Customer Reviews for

Mad Men - Season 2

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A good set from a great series

    While I'm sure there will be a full series box set eventually, with more features, a real fan won't be able to wait for that. In addition to the expected episodes, there are a few special features, and the packaging is fun and attractive, but the main draw is the episodes, and they're just as good as you'd expect. The personalities in the series have evolved, but the tone and intrigue is still there. The series still focuses on creative director Don Draper, but the supporting characters have added nuance now that we know them a little better. Because of that, their subplots become more interesting as the series goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mad Men Season 2

    Love the show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A continually fine series

    The great work done in Year One has been continued in Year Two and this is a very fine series of work. It's hard to believe how much our social mores have changed in 50 years based on what is portrayed on the screen here, but smoking, drinking, office shenanigans and more were all prevalant not that long ago.

    The series might not be appreciated by all as it moves at a rather lanquid pace but that is it's charm.

    Well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Mad Men- funny, poignant, moving- second season better than the first

    I can't say enough good things about this fabulous series. The writing is superb as are the acting and directing. Having lived through the sixties, I can attest that the series is spot on about the zeitgeist of the 60's. The costumes and sets are amazing and the character of Don Draper is brilliant. Don is flawed, yet still good at his core. He is damaged, but with hope of healing. I wish this wonderful series would never end. It is truly the best of television. It appeals to adults of all ages (not for anyone under 18). My twenty something son is a huge fan, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic sequel to season one!

    The second season of Mad Men gives and even greater insight into the lives of the characters. The precedent set by the first season is certainly maintained if not exceeded. Much like any other television series, I would not recommend watching season two if you haven't seen season one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mad about Mad Men

    Loved the first season, and the second was only better!! The final episode of Season 2: Meditations in an Emergency was incredibly well done. I could watch these episodes over and over again. The style, writing, and acting is superb. No wonder it has won so many awards!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great show

    I love Mad Men, its a very well done series. These DVD's include a lot of extra material along with the episodes that make them well worth the price. All the voice-over commentary gives a lot of insight into the production of the show and what the director, producer, or actors think of it.
    One thing not included is a blooper reel, which is mentioned by some of the commentary that they exist, but not included on the DVD's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT

    A friend of mine told me about this show, and from the first episode I was hooked. I bought seasons 1 and 2 and loved both. You easily get sucked into the world of the ad agency elite of the 1960's.
    I am officially obsessed with Don Draper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2