Customer Reviews for

Looney Tunes Golden Collection - Vol. 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    this cartoon is very nostalgic and entertaining.

    Nice to see old characters and I enjoy them as I did at first.
    I can hardly wait for another episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Tunes are awesome!

    Parental watch groups messed up the cartoon industry. The old 'Tunes' are the BEST. Sure people smoke tobacco and there might be a slightly politically incorrect statement here or there, BUT SO WHAT!

    They need to go back on television in their UNCUT form like when I was a kid growing up in the 70's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked!!!

    this collection is worth every penny & this will always be a memorable show. Every character stands out, & this cartoon is hilarious! A must-have, consider buying this set: you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the greatest collection of available "Looney Tunes" ever.

    Not a bunch of thrown together "stuff". This collection is nicely packaged and delivers hours of laughs. Loads of fun and not a bad "tune" in the lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must for any cartoon fan.

    After watching Looney Tunes on Boomerang for so long, I got my first box set. Rabbit of Seville is an instant favorite for the fact that Bugs and Elmer are not only wisecracking but singing as well. The selection of shorts are good. I only wish that there were more Road Runner cartoons included since I remember watching the Bugs Bunny Road Runner show on CBS in the 70's. Still this is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent but.............

    All the toons I enjoyed when I was a kid. Too bad the Abbot and Costello cartoons were not included. They are hysterical: TALE OF TWO KITTIES (Clampett/1942) (first Tweety toon and he is pink) Merrie Melodies-11/21/1942 stars: Tweety, Babbit the Cat, Catsello the Cat sources: laserdisc-The Golden Age Of Looney Tunes Vol. 1* A TALE OF TWO MICE (Tashlin/1945) Looney Tunes-6/30/1945 stars: Babbit the Mouse, Catsello the Mouse sources: laserdisc -The Golden Age Of Looney Tunes Vol. 2 THE MOUSEMERIZED CAT (McKimson/1946) Merrie Melodies-10/19/1946 stars: Babbit the Mouse, Catsello the Mouse sources: laserdisc -The Golden Age Of Looney Tunes Vol. 2 dvd -Cartoon Classics Vol 03 (Region 4 Pal DVD) censored in: CN, WB: Eliminated from this cartoon was Babbit hypnotizing Catstello to act like Rochester receiving a telephone call from Jack Benny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good

    I loved these cartoons. HOwever,, I'm sorry they left out what's opera doc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SPEECH! SPEECH!!...

    Ever notice that nearly every major Looney Tunes character had some sort of silly speech impediment? Elmer Fudd's was vewwy, vewwy pwominent. Porky Pig had a terrible st-st-stut-st-stut, uh...stammer. Tweety naturally sounded very babyish and Sylvester the Cat thported a lithp that would thoak ya. Daffy Duck's frantic outbursts were merely a speeded up version of Sylvester's voice (literally-Mel Blanc once said so himself). Taz could barely string together a sentence (pronoun trouble?) and Speedy Gonzales, while hardly speech impaired, had a beeg accent for such a leetle guy. Seems that only that wascally wabbit himself, Bugs Bunny, spoke clearly and distinctly (albeit in wise guy Brooklynese tones), fitting for the King of All Cartoons. What's my point? Master of a thousand voices Mel Blanc is just one of many, MANY reasons to enjoy this sinfully hilarious collection of golden age Looney Tunes; directors extraordinaire Friz Freleng, Chuck Jones, and Robert McKimson, the writers, the animators and musical director Carl Stalling are the others. You loved 'em as a kid, you love 'em as a kidult, and YOUR kids love 'em too. And that'th all I have to thay on the thubject!...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true 'must have'!!

    I got this set a few days ago and I will tell you this set is well worth the money most retailers are charging and then some! This set has everything the premier set has and really isn't that different in price for what you get. If you are a fan of DVD extras that are actually interesting , this was well worth the price alone. Features galore here folks! Hopefully there will be more sets like this to follow. My kids love this! I can't recommend these discs enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally...classic Bugs Bunny on DVD

    I grew up watching classic Bugs Bunny and all of the Looney Tunes gang. This is an excellent collection of some of the best episodes. If your a Bugs Bunny/Looney Tunes fan, this is a must have set of DVD's. Hopefully they'll continue with more episodes on DVD in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Chuck Jones Collection with out Ali Baba Bunny

    This seems like a great collection, but one of the greatest has been left out of this Chuck Jones collection: 'Ali Baba Bunny'. Yes, One Froggy Evening is great and notable by its absence, but Ali Baba Bunny is a do not miss for Bugs and Daffy fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HYSTERICAL PERFECTION! A stupendous DVD achievement!

    When it comes to classic animation, and unabashed humor, LOONEY TUNES is king. Who doesn't love Bugs, Daffy, Porky, Elmer, and the whole gang? Well, they're all here in this stunning assemblage of animated insanity, with 56 cartoons breathtakingly restored, and hours upon hours of fascinating and intriguing supplementary material. This set wins my vote hands-down for DVD of the year. I can't recommend it strongly enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best set out now for looney tunes

    This is the best set which contains commentary, extras(bugs bunny show trailers) and restored and uncut looney tunes. If you want more sets like this in the future you need to buy this set!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1