BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lady in the Water

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A change of opinion

    I'm a big fan of Shyamalan, but after having been quite disappointed by The Village I was hesitant to see Lady in the Water -- particularly after all of the bad press it had received. What I did do, though, was read a book already mentioned by another reviewer about the making of the film, entitled The Man Who Heard Voices: Or, How M. Night Shyamalan Risked His Career on a Fairy Tale. I was hoping it would provide some insight into both the man and the movie. It did just that -- and I do recommend it to any Shyamalan fan. It also left me very curious about the film, so I bought the DVD. The first time I watched it, I thought it was awful. So much so that I figured I had to have missed something very elemental. So I watched it again, looking for a key -- anything -- that would help me understand what Night was trying to convey. Unfortunately, I still thought it was awful after a second viewing. Oh no! So I watched it two more times. I suppose there are some folks who might think I'm nuts for trying so hard to appreciate a movie, but I felt compelled to do so. I couldn't believe that a man whose first three commercial films had blown me away could have followed them with such Grade-A clunkers. By the end of my 3rd viewing I'd had a couple of mild ah-ha moments -- I was finally starting to get it. During the 4th, it dawned on me that not only is suspension of disbelief required here, suspension of reality is necessary. Even though the story takes place in contemporary Philadelphia, the characters don't act in ways you'd expect or that even make sense. And that had been my main stumbling block. I'd been expecting characters to behave rationally in a movie with a Narf, a Scrunt, three Tartutic and a Great Eatlon. What could I have been thinking? I'd forgotten this is a bedtime story. I'd been watching it as an analytical adult. So after four viewings, my opinion of Lady in the Water has changed. It does have its flaws, to be sure -- but I no longer think it's awful. Parts of it are really quite beautiful. And the haunting score by James Newton Howard is exquisite. I wouldn't want to work this hard to like every movie I see, but in this case I feel the effort was warranted. It really paid off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Trash! Basura!

    One of the worst films of the century! Instead of wasting my money on this crap (and also my time in the theater) I should have been taking a crap. Then after I would go to China Town fair and play Raiden, go out to a bar with some friends and get wasted, and finally wake up saying: "Wow I had a really good time last night!" But insted, I went to the movies with a friend to see this crap, big mistake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Underestimated

    I don't know what most people expected from this film, but if they really looked closely they would find that it is a modern day bedtime story. It's simlpy a fairy tale with a moral of the story theme. M. Knight Shyamalan sets out to create something for a new generation as with all his films. I feel he is underestimated and ahead of time. This is one his best films.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliantly creative and inovated!!!!

    Oh,the title!Nobody ever gives credit to the beautifully,vibrant illustrated cover design for ''Lady in the Water''! Whoever illustrated the movie title is a spectacular,talented ,creative ,outstanding, artistic, amazing genius!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean,look at the colors! Such debth into a fantasy world! It really catches your attention and really draws you to it... Anyway, Bryce Dallas Howard gave a breathtakingly,outstanding performance in ''The Village'' and ''Lady in the Water''!!! Her acting goes far beyond the boundaries of the ordinary newcomer actress.She is much more proficient in the acting field than her father, Ron Howard.She should be recognized by The National Board Of Review for her extrordinary talent.I think she is like the Westerner image of China's MAGNIFICENT GONG LI!!!!!! She's that worthy!!I think that she is breathtakingly beautiful like an angel from HEAVEN!I first saw her in ''The Village'' and thought she was extremley beautiful and talented.By the way, I do not know why this movie was coldly rejected. It is something only a child could understand.It is pure genius and very creative.It is unlike most of those other horror films that seem cheesy,appear to be stupid,and lack self-intelligence.Most of them do not seem to portray a story-line.They are not woven into debth as M.Night Shamylan's storytelling in most of his films.Well, this film really deserves more attention from children and adults aike.It awakens the childlike spirit in man.P.S. You will not be disapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lady in an empty pool

    Night has always had a problem with understanding the number one rule in cinema. Caring about other characters before anything happens. In his new film, Lady In The Water, he employs the same tactics only worse. It's sad because if Night had only flushed out his characters more, I would have enjoyed this insane science fiction film. Instead, Night did something that every new writer does and that is assumes. He assumes that the audience will buy into two dimensional characters. When I was watching this film in theaters on July 21, 2006 I saw people get up and leave. The film has an amazing cast that takes this story seriously and the cinematographers use of warm and cool tones were perfect for this film. Overall, the film lacks common sense, flushed out characters and of course pacing. I hope "The Happening" will be Night's Phoenix project in terms of reviews and money. If it doesn't, don't expect Night to have a new film for a long, long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So, so

    I liked it and thought that it was original. It had a few make you jump moments: "Was it the dog, Story." Ooo, shivers. I thought is could have been better, but I reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Original concept, but not what I expected! Failed to reach its potential!

    From all the previews, I was expecting a real horror story ... NOT! Although I enjoyed some of the actors and thought Giametti, as the building manager, and Howard as the water nymph, were suited for their roles, this movie was too slow in getting started. ––– Once I figured out what was going on and got past the large cast of characters involved, it turned out to be fairly enjoyable ... but I had to view it as a semi- comedy instead of the horror movie that I expected. ––– Except for the scene where Giametti first discovers Howard in the pool, all the pool scenes seemed contrived and too "glitzy" for this type of movie. The large supporting cast were good humans, eager to help the "young girl in trouble and the guy trying to save her," but they seemed unrealistic. ––– Even though I didn't like it very well, when they finally got into any real action, I found the graphics on those scenes to be pretty good, especially the ending. ––– It was a unique concept that failed to reach its potential. I expected more from this much-touted director/producer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Night Rules!!!!

    This is an amazing tender tale of love, wonder and the courage of the human spirit!!!! Paul Giamatti and Bryce Dallas Howard shine as does Sarita Choudhury and Mr. Shyamalan himself! It is really one of his most innovative films, right up there with my personal favorite "Unbreakable"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lady InThe Water

    Based off of book hence if you have read it you know what its about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not billed or marketed properly

    I enjoyed the film, it was very unique. But the film lacked the beautiful mystique of what makes a great bedtime story. It was still a cool film. It didn't really establish that fantasy or "fairy tale" feeling for me. The monsters coming after the Narf were very scary and well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A bedtime story brought to life.

    M. Night Shyamalan gives another interesting film. His earlier works have been very cynical, and sometimes dark. This film, in the other hand, ventures away from that and the characters are in a dissimilar light. M. Night somehow made a movie that is compatible with children, and just as compatible with the adult. The humor doesn't lose its touch halfway through the movie, and in some respects the humor adds to the sadness. The opening tells us that this is a children's story, pretty much about good vs. evil and visually suggests that the people from the water are like angels. The whole plot is laid out right there the depiction of it in character, in dialog, in camera shots, is compelling to the very end. The casts, mostly whom are less character-driven but are caricatures on the screen, gave good performances. The acting by Paul Giamati and Bryce Dallas Howard were true to their roles. M. Night Shyamalan appearances are always appealing to me. I even like he summarily dealt with critics. The soundtrack explodes when it needs to and whispers when it doesn't. Night is wise to employ Christopher Doyle (2046, Infernal Affairs, In The Mood For Love) as the cinematographer. Doyle is a genuine architect of angles, mood and atmosphere when it comes to hand-held cameras. For me, this movie is a painting and Night is the painter. We, as viewers, can never understand an artist. So did the people at Disney, who rejected his sixth drafted script. Probably in 1000 years from now someone is going to write THE SHYAMALAN CODE and make big bucks out of the novel. And that's the twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This wasn't a bad movie

    After viewing this movie, I just don't see why there has been so much negative publicity concerning it. Sure, it's kinda slow but the characterization is top notch and the story is a good one. It might have ended a little abruptly but the whole point was to get her back into the water and when that was accomplished there really wasn't anything more to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not his best but not horrid

    I love M. Night's movies, not always for the story but for his ability as a director, he has an incredible talent behind the camera in making the audience a member of the film by making the camera a character. This film does have it's pitfalls, M. Night is not very good at writing dialoge or creating believable characters, but since this is a "fairy tale" that seems fitting. The creatures look great, even if they do look like the design was stolen from a Miyazki film. All in all it's good but don't expect a big twist ending (which only two of his five films have any way) and don't expect a horror movie (has he ever even done a horror movie?). It's well acted and deserves a good look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It just wasnt good!

    When i saw this movie, i said to myself that i was going to ignore all of the bad reviews that most critics gave it because they are usually wrong. However, they were right this time. This movie was absolutely terrible. I sat through the entire thing wondering when it was going to start picking up. The dialogue in the movie lacked depth and the storyline was just plain stupid. Now, i like all of M. Night Shymalans other movies, but this one failed miserably.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another misunderstood Shyamalan film.

    Much like the poorly reviewed Shyamalan films, "Unbreakable" and "The Village", this movie suffers from reviewers whose expectations of Shyamalan are skewed from "The Sixth Sense". "Lady in the Water" has a wonderful cast, the script is well written and at times funny, the plot is very simple and straightforward but towards the end of the movie is quite touching. If this movie was marketed as a children's film I think it would have faired better at the boxoffice as well as with the reviewers. The movie doesn't talk down to its audience but its content is fantastical and fairytale-ish and would be more enjoyed by a younger audience whose minds are a little more open to accepting and enjoying such a plot. Remember Shyamalan wrote this movie as a "bedtime story" for his children. I thought it was fantastic and thoroughly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I love, love love this movie! It was sooo awesome. It was sort of a change from M. Night's previous films, as the suspense and action was a bit more tame, but Lady in the Water is a true masterpiece. The acting was great, especially by Bryce Dallas Howard and Paul Giamatti. The stroy's plot, from the children's bed time book, is beautiful and mysterious. Also, the music by James Newton Howard is superb. I definately reccomend the move and book to anyone that loves Mr. Shyamalan and a sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2