Customer Reviews for

Legend

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Beginning of A New Type of Movie

Legend was one of the first major fantasy films of the 80's. It opened up a new chapter in the book of movie genres. Tom Cruise and Mia Sarah look fabulous as two virtuous mortals, Jack and Lily, who are in danger of losing their world to the evil dark lord, played by T...
Legend was one of the first major fantasy films of the 80's. It opened up a new chapter in the book of movie genres. Tom Cruise and Mia Sarah look fabulous as two virtuous mortals, Jack and Lily, who are in danger of losing their world to the evil dark lord, played by Tim Curry. This movie has fairies, goblins, elves, unicorns, and even a water demon ( Meg Mucklebones ) Legend is a compelling version of good vs. evil in a realm so pure. The movie blends well and makes the viewer think, is there really another realm like this?

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Legend

I love this movie. The story and characters are amazing but the setting is even more spectacular. I still get goosebumps watching a couple of the scenes and they are totally inspiring. However, I was disappointed that this edition does not contain the original scene ver...
I love this movie. The story and characters are amazing but the setting is even more spectacular. I still get goosebumps watching a couple of the scenes and they are totally inspiring. However, I was disappointed that this edition does not contain the original scene version. It only has the director's cut. Which while interesting does not provide the same feeling that I remember from before. We were upgrading our VHS collection and we'll have to get a different edition of this.

posted by Henzaru on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Legend

    I love this movie. The story and characters are amazing but the setting is even more spectacular. I still get goosebumps watching a couple of the scenes and they are totally inspiring. However, I was disappointed that this edition does not contain the original scene version. It only has the director's cut. Which while interesting does not provide the same feeling that I remember from before. We were upgrading our VHS collection and we'll have to get a different edition of this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    legend original or director's cut

    okay i had seen this when i was younger and had no idea what the heck was going on but now i watch it with an adult perspective and i'm like no way can this be for kids. so after watching the director's cut i must say that its a little better but i liked did not like the new ending. i loved and remembered well the original ending including the music which in my opinion fit the setting. but for the rest the story made a little more sense. and i'm going to say that this is a film that i can watch with tom cruise (since i don't like him but i can make an exception with legend). anyway, watch the director's cut and decide whether you prefer the original or not. mia sara looks so...pretty either as the princess or the evil princess either way she's still pretty. tim curry was unrecognizable and just freaking amazing with all that make up. man did i have some nightmares when i was young with certain scenes from this. good old childhood memories and such a awkward classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Beginning of A New Type of Movie

    Legend was one of the first major fantasy films of the 80's. It opened up a new chapter in the book of movie genres. Tom Cruise and Mia Sarah look fabulous as two virtuous mortals, Jack and Lily, who are in danger of losing their world to the evil dark lord, played by Tim Curry. This movie has fairies, goblins, elves, unicorns, and even a water demon ( Meg Mucklebones ) Legend is a compelling version of good vs. evil in a realm so pure. The movie blends well and makes the viewer think, is there really another realm like this?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Imaginative

    Jack takes Lily to see the unicorns but makes the mistake of wanting to take a closer look at the creatures. The goblins are to bring the horn of one of the unicorns and unfortunately succeed. In doing so, the world is turned into a snowy place and Jack along with an elf and others are to stop the Lord of Darkness and turn back the world as it once was. The locations, the costumes, just the look of the film is visually stunning. The characters are interesting. It's obvious the make-up people did an amazing job with characters like Blix and especially Darkness, played by Tim Curry, in a very creepy performance. This film I remember, while looking great, had a dark and creepy atmosphere to it, and seeing it years later, it still does. The music, depending on the version you're seeing, is good too. Recommend this movie if you love 80s fantasy movies and are tired of fantasy movies nowadays that are just about CGI instead of telling a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Definite Favorite

    I have loved this movie since I was a child. It is the classic battle between good and evil, light and dark. I love the concept of the unicorns being sacred and the light of the world. The love between Jack and Lily is sweet and innocent, yet sexy and powerful. As I've grown older, I have noticed more strong characteristics of the movie and it continues to be in my top 5 list of movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for Fantasy Lovers!

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glad to own it

    I remembered watching this movie when I was younger and loved it so much, I had to add it to my movie collection!!I didn't know there were two versions, but I think I like the original!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I loved the original movie and was thrilled to finally find it on DVD. I was heartsick however, to find that the director's cut was different from what I had had on VHS. Not only was the music totally different, but some of the scenes had been changed as well. I'll continue to look for the original version, which was out on VHS and in Theatres. Do youself a favor if you liked the original, steer clear of the director's cut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dont like new music

    Love this movie but they have changed the main song though-out the movie and I hate the new song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love this movie

    I love this movie more than any other movie I have ever scene. The effects and costumes were awesome then and they ,to me, still are awesome and beat out some of these other movies. The storyline awesome as well. Love it Love it. If only they could make clean movies like this one over and over. I have to let my children watch these movies legend, princess bride, labrynith. Anyways AWESOME MOVIE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Legend

    The movie's alright with the dazzling costumes, make up and setting. Tom Cruise is okay as the lead hero and character as Jack with Mia Sara as Lily and Tim Curry is scary as Darkness but is for some reason tall. I mean really tall and the horns on his head look heavy. Pretty good movie none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A masterpiece of the fantasy genre!

    This movie is a must have for fantasy lovers everywhere, the DVD is quite excellent and flawless especially the nicely done director's cut with better music score from the late jerry Goldsmith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romantic and a Great Adventure for two Lovers to take on.

    This movie was more than outstanding! The costumes, makeup, and characterization were awsome and really intriged me to keep watching the movie. Tom, Mia, and Tim were wonderful. Great jod Ridley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Truly Stunning Movie

    I am only 14, and even I understand the work that went into this to make a wonderful movie experience!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Words are not enough

    I think this is one of the most fantastic movies ever!I love it! The unicorns made me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A flawed gem

    Ridley Scott is a camera visuals specialist and this movie showcases that talent. Fantastic imagery is the hallmark of Legend. Tom Cruise fans do not need to get excited about this film as he does not give a great performance and the character that he plays doesn¿t allow for much range. I saw the American version when it was originally released. It was mesmerizing but I noticed a choppiness to the story and several places where it looked like someone had pasted two unrelated scenes together. I surmised that the film had been cut up in the editing room and wondered why. I found out why when I got this disc. There are two versions on the disc. One the original released in England and the other the edited American version. Apparently the original version did not do well in theaters and so considerable re-editing was done before introducing it into the American market. The reediting was done long after shooting had stopped and so the editors had to patch together a new version from what they had. They shortened the movie by about 15 minutes, rearranged scenes, and replaced Goldsmiths score by one from Tangerine Dream. In doing so they created some problems like the choppiness that I noted and some scenes were lost that are necessary to understanding later scenes. Still, I think they were right to do the reediting. The American version has a stronger impact than the original version and the original version was definitely too long. I am glad that both versions are included on this disc so that we can hear Jerry Goldsmith¿s score and see how the original scenes went together. In his commentary Ridley Scott says that he ended up liking both versions and, althought I have a preference for one, I agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very neat film

    This was a really fun film...I think the ''Evil Lord of Darkness'' might be a little scary for younger children, but the princess was absolutely lovely, as were the unicorns, and Tom Cruise makes a very good ''noble hero in shining armour'', so to speak. I also loved the cute little elf guy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie!!!

    This has been one of my favorite movies since I was a kid. Yes it is a bit of a girly movie, but it has some action in there for the guys. (Yes the unicorns had taped onhorns, but give them a break it was the 80's. The the kind of high tech graphics,imaging and stunts weren't around back then, not to mention it was probably a low budget film), although i thought the sets were great. It's fantastic, nonetheless. You have to have a good sense of adventure and a vivid imagination to really make it come together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Fantasy

    this is a classic! A true fairy tale/fantasy masterpiece. It's a feast for the eyes as well as the heart. It's good vs. evil at it's best in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Journey Into Another Relm

    This movie was one of Tom Cruise's earlier films, and I believe one of his best. The creatures and make-up in this film transports you to a non-existing world, but makes it believable. Tim Curry makes his character (Darkness)your worst nightmare a reality. Must See!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3