Customer Reviews for

Laura

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    One of the best film noir movies of the 1940s.. all time great m

    One of the best film noir movies of the 1940s.. all time great movie with a haunting score that stays with you even after the movie is over. I would recomend this movie to any classic film buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie and sheer pleasure to watch!

    American Film at it's very best!
    I recently purchased this again because my copy is worn out, and I can not imagine not having this to watch -not much time goes by and I find myself wanting to see this gem! The characters are perfection - each one crafted by the actor or actress with such precision you get caught up in the story and will tune everything else out. Vincent Price plays his part so well it's hard to believe he was not typecast as the" not quite scrupulous" boyfriend in subsequent movies. The movie goes along with no slow or stale or obvious parts. The settings and furnishings are done with such definition that they are integral to the story line. I know everyone has their favorite and their opinion of the perfect movie - but it's pretty hard to top this one.I find it amazing that for all the years that have passed this is more enjoyable to watch than 98% of all the new stuff being filmed. I hope you savor every moment of this delicious film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Film Noir

    It starts with a murder and investigation and ends with an incredible love triangle of Gene Tierney/Dana Andrews/Clifton Webb. LAURA is film noir at its classic best.
    From the very beginning, if you let yourself go, you get pulled into the story and murder investigation. This film can keep you on the edge of your seat as you try to figure out the who and the why of all the characters.
    It is darkly sophisticated, a real classic of this film type that is only heightened by the truly haunting musical score. And even if you have not seen it before, you will likely recognize the theme music.
    The acting is acting from a time when actors were real. No high tech effects to get in the way, just an extremely well done script and well done performances by everyone involved.
    There is also can't miss direction by Otto Preminger.
    A classic mystery that can be enjoyed by an entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    They do not make movies like this,today. My Dad who is 90yrs and my Mom who is 86yrs--went to see this film on their very first date. It will always be special to me. It has a surprise ending. I just loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well... not exactly Pan & Scan

    For those who might be put off because the film is listed as "pan & scan", don't worry about it. The IMDB lists the technical aspect ration as 1.37:1, which is a hair over your 4:3 standard format tv screen. In other words, this was not filmed widescreen. But neither was Casablanca, and may other classics from the 1940's. Buy and enjoy! As for the film, my rating says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Laura was not filmed in Widescreen

    Great movie and wonderful presentation. Well worth the price. But to the person who was upset that it was not released in Widescreen. It was not filmed in Widescreen since the widescreen format did not start until the 1950's with "The Robe". So you are not missing anything. If you doubt me, check out the history of widescreen format yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pan & Scan Travesty!

    This is one of my all time favorite movies and I CAN'T BELIEVE it was issued on DVD in Pan & Scan. Gorgeously shot, terrific acting, very moody. Sigh. I'm extremely disappointed and hope the brain trust behind the P&S decision wakes up and puts it out in widescreen, as it should be seen. I refuse to purchase P&S, even for this movie that I've been anxiously awaiting. Film Noir was not meant to be 'abbreviated'. Boo hoo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    A Film Noir that Ends Well

    Laura is set in the 1940s; consistent with the year it was made. The movie begins with Detective Lieutenant Mark McPherson (Dana Andrews) questioning suspects about the murder of one of their closest friends Laura Hunt, played by the beautiful Gene Tierney. Predictably, Laura¿s mentor, Waldo Lydecker, relates the past five years of Laura¿s life to the detective, and flashbacks accompany the narration. The haughty Waldo attributes Laura¿s rise from obscurity to prominence to himself with a small reference to her own talents. Despite having at least twenty more years than Laura, Waldo¿s wishful thoughts erroneously color their plutonic relationship with the paintbrush of romance bringing woe to any man who catches the eyes of his beloved. Some of the best moments of the film occur at the times Waldo belittles those would be lovers with comments reminiscent of a high school nerd¿s attitude toward jocks. Vincent Price¿s performance as the oft-accused, always innocent playboy Shelby Carpenter borders on annoying. This is acceptable however, because Carpenter is supposed to an exasperating character and Mr. Price does a fabulous job at portraying him. Though considered dead for half the show, Gene Tierney puts forth a shining performance as well. Those pouting lips reinforce her performance as the beautiful, sophisticated woman whose talents rocket her to the fast lanes of success. How enviable it is to be Dana Andrews in the one scene in which Lt. McPherson kisses Laura. Mr. Andrews puts the perfect touch on the tough and hardened detective who finds himself enamored with the lovely but dead Laura. Halfway through, the seemingly straightforward plot twists into a totally unexpected direction. That event makes the movie brilliant and twice as enjoyable. First-class editing and a superb story make Laura one of the best movies to come out of the film noir genre in the 1940s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    Another good film noir!

    This stylish film stars the gorgeous Gene Tierney as a beautiful and gracious Manhattan socialite named Laura. Dana Andrews is the detective assigned to probe the circumstances surrounding her murder. A terrific film noir that also stars Clifton Webb, Vincent Price (as a suave playboy) and Judith Anderson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1