BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Let the Right One In

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I'll keep this short

This movie, and the book, are the anti-Twilight. Every good vampire idea is here. The title actually speaks volumes as to the classic nature of the film. It's 75% love story, and 25% beautifully gory bliss. It is cinematic, poignant, and gorgeously framed. This is ...
This movie, and the book, are the anti-Twilight. Every good vampire idea is here. The title actually speaks volumes as to the classic nature of the film. It's 75% love story, and 25% beautifully gory bliss. It is cinematic, poignant, and gorgeously framed. This is not only one of the greatest vampire films ever made, but also one of the best foreign pictures I've had the pleasure of watching. Give it a look. You won't be disappointed.

posted by Alfeetoe on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Do not buy this DVD. A proper DVD release is on the way.

Let The Right One In was one of 2008's finest films. It is one of the best vampire movies ever made. It isn't strictly a horror movie. It is a foreign drama with vampire elements. It is, in short, sublime.

However, the distributor of the US DVD totally destroyed ...
Let The Right One In was one of 2008's finest films. It is one of the best vampire movies ever made. It isn't strictly a horror movie. It is a foreign drama with vampire elements. It is, in short, sublime.

However, the distributor of the US DVD totally destroyed the film by dumbing down the subtitles to the point of lunacy. There are scenes with 6-8 lines of dialogue reduced to 4-7 words. The film has been butchered and this disc should NOT be bought. The distibutor has faced a public outcry over what they did to the movie and have promised to get a proper DVD manufactured. They are not however offering exchanges for people who have purchased the garbage version.

When the new version is available, the Subtitles info section will clearly state "English (theatrical)."

When that version is released, it is strongly recommeded. It is a five star film with a 0 star DVD release. My recommendation is to wait for the correct version and then it is a must-buy. Everyone should see this film (and with literal translations of the Swedish dialog), just not yet. As soon as they release the correct version, it will have my highest recommendation.

So, don't buy this DVD. Buy the theatrical version as soon as it is released. Soon it will be butchered a second time with an Americanized remake directed by Matt Reeves (Cloverfield).

posted by Earthbound on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Do not buy this DVD. A proper DVD release is on the way.

    Let The Right One In was one of 2008's finest films. It is one of the best vampire movies ever made. It isn't strictly a horror movie. It is a foreign drama with vampire elements. It is, in short, sublime.

    However, the distributor of the US DVD totally destroyed the film by dumbing down the subtitles to the point of lunacy. There are scenes with 6-8 lines of dialogue reduced to 4-7 words. The film has been butchered and this disc should NOT be bought. The distibutor has faced a public outcry over what they did to the movie and have promised to get a proper DVD manufactured. They are not however offering exchanges for people who have purchased the garbage version.

    When the new version is available, the Subtitles info section will clearly state "English (theatrical)."

    When that version is released, it is strongly recommeded. It is a five star film with a 0 star DVD release. My recommendation is to wait for the correct version and then it is a must-buy. Everyone should see this film (and with literal translations of the Swedish dialog), just not yet. As soon as they release the correct version, it will have my highest recommendation.

    So, don't buy this DVD. Buy the theatrical version as soon as it is released. Soon it will be butchered a second time with an Americanized remake directed by Matt Reeves (Cloverfield).

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'll keep this short

    This movie, and the book, are the anti-Twilight. Every good vampire idea is here. The title actually speaks volumes as to the classic nature of the film. It's 75% love story, and 25% beautifully gory bliss. It is cinematic, poignant, and gorgeously framed. This is not only one of the greatest vampire films ever made, but also one of the best foreign pictures I've had the pleasure of watching. Give it a look. You won't be disappointed.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie, but DON'T buy the US version of the DVD

    I saw the movie twice before getting the DVD yesterday, which I watched last night. For whatever reason, the movie has been re-subtitled, and the newer subtitles are dumbed down and some dialog was changed completely.

    This was my favorite movie of 2008. It's sad that someone decided to mess with something so beautiful.

    I'm hoping I'll be able to find the correct version (European maybe?) on eBay.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Let This Right Book In

    After reading the novel I felt compelled to watch the film adaption. Director Tomas Alfredson hit the mark with the movie. He instilled the gruesome and slightly cold factor the novel possesses and recreated the novel perfectly on screen. This is not a teen vampire movie for it's not for the faint of heart just like the novel isn't. I recommend this to anybody who wants to quench their mind's thirst for a proficient adaption of a soon to be classic novel.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A breath of horrifically fresh air

    Simple, sad, more than a little gruesome. No meladramtic teenagers, no 'sparkling', no techno music, no long haired dudes with shaved chests, no 'vampire councils', and no pulled punches. Just great performances, some jet black humor, and gorgeous directing. Be extra cool and see it before the American remake comes out.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sleeper Hit

    Knowles of Aint It Cool News had written an article on why this wasn't on the 2008 Academy Awards sights for Best Foreign Film. He writes that for a film to be in such category the country of Origin has to adopt the film to represent the country (Sweden). Unfortunately it wasn't adopted and he goes on to say that because of it films like LTROI can get swept under rug and off the radar for film fans. But fans of the film have voiced their delight for this film and easily became a great "Word of Mouth" recommendation.

    I saw this trailer a while back and instantly wanted to see it. It is a quintessential "MUST SEE" kind of film that spins a wonderful and believeable love story. No techno music or shirtless pale freaks of the night here. Just simple but true Vampire mythology with the right amount of CGI/VFX for effect.

    Like other Reviews here, wait til they re-release LTROI in proper subtitles to enjoy the full beauty of this Vampire masterpiece.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good movie!

    No "cookie cutter" Hollywood here. Young actors - brilliant.
    Run Tom Cruise , run.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read the book too!

    This movie did not change from the book, but it did leave out quite a bit. Some of things that aren't said in the movie that you may want to know are in the books. The characters that you want to know more about, including the main ones, are all given a more detailed existence in the books. The movie has a lot of feeling, but reading the book before the movie (and even reading it after would suffice) gives me a greater connection. If you're gonna' see this movie, read the book! Great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Team Oskar!!!

    This is one of the best vampire movie that I have ever watched. With the vampire craze going on right now, this is truly a great love story for true vampire fans. Don't expect much of dazzling vampires because it is bloody and disturbing at times, but the same time it is sweet and a great story of friendship. The story is set is a realistic world that some people can relate with, and both lead characters are well portrayed by the actors. I do advice two things: One don't read the book it will ruin the movie for you and two watch the original instead of the dubbed version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    this IS the best vampire movie ever

    This film is everything that a vampire movie is supposed to be. HOWEVER, the only appropriate way to watch it without sacrificing quality is to adjust the audio settings to Swedish 5.1 and the subtitle settings to English (Theatrical). If you try to watch it any other way, you will hate the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Film, Horrible presentation

    The movie is one of the best vampire films of the past decade.

    The problem is that the Blu-ray has those dumbed-down subtitles; the company, after pressure, came out with a DVD with the theatrical subititles. They never did with the Blu-ray. I wouldn't go near this one with a ten-foot pole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    Hands down the greatest Vampire movie ever made. Absolutely fantastic. If you like the movie, than get the book. Even better, with some extra stuff left out of the movie but still amazingly incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A film that's not only about a vampire but the story of two people and how they start to be friends.

    I never heard of this movie but saw a preview for it. It looked creepy and interesting at the same time. This film is really good and the two leads did an amazing job. Its the story of a bullied boy, meets his new neighbor who happens to have a secret, all the while there's been killings around town. There are some bloody scenes so this isn't for kids to see. What I liked about this film was that in some scenes they don't show you everything but leave for you, the viewer to imagine it. Nowadays some horror movies don't do that and just have too much blood than necessary. I recommend the film if you love vampires or want a horror film with a story or have read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Låt den rätte komma in (2008)

    The best movie I have ever seen (and no im not exaggerating). Hands-Down worth your hard earned cash and worth the watch. This film tingles all your senses and is unforgettable in every way.

    Truly a Modern Classic
    Go Buy It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Vampire Movie

    This is by far one of the best vampire movies out there. Very inventive and haunting. The cinematography is outstanding. The script could have used some polishing but the actors are great and it is a film that will stay with you for weeks after viewing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Remember, this isn't an American movie!

    I thought this was one of the best vampire movies I have ever seen!
    And yes, the pace moves a little slow, and it doesn't have the typical horror movie scares, but this movie wasn't made just for American audiences. Its going to have things that the typical American moviegoer might find slow or even boring. But as a someone who loves film, and has seen a lot of foreign films, this is one of the best.
    I highly recommend it to everyone, and I agree that it is very much the anti-twilight! This is how vampires are supposed to be!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    horrible

    I felt it was too long. The storyline wasnt very good. The charaters and their acting was incredible though about the only postitive thing I could say about this film. It wasnt scary, funny, dynamicly entertaining or very rememberable. Would not recomend this movie to friends or anybody for that unless I wanted them to waste their time.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best Vampire Movies I've ever seen!

    I have read countless positive reviews about this new phenomenon, and the reviews are right! This movie is like nothing I have ever seen before, so I can't really compare it to anything I've seen.
    It's considered a horror movie, but I would classify it as a REALLY, REALLY, REALLY DARK love story. It has it moments of gore, romance, and thrills. I think it's worth the purchase. So if you want a more rated-R take on the classic ---Bella loves Edward or Buffy loves Angel--- scenario...this is the film for you. It's pretty amazing, at least I thought so.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Swedes hit this one on the head!

    I don't care what anyone else thinks...I LOVED THIS MOVIE. The story line was, or rather is quite unique and well thought out. It was so much better than those ridiculous Twilight movies.

    I, unfortunately, have not had the pleasure of reading the novel.But now I think I'll run right out and buy it.

    It's to bad this one wasn't up for an award.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!!

    This film is excellent! Unfortunately, I have no patience and could not wait for a more fulfilling version. The plot is so original and they execute it much to my liking. I will be buying the copy with better English subtitles. I HIGHLY recommend this!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3