Customer Reviews for

Lincoln

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    False advertisement. Expected it to be wider than his attempts t

    False advertisement. Expected it to be wider than his attempts to get the Anti-Slavery amendment passed. Fine movie, well-acted, but too much talk  Jack Crane, Middleton, WI.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    one of the greatest moves of all time .gone with the wind dose n

    one of the greatest moves of all time .gone with the wind dose not match this .danail-day lewes is right upthere with brando, martin sheen ,you name themas for the history aspect. not a flore.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great movie!

    the perfect Christmas gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Top 5 bio

    This is a top tier reflection upon the latter segment of Lincoln's presidency. Daniel Day Lewis is superb. Sally Field is excellent as Mary Lincoln. The constant state of despair and her, sometimes, erratic behvaior is true to order. The acting and situational dialogue is fantastic. On a scale of 10, a high 9, 9.6, 9.7. The historical accuracy is significant. The Congressional debates and banter are classic. I will watch this movie 2 - 3 times each and every year. I rate this with A Beautiful Mind as first rate biography. Spader is wonderful, what an actor. Gordon-Levitt must have lived his previous life in the mid-1860's. David Strathairn might be the best of the lot. An epic that legitimately inspires. This is must see for any Civil War history class. It is understandable at most any level. This is a once in a decade movie, the Forrest Gump of the 2010's. Take a bow cast and directional/productional crews. This is as good as it gets. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    A must see film

    This is an excellent film on the life of President Lincoln and the years of Civil War. Well done, great casting, and it shows the deeply emotional side of a man at a critical time in his life and the life of this country. Academy award winning in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Wonderful movie. 

    Wonderful movie. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    simply spellbinding!

    Lincoln ceased to be a movie and became a time machine transporting the viewer to the civil war era. Daniel Day Lewis became Lincoln with the other actors joining the magical transformation to historical individuals. It was fascinating to see the machinations behind the emancipation proclamation and the complex reasons for its passage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    OK at home on DVD . . .

    but too long, laborious for the theater.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A wonderful movie

    This is an exceptional and very moving rendition of Abraham Lincoln's life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Check This Out

    I first saw this movie in the theatres. I liked so much that I put on my list to own. I thought it was pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    For History Buffs

    This is a movie for all American History teachers to show their students history during the time of President Lincoln's term as president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Highly recommended!! One of the best movies I have ever seen.

    This is an excellent historical movie. The dialogue, the scenery, the acting, the directing, all of it is SUPERB. I was totally engaged from the first scene until the end. It was so breathtaking to have the opportunity to "see" Lincoln's thoughts, his pain about the issues and then his resolution to do the right thing as mandated by our constitution. All of the cast were superb. I recommend this movie for all citizens who want a great view at a true statesman who is also a great family man.
    retired2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Magnificent movie with a great cast. Anyone interested in United States history must see it.

    This movie proves that politics over the years hasn't changed much. Daniel Day-Lewis WAS Lincoln. He is a superb actor and while there is a lot more talk than action, I was never bored. Sally Field did a great job as Mary Todd Lincoln, a long-suffering woman with so many losses in her life. Tommy Lee Jones was wonderful to watch, also. Of course, there are no surprises to any student of American history in this movie, but it is very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    History at its best.

    Highly recommended..Saw this movie in the theatre and now bought it for us at home...Excellent performance by Daniel Day Lewis and Sally Field..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great film making, high caliber performances.

    There is a reason Daniel Day-Lewis is regarded as one of our best actors. He personifies our collective perception of Abraham Lincoln in a way that broadens our understanding of the man behind the history lessons and what it might be like to actually be in the same room with him. The supporting cast is no less gifted. It is so often that real life is more dramatic and spell-binding that anything a person can imagine. Watching Lincoln is just that, a slice of life that changed everything in a time when so many were resistant to change. Spielberg's signature ability to tell a story with grace and beauty in the face of ugly moments captivates, as usual. Read whatever books you like about Lincoln, but let this be the one film you view on the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    A true classic

    Steven Spielberg has tossed aside his razzle-dazzle filmmaking tricks and has given us his most mature and heartfelt movie of his storied career. His LINCOLN is a classic and always will be a classic of American cinema.

    Daniel Day-Lewis does not portray Lincoln, but truly IS our 16th President. At no time do you not believe you are watching an actor, but are watching Abraham Lincoln in the flesh. No actor has ever deserved the Best Actor nod than this performer.

    But excellent performances are not limited to Daniel Day-Lewis. Everyone in the film, from Sally Field (terrific as Mrs. Lincoln), David Strathairn to the smaller parts and even the extras are ALL wonderful.

    LINCOLN is a feast for the eyes and ears (a GREAT literate script by Tony Kushner), showing that great films can still be made in this era of CGI nothingness and franchise films ad nauseam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    If you enjoyed Team of Rivals by Doris Kerns Goodwin,then see this movie!

    If you enjoy reading history books & viewing historical movies then this one is for you. It is intelligently written by Tony Kushner, deftly directed by Steven Spielberg. Daniel Day-Lewis deserved the academy award for his role as Lincoln,I don't think anyone else could do it better, as well as Sally Field's embodiment of Mary Lincoln. The supporting cast of David Strathairn as the politically savvy & shrewd lawyer William Seward the cabinet Sec. of State, Bruce McGill as short-tempered but devoted Edwin Stanton the cabinet Sec. of War, Lee Pace as the bellicose & surly Fernando Wood US Rep. of New York were all excellent! Tommy Lee Jones as Thaddeus Stevens,the bilious & pugnacious US Rep. from Pennsylvania was outstanding. Jackie Earle Haley was a spot-on photographic resemblance of CSA's VP Alexander Stephens. I particularly delighted in the performance of James Spader as the gregarious, off-color W. N. Bilbo. I watched this movie four times just to savor the dialogue, appreciate the fine performances & the beautiful cinematography of Janusz Kaminski, but especially the superb even flow from scene to scene in telling this important event in our US history. It was worth the wait since I read about this movie several years ago. Thanks Steven Spielberg!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    A Must See Movie!

    An incredible epic of a movie about the life and times of our 16th president, Abraham Lincoln. Daniel Day-Lewis does an exceptional portrayal of Lincoln which won him the Academy Award for best actor. Watching the movie you will believe him to be Abe. Sally Field is exceptional in the role of Mrs. Lincoln. You will be transported back to the time of the Civil War and all the atrocities of war, slavery and finally the freeing of the slaves. It is a must see movie of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Excellent Movie

    I enjoyed watching this at the movies so I had to buy it. It was worth the money and I am sure I will get years of enjoyment out of it. I would highly recommend this movie especially for history buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

     

     

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2