Customer Reviews for

Lucky Number Slevin

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Violently Vile

    Josh Hartnett is wonderful. Sexy and funny. Sharp. The movie is mildly amusing and involving. Then the violence escalates to a mind numbing degree. At which point the movie becomes vile. Garbage. Worthless. Crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I WAS BLOWN AWAY

    Do you know what a Kansas City Shuffle is? Neither did I. Gangsters, revenge and mistaken identity keep you riveted until the jaw-dropping end. It is a must see with an all-star cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!!!

    This is by far my new favorite movie. It is funny, it is dramatic and it is also an action flick with some romance thrown in there is nobody out there that can not like this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See!

    This movie grabs you right off the bat with Mr. Goodkat's (Bruce Willis) explanation of a Kansas City Shuffle. The movie may seem confusing throughout but is pieced toghether with an awesome climax. Afterwards you want to see it again (I know I did!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Talk about being blindsided….

    "Slevin" doesn't try to reinvent the genre (whatever it might be in this case), but it does certainly present sharper portrayals of prototypes we have encountered before, and there is also much more care given to a storyline that could easily baffle audiences. Instead, here is a film that delivers, with a very satisfying payoff!! 2006 has definitely given us outstanding work by Bruce Willis, an actor that manages to prove he is very reliable, versatile, and quite talented in some very unorthodox vehicles ("Pulp Fiction", "16 Blocks"). He now embodies the epitome of cool, with a performance that shows he can put enough energy to keep this very unpredictable tale going. The movie is an ensemble piece, and Bruce stands out as one of the mysterious pieces in the movie. There is great work by both Freeman and Kingsley who are two of the most versatile and best actors of their generation. When they are in their separate scenes they dominate the screen, when they are both together, the results are explosive. Lucy Liu is sweet and quite effective as the romantic performer. Josh Harnett makes a bid again for stardom in a performance that shows the right script can do wonders for talent like his. Going through the elaborate screenplay requires multiple viewings, but watching it for the first time can be a very enjoyable ride. It is only fair to say that any of the classic Greek tragedies certainly provided inspiration for the multiple twists and clever plot lines that hold the story together. The screenplay is the work of writer who understands background and depth are necessary to create interesting characters. Be prepared to see the multiple sides of the underbelly of society, and how deceptive looks and appearances can be. Also some stereotypes will be shattered as the writer allows its audience to have fun along the way. "The Usual Suspects" was only the introduction to the wildest ride of the year. Hope this is remembered later in the year because this is outstanding film-making, and whoever said that being bad doesn't pay, might not be rethinking that appreciation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Revenge movie.

    This is one of those few under rated movies from Hollywood. I didn't hear much about this movie when it was showing in the theaters. I didn't go see it because the trailer was so bad. When it came out on DVD I wasn't expecting much. It turned out to be my favorite movie of the year. If you like to see alot of people get killed this movie is for you. I loved the charactors in this movie. Great actors playing great charactors is always a sign of a good movie. It's all about the Kansas City Shuffle my friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1