Customer Reviews for

Legend

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Beginning of A New Type of Movie

Legend was one of the first major fantasy films of the 80's. It opened up a new chapter in the book of movie genres. Tom Cruise and Mia Sarah look fabulous as two virtuous mortals, Jack and Lily, who are in danger of losing their world to the evil dark lord, played by T...
Legend was one of the first major fantasy films of the 80's. It opened up a new chapter in the book of movie genres. Tom Cruise and Mia Sarah look fabulous as two virtuous mortals, Jack and Lily, who are in danger of losing their world to the evil dark lord, played by Tim Curry. This movie has fairies, goblins, elves, unicorns, and even a water demon ( Meg Mucklebones ) Legend is a compelling version of good vs. evil in a realm so pure. The movie blends well and makes the viewer think, is there really another realm like this?

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Legend

I love this movie. The story and characters are amazing but the setting is even more spectacular. I still get goosebumps watching a couple of the scenes and they are totally inspiring. However, I was disappointed that this edition does not contain the original scene ver...
I love this movie. The story and characters are amazing but the setting is even more spectacular. I still get goosebumps watching a couple of the scenes and they are totally inspiring. However, I was disappointed that this edition does not contain the original scene version. It only has the director's cut. Which while interesting does not provide the same feeling that I remember from before. We were upgrading our VHS collection and we'll have to get a different edition of this.

posted by Henzaru on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for Fantasy Lovers!

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dont like new music

    Love this movie but they have changed the main song though-out the movie and I hate the new song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A flawed gem

    Ridley Scott is a camera visuals specialist and this movie showcases that talent. Fantastic imagery is the hallmark of Legend. Tom Cruise fans do not need to get excited about this film as he does not give a great performance and the character that he plays doesn¿t allow for much range. I saw the American version when it was originally released. It was mesmerizing but I noticed a choppiness to the story and several places where it looked like someone had pasted two unrelated scenes together. I surmised that the film had been cut up in the editing room and wondered why. I found out why when I got this disc. There are two versions on the disc. One the original released in England and the other the edited American version. Apparently the original version did not do well in theaters and so considerable re-editing was done before introducing it into the American market. The reediting was done long after shooting had stopped and so the editors had to patch together a new version from what they had. They shortened the movie by about 15 minutes, rearranged scenes, and replaced Goldsmiths score by one from Tangerine Dream. In doing so they created some problems like the choppiness that I noted and some scenes were lost that are necessary to understanding later scenes. Still, I think they were right to do the reediting. The American version has a stronger impact than the original version and the original version was definitely too long. I am glad that both versions are included on this disc so that we can hear Jerry Goldsmith¿s score and see how the original scenes went together. In his commentary Ridley Scott says that he ended up liking both versions and, althought I have a preference for one, I agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very neat film

    This was a really fun film...I think the ''Evil Lord of Darkness'' might be a little scary for younger children, but the princess was absolutely lovely, as were the unicorns, and Tom Cruise makes a very good ''noble hero in shining armour'', so to speak. I also loved the cute little elf guy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie!!!

    This has been one of my favorite movies since I was a kid. Yes it is a bit of a girly movie, but it has some action in there for the guys. (Yes the unicorns had taped onhorns, but give them a break it was the 80's. The the kind of high tech graphics,imaging and stunts weren't around back then, not to mention it was probably a low budget film), although i thought the sets were great. It's fantastic, nonetheless. You have to have a good sense of adventure and a vivid imagination to really make it come together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Fantasy

    this is a classic! A true fairy tale/fantasy masterpiece. It's a feast for the eyes as well as the heart. It's good vs. evil at it's best in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Journey Into Another Relm

    This movie was one of Tom Cruise's earlier films, and I believe one of his best. The creatures and make-up in this film transports you to a non-existing world, but makes it believable. Tim Curry makes his character (Darkness)your worst nightmare a reality. Must See!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ridley Classic

    This movie still holds up after all these years. I'm glad to see that Ridley included the classic score for this release. The original score was a little 80ish. Great visuals and costumes highlight this fantasy tale. Yes, this is a girly movie but guys can enjoy it too. The only bad thing I can say is the movie is a little too long and it tends to drag in spots. This is still a must have for your DVD collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Breathtakingly almost there...

    This is a beautiful, stunning movie visually. From the enchanted forest, to the charming peasant cottage, to the frightening interior of The Great Tree...(doesn't sound too scary hm?), each landscape holds a magic of its own. The music by Toto adds even more mystery. Tom Cruise, before dental work, does well as the reluctant forest boy turned hero, Of course, Tim Curry as Lord Darkness deserves all the applause. That man has creepy evil characters down pat. The plot does leave a little something to be desired; it's pretty much the basic good vs. evil and that's it. But if you just sit back on a dark night with candles for mood, and just watch...that wont even matter. For lovers of fantasy, this is a must. For lovers of Tom Cruise, this is umm...well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    An Awesome Fantasy Movie

    I loved the movie. The visuals are really awesome and I liked the characters a lot. The best was, in my opinion, Gump. I did not like Lily. She seemed a tad wimpy. But the plot was cool and she was vital to the plot, so...But the movie was wonderful and I really recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Like myth and fantasy? This one's for you!

    Legend is a delitful fairytale with amusing characters. I loved the cast for this film. Tom Cruise (Jack)was a great classic hero and Tim Curry (Lord of Darkness)always plays a wonderful ''bad guy''. The Make-up and costume job on the Lord of Darkness was extremly realistic. The only thing i did not really like about Legend was Lily. She kind of annoying. Jack tells her not to touch the unicorn and she does it any way. But, I guess, without that there would be no movie. I strongly suggest seeing this at least once because it is fun fantasy. It est Tres Bein! (it is very good)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    LEGEND: American Version 'runt of the litter'

    This 1985/86 visually dazzling film by Ridley Scott may impress your eyes, but may do little for your taste in a fine film. Now I grew up with this version of the film, before ever knowing about different cuts, so I still have soft spots for this one. But, the way this film was chopped, sliced, and diced left little to be enjoyed in the characters. Even though the European version (which I also own, courtesy of Video Junkie) is but a few minutes longer, it adds to the characters, completing them more, allowing you to associate a little bit before the end credits begin to roll. Until the DVD comes out (I'm hoping no later than January), the European 95-minute cut of this legendary film by Ridley Scott (who cannot be completelt blamed) will be the best the market has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1