Customer Reviews for

Land of the Dead

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So So

    This particular zombie film, in my opinion, is not Romero's best work. It's okay, but I thought there could have been a little bit more to it, and some of the gore is actually a bit unbelievable and over the top, though not all of it. The acting and all that on it was pretty decent. Overall, if you want a really good zombie movie, I would suggest certain others, such as Dawn of the Dead and Day of the Dead and other such movies...but this one is at least worth a watch. Probably not much more in my opinion though, but judge for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Undead Gore Rocks the Casbah in this Hardcore Zombie Flick

    One day, they rose.
    The next, the world fell.
    Now, humanity barely survives.
    And the undead have gotten smarter.

    Zombies abound in this recent blockbuster by George A. Romero and, as always, the man who invented the zombie genre shows us he still has what it takes to turn out a good flick.

    Simon Baker does a great job playing the hard-edged yet soft-hearted hero, while John Leguizamo steals the show as a kind of crooked hero-turned-bad guy.

    What I enjoyed about this flick was the idea of a walled-in society, a city-turned-world of its own, with its own hierarchy, running down from rich to poor. I suppose that even if the dead walked the earth, we'd still have the same problems we have today with the rich getting richer and the poor poorer.

    Blood and guts fill the screen of this feature: graphic, wet and sloppy. There's no shortage of stomach-turning moments here.

    I liked the idea of some of the zombies getting smarter instead of just roaming around looking for folks to eat, and the idea of them trying to regain their former humanity was well done. However, the "human-hearted" zombies also made the creatures feel a bit too human, for my taste and the undead lost their edge as a result.

    The story was simple, but fun.

    Not a bad effort, this one.

    Language warning: Cursing and blasphemy

    A.P. Fuchs
    Canister X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Zombies, Poor Characters

    I admire George A. Romero for what he has done with the zombie genre over the past 4 decades. It is because of him that we know zombies as they exist in popular culture today. Romero has crafted the undead in such a way that we could believe them to be real if the proper circumstances arose to animate human corpses. Even without him there have been some good zombie films whether it be Zombi 2 or even Dead Alive. Though George A. Romero has created the best zombies on film there has always been one thing lacking to make his movies as great as they could be: The characters. Unlike it's predecessor Day of the Dead, Land has more likable characters though that is about as far as the positives go. There is never a point in the film where one could really connect with the cast on an emotional level. That is not to say that the acting is poor, just that the writing lacks whatever it is that makes us, the audience, connect with each character as if we were along side them the whole way. I feel like this movie could have been amazing rather than just great if only the characters weren't so one-dimensional. The zombies, I suppose, were the real stars of the picture anyway and no one can make better zombies than George A. Romero and his crack team of special effects gurus. This is one of the best zombie films to come out in a long time and nothing says that more than the dedication of the crew to make the most realistic creatures, costumes, and sets in a film about the undead. Dawn of the Dead(remake) runs close second as far as production values go. If you are a zombie fan, don't hesitate to pick this little gem up, you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst.

    This could possibly be one of the worst zombie movies ever. I mean, come on Romero. You made Night of the Living Dead and now your going to spit out this B rated flick? The movie is extremely boring for a horror movie. There are seriously no scary parts. Even Dawn of the Dead remake had scary parts. Very dissapointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great Zombie Movie

    Remeros back! The best zombie movie yet, and will make up for Dawn of the Deads sloppy zombie facts. But I hate it that people think this is a sequel to the remake of Dawn of the Dead. The movie is realistic (zombie wise) and is realy gory and bloody. I loved it and hope a lot of other people do to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best Zombie film of 2005

    This movie is better than The remake of Dawn of the dead because if the zombies are dead all can they run if they ded their legs would be teared off. This movie had more gore and makeup effects than Dawn of the dead remake. It only had a few bad shots and it will remade again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sequels getting worse...

    Being a fan of the horror and zombie genre, I loved "Night of the Living Dead" and "Dawn of the Dead". However, the last 2 movies have been uninspired, and not intense. With the first 2 movies, I was involved with the characters, and could not wait to see what happened next. This latest film had me bored from the very beginning, and I love zombie movies. The characters were very unbelievable, and the scenes even more so. For example: 1. At the beginning of the movie, characters from the city are in a suburb looking for food and supplies. John Leguzamo's character and 2 others go into a liquor store to get liquor of course. They check the opening room of the store, and then drop their guard and start getting the goods. No, do not worry about checking behind the counter, much less the store room in the back. Sure enough, a zombie crashes through some glass to attack one of the guys... Just dumb. 2. When the zombies finally break into the glass building where the "elite" are staying, people all of a sudden are moving like they have cement in their shoes. The zombies are at the window for like a minute, and there is no one around except the security guards. Then in the next scene, the zombies are in side chasing and grabbing the high class citizens. Is it just me, or if I saw a hungry zombie about to break in, I would be running the opposite way. To me, just dumb. And those are just 2 examples.... The best part of the movie were the zombies tearing into the people... guts being pulled out, a tongue pulled away from a person, and a face being peeled over a head are some of the examples.. the makeup effects are great. And in the unrated version, the blood is flowing. Instead of wasting your money on this movie, go buy or re-rent Dawn of the Dead. And no, not the remade one !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Remero back in the game!

    This movie is awesome!! I saw it the first day it came out in theaters. Definatly matches up with his other work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie was great

    i have waited 20 years for this movie, but it was worth the wait, i loved it so much. it has all of the great Romero zombie action that i love and i would definately reccomend that you buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Land of the Dead

    In the Dead series there has been a lot of various was to get rid of a zombie. There has also been various looks for zombies in all of the movies. But in Land of the Dead they pulled no stops with the deaths and the look of various zombies. The story was great and i felt that it followed with the theame of the movies before it. I do have to say thought that the ending is not what i would of liked but oh well. I loved this movie and can not wait till i get it on DVD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great zombie flick!

    This movie was a great comeback for Romero, although my wife was a little disappointed that he chose to retain the zombie's slow lumbering stagger instead of the more ferocious fast zombie gait seen in more recent films like Dawn of the Dead remake and 28 Days Later. But overall this movie had everything it needed to secure it's place in the zombie genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY ENTERTAINING AND BLOODY

    I just bought this dvd yesterday, and popped it in the dvd player right when I got home. This movie is awesome. It's full of blood, violence, guns, and of course zombies! I love zombie movies and this one certainly doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fourth and Final (?) Installment is Zombie Gold

    Featuring some of the most easily recognized character actors of modern cinema, this fourth, and most likely final, installment in George A. Romero's zombie series is a gore-fest in the truest sense of the term. Master that he is Romero has once again managed to blend political commentary with “splattervision.” Some may say the storyline lacks some of the urgency of the three previous entries, and is therefore somewhat of a letdown considering the clamor to have it made by zombiephiles everywhere. Land of the Dead is a revenant of a different appetite. More than the undead have evolved in this entry. Apparently Hollywood has become aware of the ravenous following Romero has cultivated as there was a much grander scale to this entry than any of the previous. Anyone who snuck downstairs as a child to watch a good bloodbath on television will absolutely love this movie however, if the thought of shambling hoards of the undead snacking on your neighbors is just plain gross to you, you might consider some other flick to pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect Zombie Sequel!!!

    It's been 20 years since George A. Romero's Day of the Dead was released. Now George Romero has returned (thank god) to the genre that he created. The world has become overrun with the living dead. A group of survivors headed by Riley try to find supplies and shelter for the surviviors. The rich survivors get to stay at Fiddler's Green, a mall/townhouse place. Riley eventually loses the control of one of his men whose name is Cholo and he steals Dead Reckoning, the armored tank they use from going from place to place. Riley is then hired by Kaufman, the rich leader of Fiddler's Green, to find Cholo and bring back Dead Reckoning. Riley along with his friends: Slack, Charlie, & Pilsbury, are off to find Cholo and avoid the dead. This movie is truly a masterwork from George Romero. He finally got a good break and did what he does best. The social commentary about terrorism and racism is once again clear. This is what is missing from all the other zombie films out there. Another plus is that the zombies don't run! But surprisingly and effectively they become smarter. George A. Romero has given the world another masterpiece that will once again be remembered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1