Customer Reviews for

Labyrinth

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Of The Best!!! A must See!

    This is the best movie! David Bowie is the coolest person, and he is hot, hot, hot! I love the little Catapillar at the beginning, he is soooo cute! Me and my older sister think that this is the best movie, and will have it for the rest of our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie

    I've been watching this movie since I was born, it's a wonderful escape into the fantasy land of the Labyrinth and the goblin city. A must-see for any fantasy lovers. I even forced all my friends to watch it. We quote it regularly. This movie doesn't get half the attention it deserves as a Jim Henson masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    When my children were younger I got the movie and watched it first by myself to make sure it was ok for children. What a wonderful moral there is to this story. The moral - be careful what you wish for. My children loved it as much as I did and we watched it over and over. Great animation and music. I bought the CD as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A magical movie.

    A marvelous and magical flick for all ages. Jennifer Connelly was such a major hottie back in the 80's yet she still is, this is a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This sparks some great childhood memories..

    This movie is the reason why I am a huge fan of fantasy movies. I remember when my sister and I first watched this film. We were so facinated and mesmerized by the story line and the characters. I related so much to the Jennifer Connelly character, because I too was the older sibling who dealt with some mixed feelings towards my younger sibling, but we connected when we watched this movie over and over again. We would sing the songs and we thought David Bowie was haunting and wickedly lovable. I have even downloaded some of the songs on my Media player and I still sing the ''Dance Magic Dance'' song to my sister now and again. This movie is a great collectable item and I hope to share it with my children one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bowie is super hott in the movie

    The movie is the best it does not matter what age you are the movie will always stick with you and so will David Bowie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bowie ROCKS!

    I love this movie. IT JUST ROCKS BECAUSE DAVID BOWIE IS IN IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EITHER YOU ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT OR YOU JUST DON'T GET IT

    I absolutely adore this film, and always will. I was a budding magician in the late 80's, and so many magical moments in this film are permanently etched in my brain. I was in a drama class where we had the assignment of quoting lines from a favorite film, T.V. show, or whatever we were familiar with and thought might be effective in conveying vulnerability, emotion, whatever would sieze those precious few moments we had on stage. I chose the following scene from Labyrinth (which I know I can spare you all the details of, knowing what I assume you know), performed solo and with great effect (forgive me if I do not quote it exactly, it's been about a decade): '' How you turn my world you precious thing. You starve and near exhaust me. Everything I've done I've done for you. I move the stars for no one. You've run so long, you've run so far. You're eyes can be so cruel. Just as I can be so cruel. Live without your sunlight. Love without your heartbeat. I can't live within you.'' I loved this film. Magically- Jennifer, once the Magician

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Eternal Classic

    I was 9 with a new baby brother when my grandfather took me to see it in the theater. Unfortunately, no matter how many times I said ''I wish the goblins would come and take you away - right now,'' David Bowie never materialized. :( Now, almost 17 years later, even my brother loves the movie (although I'd still trade him to the Goblins for Bowie). I just wish they would re-release the book with movie pictures. I had it years ago, and would love to find it again! Jennifer Connelly has been one of my favorite actresses since this movie, it's great to see how far she's come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i need to know

    this movie is really really good. but i just want to know if there is a book copy of this somewhere?if you know please email me thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    profound,amazing

    I recently watched this and it brought back amazing childhood memories bcuz i first watched it when i was 6 me and my friends used to act out the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Most Entertaining and enjoyable movie for ALL

    I have seen this movie to numerous times to count. I used to watch it with my children when they were younger. Now I watch it because I missed seeing it when the kids stopped watching it. Hence, I watch it for my own enjoyment. THE MUSIC IS GREAT, AS BOWIE ONLY COULD BE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie EVER!!!!

    i first saw this movie when me and my cousins decided to rent a random movie from the local video store, little did we know we were renting what would become our favorite movie of all time! just imagine four boys between the ages of 10 and 16 laughing and singing along to the same songs and scenes over and over again. sound strange? not if you've seen this movie, because if you have, im sure you can relate. PS: you remind me of the babe. what babe? the babe with the power. what power? the power of voodoo. who do? you do. do what? remind me of the babe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Ulitmate Fantasy Adventure Movie!!

    I was 3 when the film was released and even then i loved it, with the glittery sets, catchy music and funny creatures. When i grew a little older, i loved it even more as its a classic fantasy adventure story. I soooo wanted to be Sarah, fighting Jareth and his goblins and making new friends. I especially love the gorgeous ballroom sequence as its the ultimate 'make believe' moment. The Bog of Eternal Stench is great cos its soooooo gross!! I used to have Labyrinth on tape followed with the making off documentary, which i watched a million times...then it got taped over!! Now with the glorious DVD re-release i not only own my favourite film again, but i also have the full making off documentary, which provides a humourous and in-depth behind the scenes look at the film and its characters, and is equally as fantastic as the film. I also have the cool soundtrack (featuring 'As The World Falls Down' so i can pretend to be Sarah in the ballroom sequence!). The magical sets, gorgeous costumes, fantastic creatures, exciting and easy storyline and the two brilliant performances from David and Jennifer are the reasons why I LOVE THIS FILM!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Very Cool Movie

    I had heard of this movie before from one of my friends a few years ago. It wasn't until a few weeks ago that I actually saw Labyrinth for the first time. I didn't really know what to expect. I figured that I would like it anyway because I love fantasy movies. I absolutely loved the movie! It's a great movie for people who enjoy fantasy movies and books. It's got cool music and awesome characters. The whole movie is great. I loved how everything in the maze was always changing. It made the movie all the more exciting to watch. The sets were great as well as all the made up creatures in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Epitome of 80s Rock-N-Roll and Orgasmic Fantasy

    The Labyrinth is the most elaborately produced film of the 80s. David Bowie accentuates his lyrical satires of the 70s and incorporates that charisma of Rock-N-Roll and fantasy into an affectacious array of sci-fi, magical fairy tale, and Rock-N-Roll.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still Loving the Labyrinth

    I purchased this movie several years ago, and have watched it a number of times. This summer my granddaughter has been staying with me, and she has watched it at least 8 times since the beginning of July. It is the all time ''lets pretend''movie, Sarah(Connelly) the ultimate princess, and no one could surpass the excellent job done by David Bowie as Jareth. You want to hate him, but you have to love him. I have planned to get a copy of the movie for the granddaughter for her collection. Between Henson and Lucas, they weave the magic web to make-believe. Great movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Jim Henson at his Finest!!!

    This is certainly the most memorable film I have ever seen. It ranks up there with Star Wars and E.T.. The costumes are beautiful and the music is perfect. The characters are unforgetable. Everyone should watch this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE

    Hey i'm 14 and i have always loved this movie ever sincee i was 2!! my mom introduced me to this movie and it have been one of my absolte favorites!!! This is an everybody movie!! it has everything. action, adventure, romance, thrills, chills, it's a roller coaster of emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    Wow! I love this movie! I've watched it at least 10 times a year since I was born! {I'm 14} If you enjoyed Lord of the Rings, you're bound to love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4