coolest Movie Ever Made.

    This film is so unbelievably cool that I was born anew in its genius.An instant classic.Quentin Tarantino took the underrated 'spaghetti-western',samurai and 'blaxpoitation' genres,and put them together with his own style and infused it with pure coolness to achieve cinematic greatness.This film is intoxicating in the way it seamlessly blends action,humor and storytelling.Truly brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Apex of Action movies

    Kill Bill Vol.1 to me represents the ultimate in the post-modern action/ hero movie genre, simply because you have a woman in the title role, as opposed to those mid 80's early 90's action duds (ex. Stallone, Seagal, Van Damme)--With the rise in action heroines on both TV and Film, this movie shows the power, grace, and viciousness women can wield. Note that most of The Bride's enemies are women. Kill Bill vol. 1 is a mod. movie classic in the sense that it succeeds in both the visual and audio aspects--much like Pulp Fiction. The soundtrack is up for a grammy this year. Most of you who didnt see the movie in theatres with the awesome sound system, may not get the same impact of as i did, but nonetheless its still great. (esp the little bit tracks) You dont get too many movies like this--thanks to Mr. Tarantino and Ms. Thurman and everyone else involved in making this movie. It has definately inspired me to create my own work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie of the Decade

    Kill Bill vol.1 was the most awsome, best, most action packed movie I have ever seen in my life. The story is great from beginning to end. It is unique and filled with many surprises(like the anime scene, sorry if I spoiled it for you) and of course lots of gore. I cannot imagine this movie without all of the gore and violence. If you haven't seen this movie you might as well have never lived. It is in my opinion Quentin's best movie and the best movie of the decade. It never gets boring and the martial arts is excellent. I gurantee that anyone who likes violence and a good action movie with a good story they will love this movie. I can't wait until Kill Bill vol.2 comes to theaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Bloody Great!

    Kill Bill has to be the best movie of this year. It is super creative and its fight scene in the house of blue leaves tops any of the cgi-garbage fight scenes in the Matrix. Also, this movie is superbly acted by Uma Thurman, who brings some humanity and sympathy to this movie. You have to watch this movie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Best Film of the Year

    This is by far one of, if not the best, film I have ever seen. It keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end, and the charecters(especially lucy liu and chikai kuriyama) do not dissapoint! Buy this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4