Customer Reviews for

Love & Basketball

Average Rating 5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    All of my friends told me to watch this movie.... so i did and I LOVE IT! I am a basketball player so i fell in love with it from the start. I thought it would be just another one of those comeback movies like all of the rest but it's not. I could watch this movie over and over and never get tired of it. I recommend this movie to all basketball players and anyone who likes a good love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My all time favorite movie

    I rented this on PPV and watched 3 times in a row. Bought on VHS and wore it out. I love this movie...everyone has a love that their heart won't let go of...I cried. I laughed and rewinded it and watched it again. I now own it on DVD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie

    i love this movie!!!!!!! it has such good plot, actors... EVERYTHING! its a must own for every movie collector!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Desireable and Funny

    Love and Basketball is a very loving movie. Not only does it have happiness to it, but it even has sadness so you can cry and laugh at the same time. Love and Basketball can related to your everyday life if you're stuck in the same situations as the characters in the movie. Love and Basketball even goes back in the past to show how the two characters met up and started their childhood,but then it goes into the present.Love and Basketball is even emotional, I'm not going to tell you why, because you need to see the movie. I would recommend Love and Basketball to anyone who likes basketball and romance at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wonderful film

    love and Basketball is my favorite movie. I was suprised that the film was not nominated for an Oscar. This movie was not about degrading women or anything negative. This was a true love story that shows that love is the most important thing, and with love you can overcome even the biggest obstacles. Excellent story telling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ultimate Young Love/Sport's Fan Movie

    This movie epitomizes childhood crushes to adult love with a lot of basketball in between. Great movie for the female sports fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A GrEaT LoVe StOrY!

    This movie is one in a million. From beginning to end it keeps you captivated, which is not something that a lot of movies can accomplish. When I watch it I feel like I am actually living the lives of the characters, which is something a good movie will most definitely do. If you like basketball or have ever been in love then you will most definitely be interested in this movie. At times it will bring tears to your eyes, as well as make your heart pound in anticipation, or even plaster a smile on your face, but it is well worth your while. This movie is one of my all time favorites and is highly recommended by me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True love comes to basketball

    The best romantic/comedy& drama i have ever seen.I cried when i thought she lost the love of her life because she lost the game, but has Sanaa says ' all is fare in love& basketball'.I love this movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    World's best movie for teen girl basketball players in love

    I love this movie!!! If we were watching it right now i could speak every part sound word anything I have watched this movie mulitply time and i just fell in love with it.Sanaa Lathan iz the bomb in this movie and i look up to her i want t be like her when i grow up.!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Real Love''

    When I first saw the preview of this movie on commercials, I knew it was going to be a hit. Sanaa Lathan and Omar Epps acting in the movie was incredible. They really played their role as a couple in love with basketball and each other so naturally. They brought tears and smiles upon my face throughout the movie. I fell in love with the movie because it was ''real''. It showed how people can strive for what they want and achieve it with hard work and determination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is way better than Save the Last Dance

    This movie is the most wonderful thing to every hit theaters, and to be compared to Save the Last Dance is an insult.I agree Save the Last Dance is a wonderful movie but it's not near this masterpiece of a movie.I would love to see another movie like this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Never Cried So Much Since Bambi

    I loved this film, im telling you now, i havent cried so much since bambi. its one of, if not the best, films i have seen. i can totally relate to this film. i wish that i could find it on VHS in the uk :( omar is very cute, and its so down to earth. i recommend this film so much, buy it, dont rent it, you wont be able 2 watch it just the once!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS THE WORLDS BEST BASKETBALL MOVIE

    This is my favorite movie, from the first time i saw this movie i fell in love with it and would watch it everyday, and cry at the end everytime. This is also my favorite movie because it reminds me of a boy that i'm in-love with and it's like everytime we play, we re-make the video. But this really is a great movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best basketball movie there is

    this movie is the best ever made in 2000 i fell in love with it from the first time i saw it i made me wish i was her after watching the movie i took up basketball now iam the capitain of the team and i wanna go to usc and be number 32 like monica

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was soo good!

    I loved this movie from the first time i saw it. It's so realistic and it's something that people can relate to. The relationship between Omar Epps and Sanaa Lathan brings a lot of enjoyment into the movie. It'll make you sad and it'll make you laugh too. i recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys mature movies that you can have fun watching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GRRRRRRREAT!

    THIS MOVIE WAS EXCELLENT IN ALL CHARACTERISTICS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PERFECT!!!

    Perfect love story for her, with the perfect sport shots for him. The songs & the the things that happen are sooo true, it hits everyone right at home, everyone has had that sweetheart & breakup, it's THE best love story yet!!!Perfect cast too!!No one is prettier or sexier than Sanaa & Omar!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS DEFINETELY THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!

    This is the best movie that I have ever seen! It starts out so inocent and ends up to be a love makin' - heart breakin' love story. I play basketball and it made me think about how much I loved it. It also has real life situations that dont seem over done or anything like that. I love this movie and I've watched it ATLEAST 200 times. I have the soundtrack and now im goin for the DVD. Watch this and you will fall in love with the actors and the thrilling story of two early childhood lovers who try to make it big in the Basketball career while establishing their love lives. Well you know how I feel. Find out for yourself!!! NOW!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest movie ever

    I liked this movie very much. It caused you to cry and be happy all at the same time. I would watch it over and over again just because it grabs you. The actors I believe were perfect for the parts. They made the movie seem like, yes this really does happen in life. It would also help those that are into basketball, see how things could interfer or see the things that would help you. I think if you did't see it in the Theather you should really go and see it on video. You will it as if your on a rollercoaster ride it has so many ups an downs that it make want for more. This is how good this movie is. I believe you may fall in love with this movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    THE BEST MOVIE EVER.!

    Love and Basketball, a wonderful romantic drama that was released in the year 2002; this movie is about two individuals who loved each other and the game of basketball. Sanna Lathan is a beautiful African American woman, a fresh, beguiling screen presence. She has a caramel complexion, she has starred in other movies and she has been acting since her teenage years. Omar Epps is an African American man, he has dark complexion and he has been acting since his teenage years. Sanna Lathan plays the role of Monica Wright, a female basketball player with unusual talent and the drive to match. Omar Epps plays the role of Quincy McCall, a cocky son of a fading Los Angeles star. The supporting actors were Alfre Woodard (Camille Wright) and Dennis Haysbert (Zeke McCall).
    Individuals should watch this movie because the movie is not just about basketball but the love between both of the main characters. Of course the love of basketball brought them together but, you have to think is will that keep them together. The other reason I loved this movie is because I am a fan of basketball and I wanted to see the approach the director made towards combining love and basketball. I personally loved this movie because it explains Monica's and Quincy's relationship from childhood to adulthood. This movie has taught me valuable lesson which is don't let the one you love get away because they might not return. I have a couple of scene from the movie that I fell in love with and the first one is when Monica and her mom are having a conversation and it is about Monica's and Quincy's relationship. The other scene I fell in love with was the last scene of the movie when Monica and Quincy are playing each other in a one on one game to test their love for one another.
    Not only is the movie full of incredible detailed scenes and romance, so is the soundtrack that goes along with it. The soundtrack for this incredible movie is also called Love and Basketball and it features artist such as; Donnell Jones, Al Green, Angie Stone and many more. I think this soundtrack would drift people into the movie because of the artist and how each song went with its assigned scene perfectly. Also because of the songs being old school that will also drift individuals into the movie. On the DVD there is a director and actor commentary, deleted scenes, blooper reels, audition tapes, and there is a music video as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3