BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Macbeth

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

MacBeth at his BEST!

As an English teacher who ''forces'' students to read Shakespeare, I found that the Polanski version is the freshest and most believable of the film renditions, and my students always enjoy it. I NEVER find it boring.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Is it over yet?

Roman Polanski did an excellent job capturing the psychological struggles of Macbeth. He also did a good job keeping the storyline identical and by using the same language as the play. I thought Polanski did a good job keeping the movie accurate to the play and there ...
Roman Polanski did an excellent job capturing the psychological struggles of Macbeth. He also did a good job keeping the storyline identical and by using the same language as the play. I thought Polanski did a good job keeping the movie accurate to the play and there are not many things I would have changed. I would have showed the battle at the beginning. You can hear the battle raging but it would have been nice to see more action. This also probably would have kept those who hate Shakespeare with a passion awake for a little longer with the hope of more gore. Another thing I would have changed is the amount of nudity in the film. It was unnecessary to have the witches naked. Keeping them clothed would have reduced the urge to claw one’s eyes out in an attempt to rid yourself of the image. Overall, this movie was well done as Shakespeare goes and i would recommend it if you're into this kind of stuff.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Putting the fear back in Macbeth audiences.

    This one of the best Shakespearian adaptations, because it is not a reductionist rendition, distilling Macbeth's character down to that of an overambitious despot or henpecked thane. Polanski has captured the psychological struggles of Macbeth by concretely depicting his guilt, existential musings, occult fascination and ultimate spiral toward moral destitution. It is shot entirely on location in the bleak and austere moors of Scotland. The dissonant and atonal soundtrack adds to the gruesome and disturbing amtosphere. Also, it can be scary, which is its best feature. A play about black magic and usurpation, featuring powerful female roles, would have been terrifying to a Jacobean audience. The fact that Polanski could bring some terror to his twentieth century audience makes this version of Macbeth, Macbeth as it should be seen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    MacBeth at his BEST!

    As an English teacher who ''forces'' students to read Shakespeare, I found that the Polanski version is the freshest and most believable of the film renditions, and my students always enjoy it. I NEVER find it boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shakespeare and Polanski Triumph!

    Director Roman Polanski may have besmirched his personal reputation, but the shadow of that does not carry over into his screen work. His imaginative conception and execution of "the Scottish play," one of Shakespeare's most often produced tragedies, is among the best film versions available. Jon Finch elicits both sympathy and contempt in his portrayal of the ambitious but hesitant thane, and beautiful Francesca Annis is chilling as the greedy, conniving wife who incites her husband to treasonous murder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Is it over yet?

    Roman Polanski did an excellent job capturing the psychological struggles of Macbeth. He also did a good job keeping the storyline identical and by using the same language as the play. I thought Polanski did a good job keeping the movie accurate to the play and there are not many things I would have changed. I would have showed the battle at the beginning. You can hear the battle raging but it would have been nice to see more action. This also probably would have kept those who hate Shakespeare with a passion awake for a little longer with the hope of more gore. Another thing I would have changed is the amount of nudity in the film. It was unnecessary to have the witches naked. Keeping them clothed would have reduced the urge to claw one’s eyes out in an attempt to rid yourself of the image. Overall, this movie was well done as Shakespeare goes and i would recommend it if you're into this kind of stuff.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for the under-educated

    This is a first-rate effort at a classic play. Polanksi was at the peak of his career when he made this. It is not without its flaws but anyone who finds this boring just didn't pay attention in literature classes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Adaptation By A Master Of Film

    Polanski's adaptation of Shakespere's great play is a masterpiece in film. Polanski follows the basic theme and plot of the film but emphasizes more on the murderous madness of MacBeth and his devious wife. Polanski focuses a substantial amount of time on the gruesome murder of King Duncan. The scene succeeds in showing how MacBeth's mind is overtaken by madness and how pointless his crime really is. His emphasis on the witches also adds emphasis on how credulence and superstition leads to foul thoughts and deeds. Taking into account that the film was done shortly after the Manson killings, one can see some parrallels with Polanski's adaptation. Altogether one of the finest adaptations of this play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    This cinematic adaptation of MacBeth is masterfully done. Ignore

    This cinematic adaptation of MacBeth is masterfully done. Ignore the silly comments below about the brief nudity (which is neither gratuitous nor titillating), gore (again, relevant to the tale), and relation to the Manson killings (read: superficial association on the part of the commenter). This film does not feel dated, even after so many decades have passed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sensationalist

    This film is not great. Too much nudity, violence and gore that is not necessary greatly takes away from the potency of this play. However as an english student I found it an interesting comparison to other productions and would definitely not condemn it as boring. (Although Lady Macbeth's performance in the sleepwalking scene was very uninspired)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How did this win an award?!

    I was forced to watch this rubbish at school as part of my GCSE media course work and frankly, i have never seen a worse film. This mockery of Shakespeare's tragic tale bored me to the very depths of my soul and i still have to remember every naked ugly body, every poorly choreographed fight scene and every little spec of ompa-loompa shaded blood. If a talented director could remake the dire film, then today's generation of students would be very (very, very, very)grateful. Ps. Dont watch it unless you enjoy laughing at feeble attempts to put literature history on to the big screen.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RUBBISH

    the film on the whole was boring, self reflective on polanskis terrible life and i really hated it i advse you not to waste your time watching such ''rubbish'' as you english might say...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Pretty hurt

    This movie is pretty bad... it's kind of accurate in terms of the play. But the music made it go from a possible 4 to a 2. The music is the worst I have ever heard. Beside's that, if you want to know the story of Macbeth, then read the play.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    The Absolute WORST Movie Ever Made

    We had to watch this movie for one of my classes in school, and I have to say, it was TERRIBLE. Just plain terrible. It featured some of the grossest scenes I have seen (I mean, who wants to see a bunch of shriveled-up witches naked? Ewww...) and, on top of it all, was boring! I do not recommend this movie to anyone.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1