Customer Reviews for

Lars and the Real Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Liked it

    This is such a great, heartwarming movie. I really enjoyed it. It is about Lars, a lonely, withdrawn guy, who after a tough childhood, lives in the garage of his brother`s family. Despite efforts to include him in the family, Lars prefers being alone, and is very awkward in most social situations, despite surrounded by well-meaning family and co-workers.
    Lars orders a doll on the internet, which he names Bianca and treats her as if she was a real person.The psychiatrist his family takes him too suggests that the whole town should play along with him, because Bianca is his bridge to real life, and there is some trauma that Lars can only work out this way.
    So reluctantly, they all play along, which results in funny situations, and Bianca changes their, and Lars` life in so many ways.
    Ryan Gosling once again proves what a brilliant actor he is and this is such a good, underappreciated movie. Watch it, if you get a chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What a Refreshingly Different Comedy!

    So much modern comedy is flat, slapstick and predictable. Lars and the Real Girl is now one of my all-time favorites! The story line is so imaginative, the characters so warm and funny and the acting superb. I've leant my copy to many friends and they usually rave about how great it was! If you liked Napoleon Dynamite, you'll love this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected Treasure

    This movie is not at all what I thought it was going to be. It was a heartwarming story of appearance vs. reality, love and loss, and the unfortunate result of corruption of innocence. Ryan Gosling gave an impressive performance, including subtle character traits that mirrored his character's internal affliction. Although the ending left me wanting more, it did leave a lasting hope for all who have had to overcome the piercing pain of their past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Get past the unfortunate "sales pitch". It will be well worth the effort.

    The idea of this film can easily make one hesitate. Don't. This is an incredibly crafted film about one person's pain and a community's ability to rise above the cliche' and support him until he is able to find his way. The message has a great deal to do with what small towns and good people are "all about".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Were anyone to suggest that a 'romance' between a guy and a blowup doll could become one of the more sensitive films of the year, it would be cause for derision - that is, before viewing LARS AND THE REAL GIRL. The improbable story was written by Nancy Oliver (the writer of many episodes of the TV series 'Six Feet Under') and directed by Craig Gillespie who gathered a particularly strong cast of actors to present this examination of compassion and love for an emotionally injured young man by small town folks, reminding us that caring for each other is still a highly regarded value. Lars Lindstrom (Ryan Gosling) survived a tough childhood only to become a loner terrified of emotional and tactile contact. He lives in the garage of his deceased parents' home while his brother Gus (Paul Schneider) and pregnant sister-in-law Karin (Emily Mortimer) live in the main house. Despite Karin's pleadings to be part of the family, Lars prefers to keep to himself. At his job his co-workers include Margo (Kelli Garner), who is more than a little attracted to the quiet and strangely distant Lars, and a fellow who finds ' life-size love dolls' on the internet. Lars orders one of the dolls and when 'Bianca' arrives, Lars finally has a girlfriend to share his loneliness. He introduces Bianca to Gus and Karin who find the situation strange, but at the same time see the happiness in Lars that has been missing. They encourage Lars and Bianca to see a doctor Margo (Patricia Clarkson) who plays along with the concept that Lars finds Bianca real, and encourages Gus and Karin to be supportive. As it ends up the entire little town accepts Bianca and she is introduced to doing good deeds and be a vital part of the town, all through the kindness of people who love the 'delusional' Lars and care only for his happiness. How Lars gradually finds his way into the real world and copes with the understanding of his need for Bianca, the story comes to a tender ending, one that never for a moment feels like a sellout but maintains the dignity of all of the characters in the story. This is a fine and thoughtful exploration of the needs we all have for understanding, compassion, and acceptance, and while there are some very humorous moments in this well-written story, the overall message is one of gentle love. Ryan Gosling is so fine an actor that he makes this rather complex character understandable and gains our empathy. The supporting cast is equally excellent - especially Patricia Clarkson, Emily Mortimer and Paul Schneider. Highly recommended viewing, this is a DVD many will want to own for repeated viewings. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Real girls and real love

    I expected this to be more of a comedy, and while funny at times, it was full of sincerity and kindness and felt truly endearing. In a time of movies like "Superbad" all about 'dudes getting laid', it was sweet to see a sex doll used for companionship and bonding. Worth a watch or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delightful and moving film!

    I am a huge fan of Ryan Gosling so I was very excited about seeing this. Lars is so painfully shy but sweet. I love the way the town bands together to protect him (from reality) and help him since, of course, his girlfriend is not real, but a coping tool. The movie was not entirely what I expected and I loved it for that. I hope it gets more viewings on DVD than it did in the theatres.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I left work early to see it.

    Although reminscent of a modern day fairy tale, it was believeable. The townspeople were charming and embraced his "real girl" with ferver. I laughed and misted. Maybe I can find a "real boy" on-line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2