Customer Reviews for

Léon: The Professional

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    To Octavius: If you watch the special features Jeno Reno wanted Leons character to be a little slow, to show before he meets mathilda the only thing he is good at is being the perfect killing machine. Thus, where mathilda comes in and teachs him that their are more things in life than being a lone wolf, and a killer. I highly recommend this movie, but get the extended version because you can really see the characters grow throughout the movie, and it sheds light on where Leon came from, and why he is a hitman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest movie of all time!

    My friend introduced me to this movie and when I first saw it I fell in love with it. Everything about it is perfect. Its more than a movie to me its a work of art. I recommend it to anyone but you have to look beyond the action in the movie and connect with the romantic side of the characters. I love action movies but this isn't the average hitman flick. In fact I love it so much if a sequel came out I wouldn't see it because the story is already perfect and I feel if anything were added to it, it would probably let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Movie Ever!!!!!

    This movie was so beautifully made. The first time I saw this movie it left me mesmerized i couldn't look away. The music the mood and the actors... wow. Oh and the meaning behind the story. It's not just an action film it's a love story and a tragic one at that. This is my favorite movie of all time and i would recommend this movie to anyone. Trust me you'll fall in love with it like I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME

    This movie was wonderfully crafted and expertly shot by director Luc Besson. Reno's performance as the cold hitman Leon was one worth remebering. Natalie Portman's performance has earned her the title of a grade A actress. The chemistry between Reno and Portman are so believable, it is almost tangible. Fantastic, action-packed movie!! A must see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A ''Professional'' film

    A magnificent (if somewhat violent) film that you will find yourself watching over and over again. This is an amazing movie that I wholeheartedly reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true gem that not many people see

    The original release lacks much of the story that gives this movie it's true power. Fortunately, the DVD does contain all of the previously un-released (in North America) footage. Natalie Portman is often viewed as a so-so actress, many opinions due to the new Star Wars episodes. Don't be fooled - she IS in fact an excellent actress, and I was completely blown away by her performance in this movie. Jean Reno also does an excellent job in creating a convincing character, and combined with these characters so real you could touch them, the story unfolds to an experience you'll never forget. The only bad thing I have to say about this movie, is the beginning has actors that really suck. Of course, given the nature of this film they are quickly expelled from the story... Still, once you get past the flaky beginning, it is one of the best movie acheivements of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of my favorites

    excellent movie, one of my favorite all time movies, well directed, well acted, 10 + a must see, one of the finest movies ive ever seen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    Absolutely brilliant! One of the most Phenominal movies ever. Possibly the best drama-action movie ever made. Jean Reno plays Leon, the hard cold hitman, living a joyless life, living as a machine. Entil the family next door gets brutily murderd and he is obligated to let Matilda (Natalie Portman) in. Though the movie they develop one of the greatest on-screen chemistrys of any movie before or sence. Leon teaches Matilda the art of the kill and Matilda teaches Leon, the joy in life. With fight sceans theat will blow your mind and a drama story that will grip your heart, Leon: The Professional is one of the most brilliant moves of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!! (this is NOT A JOKE!)

    You may think im joking but im not... This story is one of the most compelling stories ever told the drama & action set in this movie, really take your breath away, it hits the heart, and makes you feel what they are feeling, Luc Besson genius is flawless on the presentation of this Uncut International Version of Leon: The Professional. A highly respected movie, that made tremors throughout the world with its message and purpose, I very Highly recommend this, more than any other movie and i am not joking, this movie is worth every penny it is bought at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Women No Kids!

    That is what Leon (Jean Reno) tells his young protoge' Matilda played by pre-teen Natalie Portman when showing her how to be a cleaner aka Hitman. This movie by French director Luc Besson is another gem in the French man's crown. Gary Oldman's performance of a currupt DEA agent in excellent! Danny Aiello's portrayal of Leon's handler is very good also! This is a great movie with a good soundtrack throughout the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ...the best movie ever..?

    ...possibly the best movie ever made in terms of balanced story and action. Natalie Portman gives the most convincing performance I've ever seen a child actress give. Jean Reno is also giving a very well-rounded performance for an actor not known especially for his acting ability. Gary Oldman is just good, when is he not? And Danny Aiello tops his superb perfomance from Hudson Hawk (I thought that movie rocked, maybe I'm wrong). For an action movie this had whole lot of drama; or for a drama, this had a lot of action in it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An action story that makes your heart bleed

    This movie will almost leave you speechless. The tragedy of Matilda and her relationship with Leon will grip you and the action scenes will keep you on the edge of the seat. This movie is so heartwrenching, it'll leave a tear in your eye and a sigh on your breath as it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BETTER THAN SCARFACE!!!

    I have seen this movie many times, and also have seen Scarface many times. Both in my mind are the two greatest actions movies ever. Leno (Jean Reno) is a heartless hitman who kills with no mercy. But when his neighbor Matilda's (Natalie Portman) family gets killed by ruthless bogus cop Gary Oldman and Matilda comes to Leon for help. He faces a dilemma and lets her in, she discovers his job as a ''cleaner'' and begs him to train her to help kill Gary Oldman and his thug group. The ending scene will leave you crying and the middle action scenes will leave you speechless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic

    The Professional builds up great characters in a twisted dark humor way. The action is full and the story is great. Natalie Portman is ahead of her time, her best picture. Gary Oldman plays the villain perfectly. Jean Reno's acting is superb too. This is the best movie of all time getting better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2