Customer Reviews for

King Arthur

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    King Arthur

    Clive owen rocks and Knightly shines in this awsome thrilling retelling of the classic story of king arthur. The fight scenes were terrific and the actors were so confincible. This has to be one of my favorites and a classic. The best king arthur movie yet. Buy this movie it is one you will be able to watch over and oer and over again. I know I will. PS buy the R rated version it's so muck better and more real than the PG-13.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a GREAT movie no matter what anybody else says!!!

    I only feel sorry for the director and the producer. I've read articles and interviews, and to be polite, it seems some great creative energy was cut short with an early release. But I truly believe all the actors gave as high a quality of work as those in 'Troy,' and the crew must have had the patience and stamina of God knows what to be able to maintain the quality with the quickened shooting schedule. The extended DVD is a perfect idea and a lovely way to prove, 'Hey, this is what great a movie can be when politics and business statistics aren't involved.' My sincere support to all involved. (P.S. Joel Edgerton: you were awesome as Gawain. Nice balancing act between rogue and early-century gentleman.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent movie !

    While everyone was talking about 'Troy' with Brad Pitt, this was the movie that needed to be seen ! First time in almost twenty years that I went to see a movie twice. The casting was perfect. Clive Owen made a good, tough, righteous King Arthur and Ioan Gruffudd a fabulous Lancelot. I know some people didn't like this movie, but I thought it was dark and brooding and definitely underrated. When I heard the director of 'Training Day' directed it, I had a feeling it would be good and I wasn't disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT FILM

    I agree with the other five star reviews. I've been a fan of the Arthurian legends since I was a child and this is the closest I've seen a film get to what might have really been. Friends of mine love to rip apart historical films, but the thing some people forget is that films are made as entertainment for the masses and so the studios can make money. If we get entertained in the process, that's a bonus. If you want completely detailed, historically accurate to the tiniest degree programming - watch the History channel or Discovery channel. If you want a little movie magic that's entertaining, see this film. The battle scenes are great, the character development is very good, the actors fit their parts, and there wasn't a stupid love triangle that was invented in the twelfth century courts of love to spice things up. They are real people who live and die for what they believe in. No matter what side they're on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Awesome!

    This movie is honestly one of my favorites of all time. Was it historically accurate? Partially, but that's not really what matters. What matters is the feel of the film. The film is exciting and occasionally witty. I walked away feeling entertained and the movie actually got me reinterested in Arthurian myth.

    While, no, it does not bring in the magic and mysticism that many have come to expect of movies pertaining to King Arthur, it does provide a certain view into what might have been. It may not be entirely, or even mostly, accurate, but it does provide fuel for one's imagination.

    Despite the issues that so many point out, this film is amazing, and the acting is superb.

    Mads Mikkelsen (Tristan)--regardless of the fact that he did not have a lot of screen time-- was captivating. By the end of the movie, I found that he was the one that I had really paid attention to most of the film. Forget Arthur. I was much more intrigued by the quiet knight.

    One of the other excellent characters was portrayed by Ray Stevenson (Dagonet). Even though he also does not have much screen time, his character is one that I actually found to be quite incredible.

    All in all, regardless of what the critics and haters might say, this movie is amazing and it is one that I watch time and time again, each time falling more in love with the characters. Needless to say, I would-and often do- recommend this movie to anyone, especially those interested in Arthurian legend. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The realistic history of King Arthur and the battles.

    It is a movie to see if you like true history and action scenes. The scenery, the way the story was played out in the movie, along with the characters are very realistic and easy to understand. Prowess was earned, not handed out, which is what the movie shows. The movie shows what people had to put up with back in that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Stuff of Legends

    'King Arthur' didn't go sit too well with the critics. Nor did it gain much box office success or attention in theaters. However, that does not make it any less grand. It tells the story of Arthur and his soldiers and their deeds in Britain. With the general idea of a new theory that the legend was based on a half-Roman, half-Briton officer in charge of a group of Sarmatian (present-day East Europe) cavalry in Roman Britannia, the filmmakers have weaved together a story that truly shows how these men could have been the inspiration for the future legends. Those who dislike this movie for being innacurate or for 'blasphemous ideas' are missing the point that it tells just that: an entertaining story. The Arthurian appeal of righteous heroes is still intact. In fact, I believe it has been magnified in this movie, for it is an underdog story of a ragtag, underequipped group of men who must question where they belong and the ability of good to triumph in such corruption. Being that Arthur's soldiers are not privileged and wealthy knights, but men drafted from their homes at an early age to fight for a land not their own, their heroics become that much more touching as a result. I can't speak for those who hate this film for whatever reasons, but as for me, I love the ideas and timeless themes that this film portrays. 'King Arthur' shows off some good acting, dialogue, music and cinematography to top it all off. All in all, a rousing epic and fine entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MOVIE. BUY IT

    This is the best movie since Lord of the Rings. I love it. No more of that nerdy Excalibur being a Majic sword, just a simple sword. No more wizard Merlin, simple woad leader. And no more of that damnsel in distress, Guenivere is hot but she can fight to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The way it should be told

    I love how this movie stripped away the mystic magical legend and made Arthur just another man trying to do good. Excellent movie!! Better than Excalibur, though I still love that one, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie in Years

    I think this movie was excellent, the casting and the music made it so. I bought the DVD 1 week ago and have watched it 6 times in the last week. I can't quit watching it and the main reason is Clive Owen. He plays it so good that you really believe he is King Arthur and when the movie is over you have to remind yourself that he isn't. Not too many actors can pull that off but he certainly can and did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVED IT!!

    I don't understand why a lot of people didn't like this movie. I loved it! The actors did a great job and I was crying at the end. It takes a lot to make me cry, but this movie touched me. I love the medieval time period and this movie did an excellent job portraying the real King Arthur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FINALLY, A FILM ABOUT THE MAN WHO COULD HAVE BEEN THE REAL KING ARTHUR.

    This is one of the absolute best Arthurian films that I have ever seen and it's not even your typical King Arthur movie. There is no Camelot, no magic, no Holy Grail, and finally two certain people express their undying love for one another without the treachery of another. Instead, super-producer: Jerry Bruckheimer and talented director: Antoine Fuqua tell the little known historical true story that may very well have given birth to the legend we all know and love. Here we see Arthur ,not as a baby prince taken from his royal parents by Merlin the wizard and draws Excalibur from a stone as a unknowing squire, but as a battle-hardened warrior and commander in the army of the dying Roman Empire, leading his elite band of knights stationed in Roman-occupied Britain against long-time foe: Merlin, here presented as the guerilla leader of the land's native people: The Woads, who can't wait for the Romans to leave for good. Unfortunately for them, a massive army of Saxon barbarians arrive to take over control of the land as the Romans leave. Desperate, Merlin and his daughter (Yes, Daughter;Not mentioned in the film but discovered in the adapted novel by Frank Thompson ): Guinevere set aside their pride to ask Arthur and his knights:Lancelot, Galahad, Bors, Tristin, Gawain, and Dagonet to lead them against the Saxons during one final mission for Rome which if they succeed means that Arthur's men will at last be freed from their forced serventude to their hated roman masters (Arthur is the only roman the knights trust and as their leader, loyally entrust their lives to). While Lancelot and the others can't wait to leave Britain and the Roman Empire forever to go home to their native land: Sarmatia, a land somewhere in Russia (Yes, Arthur's real knights were from an ancient russian clan intergrated by force into Rome's military) Arthur is torn between his desire to return to the beauty of Rome and help his Christian mentor: Pelagius in spreading the good word & helping the fearful natives save their homeland from the merciless invaders. Before this film, I never knew about the famous Battle of Badon's Hill, Hadrian's Wall, or the Sarmatian knights. The music is great, the story is awesome (penned by David Franzoni: co-writer of Gladiator), the acting is cool (Especially Clive Owen as Arthur, Keira Knightley as Guinevere and Ioan Gruffard as Lancelot), this is the best Arthur movie since Excalibur. A must own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved This Movie

    I loved the story and the casting was fabulous. I have never gone and seen a movie as many times as I have King Arthur. The music, scenery, photography, humor, love, betrayal, honor of friendship and country,and gorgeous horse scenes. I loved the ice battle scene and the final battle scene. I appreciated that the battle scenes were tension filled but no heads, body parts or blood spurted. I really liked that this was left to our imagination. I recommend this movie to all ages. Clive Owen (King Arthur) is perfect, and his Knights are truly a legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    King Arthur

    This is one movie you will be able to watch over and over. It's so good. Keira knightley is brilliant and Clive Owen is unforgettable. I loved it. This has to be one of the best movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2